We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Lovely Hotel”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely, Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This was the first stop on a European vacation for my husband and me and our two adult children. We arrived at Shannon Airport about 7 am and drove to Galway via the Cliffs of Moher and arrived about 1 pm. Despite being very early, we were able to check into our rooms straight away. The rooms were very large and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable as was the bedding. We napped and then had a light supper at the Oak Bar. The wait staff there was very efficient and very entertaining. The breakfast the next morning was filled with delicious, fresh choices. It was reasonably priced, though ours was included in the room price. We chose to stay out of the city center because we travelled to Clifden and Castlebar. If you want the city center, this is not for you. But is you want a lovely, pastoral setting in the beautiful county of Galway, definitely come here. The staff are very helpful and extremely friendly. I will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    222
    99
    55
    30
See reviews for
212
637
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of staying in Glenlo Abbey on a number of occasions as I travel to Galway fairly regularly with work. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with good quality wifi.

The staff are very warm and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble. My favourite thing has to be the breakfast, which is always hot, tasty and delivered with a smile.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our experience at Glenlo Abbey was similar to that of ijballo’s review of May 28th. Just as he was “left out in the Cold” by Glenlo Abbey, so were we. The way the new ownership/corporation of Glenlo treats its paying guests who have traveled long distances is highly unacceptable.

As part of our 10-year Anniversary celebration, my husband and I booked an 8-night vacation in Ireland. We had paid for our entire vacation in full months before arriving to this country. Our travels were going to take us throughout the country and allow us to stay in four different castles. Admittedly, of the four, Glenlo was the one we were most excited about. It was to be the third of our fourth accommodations.

After a full day of driving and sight-seeing, we timed our check-in and arrival at Glenlo to be 6:00 p.m. on a Thursday evening. This was to allow us enough time to get into our room, freshen up, changed, get a bite to eat in the Pub, and make our way to the 8:30 Trad on the Prom show in Galway.

When arriving at Glenlo to check in, the front receptionist checked our name on the computer and then asked us to step into a separate room off of the main lobby. After waiting several minutes, an on-site manager eventually came into the room. We were informed there was no room for us at Glenlo that evening. (Even though we had reserved this room and paid for it in full 5 months prior to our arrival!) Their solution --- to put us up in their “sister hotel” located in downtown Galway. Our plans to relax before our show evaporated like that. Evidently, the new corporation had made a decision to give our room away to a large group/corporation that had come in and needed extra rooms. We were not the only ones affected by this mindless decision. There were other couples as well who received this terrible message from Glenlo. It was if a very cold glass of water had just been thrown in our faces.

The staff and management on-site worked within their authority and parameters to do what they could to make things right with us. They brought us down to the pub right away and made arrangements for dinner to be served to us quickly. They alerted their sister hotel we were on our way to check in and to have our room ready. They made it possible for us to return early the next day to check-in and stay at Glenlo the next evening. They arranged for us to have dinner at the Pullman Restaurant the next evening compliments of Glenlo.

However, none of these extra arrangements could
1. Remove the feeling of being treated as and feeling like a second-class guest

2. Remove the stress of us having to re-locate to a different hotel under a tight timeframe. Trying to find the “sister hotel” was not easy. We got lost which only added to our stress.

3.Allow us to enjoy our planned Trad on the Prom show to the fullest. Mentally and emotionally during the show we continued to reflect on how poorly we had just been treated by Glenlo.

4. Make up for the city hotel room we spent the night in. Because of the slant of the roof of our top-floor room, my husband could not even stand up in the room. The windows were skylights angled up. No view. Just the loud sounds of people leaving the pubs late at night. This is not what we paid for.

5. Our out-of-pocket expense of needing taxi service to get us to and from the show. We no longer had any time to figure out our route to the show’s location

We were told our room at Glenlo would be vacated by 8:30 a.m. the next morning and that we could return and check in and have access to our room then. We arrived at Glenlo the next morning at 9:30 a.m. Our room was not ready even though we arrived one hour after our room was supposed to be ready. We were then brought to the dining room for breakfast. After our breakfast, we requested a meeting with the on-site manager. Being reasonable people, we were going to allow the management of Glenlo the opportunity to explain and give a reasonable explanation why we were treated so poorly the night before.

We spent about a half-hour with the manager explaining everything that is written above in this review. When management reads this review, there is nothing here that will come as a surprise to them. We are not hiding our dissatisfaction behind a review. We felt it was fair to have a face-to-face meeting while there. It was then his opportunity, his chance to speak. Unfortunately, a reasonable and satisfactory explanation could not be provided. We then asked for a written explanation by his superior. Our expectation was for that written letter to be in our room waiting for us when we returned from our day’s activities.

We did receive a letter in our room. Unfortunately, that letter was vague and no satisfying answer was provided as to why certain guests of Glenlo were treated so poorly.

The last bit of salt in this terrible open wound happened on the second morning. Our package was a bed and breakfast package. Our breakfast was already paid for. As we entered the dining room for breakfast and provided our room number, we were informed by the hostess we would have to pay for our breakfast that morning. Her records indicated that our room number did not have breakfast included. We informed her to go check with the front desk immediately and she would see that our breakfast was already paid for. After a lengthy wait, she eventually returned to the dining room and did in fact confirm that. But once again, we felt like second-class guests even though we had traveled a long distance and had paid for our accommodations.

From beginning to end, we felt as if Glenlo Abbey did not want us there. We did not receive the 5-star treatment so many other guests have received by staying here. They broke the core trust of a hotel – having an available room for their guests who have reserved and paid for one. My husband and I have traveled the world. We have never had such a negative experience at a hotel. We whole-heartedly cannot recommend this hotel. What happened to us, could happen to you. You could arrive and be told “there is no room for you at the inn.”

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
27 Thank Lizzy1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We really liked Glenlo Abbey. The room was huge and perfect, the food in the bar was great, everyone was helpful and friendly, and the place was beautiful and interesting. Maura Lee and Luke were great, and Maura stayed on the phone and talked us in when our GPS died a few miles away. Her directions were great and she took it in good humor when I made fun of her statement: "OK, now look for some green fields with stone walls.....". In Ireland.

We kind of named Calleen's new GPS setup after her, so now Maura tells us where to turn all the time. If we could just find an good Irish voice to download for it......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess and Callee... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in May and was very disappointing. Would not stay again.

Positive: Staff are friendly.
Negative: We needed to change rooms as the first was old, dark and in need of serious repairs. The second room was marginally better but the view improved. No heating in the room and we needed to contact the front desk on both nights to turn it on. Room was not properly cleaned.

No entertainment in the restaurant. Food was terrible with no presentation and only 3 options on the menu. We were given cold toast on both breakfast occasions and the coffee was terrible. Dinner or breakfast service is nowhere near 5 star.

No spa, pool or any indoor facilities.
Cannot understand how this hotel holds 5 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mr_G-nhoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My son and I stayed at the Glenlo Abbey from May 23rd -30th May, from the moment we walked into the Glorious reception area we were greeted with such kindness and warmth by Maura Lee who checked us in efficiently, Maura then personally took us to our room and explained where everything was situated in the hotel, which again was excellent customer service. The room was perfect and very clean with great views of the Golf Course and the grounds of the hotel. On the first night we went to the bar restaurant and again was treated excellently by the team in the bar, especially Shane. On the second day we played golf at the Abbey, the course is currently being modified and improved but was still a good course. On the 3rd Day we were given information by Sandra in the reception area, Sandra’s knowledge of the area was first rate and very helpful, again we were very impressed with the service and kindness that we were shown. The hotels food was excellent and the character of the hotel was just perfect in every way possible. I travel extensively with work and stay in hotels all over the world, Glenlo Abbey is amongst the best I have stayed in but the service is by far the best I have received. On our last night we dined in the Pullman restaurant which have carriages of the original Orient express, the food was excellent and Carly ensured our dining experience was just perfect. Overall we had such a great week the hotel/abbey was just perfect, clean and the rooms were to a high standard keeping in with the theme and character of the hotel. Best of all were the staff they made us feel really at home and nothing was too much for them, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be treated like they are special as my son and I certainly felt we were.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

It's unfair that the older reviews are still on this as Glenlo has recently been taken over by new management. We were given a gift of a voucher and stayed one night. The food and service is AMAZING. It's very old-worldly so if it's modern and white you want maybe it's not for you. A real Downton Abbey feel to it. I left feeling so relaxed. Would strike me as an amazingly romantic venue for a wedding, golf course received the thumbs up from himself and the views had me snap happy with my camera. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galwayladyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,704 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,135 reviews
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,785 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing