We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Glenlo Abbey on April 5th. The hotel itself is beautiful and designed to allow you to relax in very comfortable reception rooms with open fires. From the time you arrive , Francis , the Hotel Manager , and ALL of his highly skilled team clearly want you to feel welcome and want to help make your stay as comfortable as possible. The food was excellent , both dinner and breakfast. I would recommend to anyone that they should experience this unique hospitality at least once. Truly a 5 star break. Liam and Mary Conlon

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    211
    92
    54
    29
See reviews for
195
588
15
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a Saturday night at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel back in January. It was a great experience from the moment we arrived until we left. The room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view of the Corrib. We had an excellent evening meal in the hotel restaurant and a great breakfast the following morning. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValidationGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed in the Glenlo Abbey Hotel for one night, through a Pigsback voucher given to us by our daughters. The hotel has recently changed hands and there is considerable work being carried out, particularly to the grounds and golf course. That said there was little or no disruption to our stay. The hotel room was comfortable but a little worn but the rest of the hotel was fine and the bed was cosy.
Breakfast was just OK but what stood out for us was the staff. Dinner was an occasion in the restaurant and the food and dining room was impressive. So much so that we returned specially, after our onward trip to Connemara, for lunch. Indeed we could not fault the place, particularly the staff in reception. Any doubts about the tired decor was completely neutralised by a great welcoming atmosphere, the service and the food.
P&DM

Room Tip: We would have liked a separate shower. We had no issues with the room other than they really need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDM-Dublin-Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Did the tour of Ireland with castles and the Abbey. What a pleasant stay. Very helpful staff and great breakfast. Ideal location for a day trip to the cliffs of Moher. Rooms comfortable. Will have go back some day to play a round of golf. Golf course views were awesome from dining area.

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

During our stay in Ireland in March 2014, we had the opportunity to stay for 2 days at the Glenlo Abbey. The facilities were very nice and the rooms very comfortable. The dining possibilites were good. At this place it is the STAFF that makes the Hotel stand out. From the first moment that we arrived, we were helped by a very attentive staff, storing our luggage and getting us checked in, even though we were 3 hours early for checkin. The atmosphere of the hotel is great and the lower level bar brings you back in time with the stonework and decor. Again, enough cannot be said about the STAFF....If management is reading this, then please be aware that your staff is the difference between my stay here being ok and being GREAT!!!! Enough cannot be said about all of the help, but I would like to mention that Sondra, at the front desk was such a delight to have around, answering our many (and there were many) questions and meeting our every need. She went way beyond what is normally expected and I say well done to her and to management for keeping her. Don't loose this valuable assett!.....To all of the other members of the staff that work everyday to help those on vacation/holiday enjoy their time, I say to each one of you WELL DONE you should be proud of your service and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has the opportunity to travel to Irelands west coast.

Room Tip: They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwintrode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I would highly recommend Glenlo Abbey Hotel for anyone looking to holiday in Galway. Breathtaking views of Lough Corrib and a beautiful landscape in the Golf Course. The staff are so friendly, helpful and welcoming and very family friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view room to wake up to breathtaking views of Lough Corrib. A great start to anyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuriousKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were treated with utmost courtesy. Each member of staff were most friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful relaxing old world hotel whereby one feels very at home. We dined in the beautiful restaurant which was most enjoyable. We met Maura, front of house manager on our arrival and were most impressed when she remembered our names the following morning. Maura was very professional with a lovely friendly manner and her warmth alone would entice us to return at another stage. Ann & John Sligo/Leitrim

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#10 of 46 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing