We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great launching pad to visit the Connemara area & Galway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great launching pad to visit the Connemara area & Galway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel is on the far western edge of Galway, a few miles from the city centre (downtown). The property was gorgeous, with a 9-hole golf course (links style) attached, a walking path down to the river, a restaurant, bar & a 5-star staff!!! The staff made you feel welcome & like part of the family, & thanks to Maura, we had a great day trip through Connemara, all the way to the shore at Tully. They are the most friendly hotel staff we have ever encountered & will go out of their way to make things right.

There is a small library with desktop computers you can use for free to check email, etc. that is very cozy & inviting. The hotel rooms were not as super luxurious as a 5-star hotel & door locks hard to figure out but you have to take into account that it was previously an abbey. The hotel definitely has character!!

You must go to the Oak Cellar Bar for a real treat!! One of the nights we were there, there had been a wedding reception at the hotel & quite a few of the bridal party, including the groom's father, were there. You will definitely meet some new friends there & it appears to be a favorite for the locals too.

Don't leave without having dinner at the Pullman restaurant, one of the former Orient Express dining cars behind the hotel. We dined in one of its private rooms & it was amazing!! Food was superb-very expensive but worth it. Our bill for the 2 of us was over $130 USD but we had all the courses plus wine & beer. There is a prix fixe menu if you would rather chose that over a-la-carte & it would cost less. There is a bit of a wait for beverages as they get those from the bar inside the hotel.

This is an unforgettable, beautiful place that we would recommend to anyone!!

Room Tip: Avoid a lower level room on the parking lot side as it gets a little noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NUHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear NUHusker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience of your stay with us! We are very happy to hear that you made new friends while you were here! The ambience in The Oak Cellar Bar does lend itself to this interaction between our guests especially when we have a wedding. Weddings in Glenlo are quite unique in that everybody tends to join in the fun including other guests, locals and even the staff! We will pass your kind words onto Maura and the entire team here!

We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest regards

Glenlo Abbey Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    208
    91
    53
    28
See reviews for
190
580
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

If only all hotels could be like this. The grounds were beautiful and the hotel itself felt old (in a good way). It felt historic as if you could almost see the people who had walked through there the last 200 years. Although we didn't eat there, the downstairs pub was great fun and featured a lively group of locals. the hotel's also very a convenient drive to the fjord and surrounding areas. Finally, by far, the best part of the hotel was Maura and her infectious enthusiasm and welcome advice. She and Alva never failed to greet us and make us feel like one of the family.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear P S,

We were delighted to read your lovely review and to hear that you had such a nice stay with us. It sounds like you had great fun in The Oak Cellar Bar with some of our neighbours! This bar has been the scene to many a lively night with both locals and visitors enjoying each others company. We will pass on your kind comments to Maura, Ailbhe and all here in Glenlo! They will be very happy to hear them!

We hope to welcome you back to Glenlo and we are sure our neighbours would be delighted to see you again too!

Warmest regards

Glenlo Abbey Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Glenlo Abbey was our second "tour" stop while visiting this awesome island and is unique in it's setting, architecture, furnishings, decor and STAFF. Upon arriving we were greeted by Sandra who immediately put us at ease. Her recommendations for travel thru Connemara were spot-on, especially the linner (lunch and dinner meal) at Mitchells in the town of Clifden...awesome fresh and tasty Calamari. We took the "back-roads" along the water and thru the Bog to find our way back to Glenlo. The trip thru the bog was incredible, with lack of houses, traffic and many, many, many peat diggs, this off-beaten road was unique and a step back in time.
We made our way back to Glenlo, where we met Ivan in the downstairs pub for a night cap. We enjoyed lively conversation with Ivan and two locals; Hugh and Paddy and our night cap ended a few hours later, satiated with Irish lore, myth, and charm...not to mention the Guinness pints.
Needless to say we enjoyed our time at Glenlo Abbey, and kudos to Luke who helped layout our next adventure south bound to the Cliffs of Moher and Dingle Peninsula. We have fond memories and stories to share of this tour "stop", and thank you for making us feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kvankuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear kvankuren,

Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are delighted that you have fond memories and stories from your stay here with us! Hopefully these stories will be at the heart of the reminisences of your trip when you go home and you will remember us fondly. We will say hello to Hugh and Paddy for you when they next drop by for a refreshment!

We will pass on your very nice words to Sandra, Ivan and everybody here and hope to see you back here again soon.

Warmest regards

Glenlo Abbey Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently spent two nights here and were somewhat disappointed. It's supposed to be a five star hotel and is not even close! It's a lovely old hotel with beautiful grounds but the rooms are quite outdated and worn. If our stay here had not been part of a package I would have been even more upset but since we didn't pay by the night I couldn't complain too much. The room was large but there was no drawer space, no water, no amenities. The bathroom was in need of a makeover. Making up for all this, though, were the staff who were marvelous. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. And the location was also a plus, just a bit outside of town and convenient to everywhere we were going

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizP1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear LizP1055,

Many thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted to advise that we are now under new management. Although this was a very recent transition, Glenlo is already starting to glow anew! The refurbishment programme is been carefully administered to ensure that the character and integrity of the house remains unharmed. Here in Glenlo we are always mindful that as with all old houses across the Irish countryside, we are but custodians to protect the house for generations to come. The staff will remain the same and are most excited with all this progress.

We hope to welcome you back to Glenlo to see everything we have achieved!

Warmest regards

Glenlo Abbey Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed at several 5 star hotels while in Ireland. This hotel was charming,clean and well appointed. However, the most outstanding component was the staff. Sandra, the front desk manager was a dream come true. She was friendly and quite knowledgeable. She gave us wonderful suggestions for touring which lead us to attractions we were unaware of and the best routes to travel. She was also helpful and supportive when we had a problem with our rental car. We were made to feel welcome and comfortable. I would stay there again and highly recommend it to other travelers. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. This hotel gets 10 stars. I hope you'll have the good fortune to meet Sandra. Rest assured you'll be in very capable hands.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene1754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Charlene1754,

My goodness, 10 stars! What a wonderful rating! Thank you for your kind words and comments which I will very happily pass on to Sandra and everybody here who I know will find them very encouraging indeed.

Warmest regards

Glenlo Abbey Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The grounds and view here are Beautiful, A very friendly staff espically Maura she remembers everyones names and was very helpful in planning our day out. She was just delightful!! Our room was a little dated but that's part of the character here. My only complaint is there was no air conditioner but luckily it was cool so could open up windows. I believe this is the quietest place I have ever stayed in you could hear a pin drop. Great location to drive the Connemeras and see some castles. Short taxi drive to Galway City. We got in late and I was hungry so they made me a sandwich and brought to my room I thought that was very nice! All & all this place was a very nice stay and I would recommend it to anyone. Also, a good location to go see the Cliffs of Moher we took a bus tour just to take a break from driving it was great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear stephanie p,

Thank you for your review which we enjoyed reading! We are most fortunate to be set in such an aesthetically pleasing back drop overlooking Lough Corrib. Glenlo is such a peaceful place! I will pass on your kind words to Maura and the entire team here in Glenlo whom I am sure will find them most encouraging.

We hope to welcome you back to Glenlo soon!

Kind regards


Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

So aristocratic and non-updated. Room 302 had a lovely view of the river, very spacious. Magnificent breakfast room, with a white Liberace-like piano (for show). Delicious food. Beautiful drawing rooms downstairs. Quiet, with beautiful music in the background. Extremely willing and energetic staff - they bring fresh coffee or tea immediately to your room upon awakening! Ah! An idea we could all profit from.

We had dinner on the authentic 1920's Orient Express railcar on the grounds. Just superb, and the head waiter/manager (Kevin I think) is a scream.

Would love to return. There was something so restful and peaceful about the place. Really special.

Room Tip: Our room 310 had a lovely view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenloAbbey, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Queen1000,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It is heartwarming to read your kind words. We would agree that Glenlo is such a peaceful place and we choose our music carefully to compliment this. We are always happy to deliver tea or coffee to guests bedrooms in the morning to offer a welcome caffeine boost to kick start their day! I will pass on your kind comments to Kevin and the entire team here.

Thanks again Queen1000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.8 mi away
Hotel Meyrick
Hotel Meyrick
#24 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing