We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Historic hotel”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a wonderful & relaxing time here. The staff was exceptionally nice, friendly & helpful! Loved them. The restaurant has a beautiful view of the water. The Abbey is a beautiful historic building. My sister's room had a large window looking out at the water in the distance. Bedrooms were large.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Laura881,

What a lovely review! We would agree that Glenlo Abbey is a very restful place, ideal for returning home to after a lengthy days touring or shopping. It is lovely to relax with a good book in The Ffrench Room overlooking the rolling parklands.

Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Glenlo soon!

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for Glenlo Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

843 - 849 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

A very nice experience for us. Although the rooms were a bit dated, the hotel staff made up for it with their hospitality. Each time we returned from the hotel from an excursion, we were asked how our day was, what we saw, etc. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear kt,

Thank you for your recent review! We get many lovely comments about our team and the hospitality with which our guests are treated and are most grateful for this.

We hope to welcome you back to Glenlo soon!

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a most wonderful welcome from the staff, and Sandra could not have been more helpful talking about the local food scene and trips in the environs. Unfortunately, the hotel is tired and probably looked better when Hillary Clinton visited in 1995. Our taxi driver told us the hotel is in receivership and I believe that is the best way to describe its appearance.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Mary S,

Mank thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that you were warmly welcomed and received good information on things to do locally.


Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This property is a gem if you want to feel immersed in a lifestyle quite different from what we call the 'real world'. You are transported to another era from the moment you enter the property. We arrived by bus as we were staying here as a home base on a four day tour. Yes, each days sights were amazing but the entire Abbey, itself, was an enormous part of the experience. The staff was lined up on the front steps as we pulled up, giving us the royal treatment. Our bags we whisked off to our rooms as we went on a tour of the hotel. Our first dinner was in the Pullman Restaurant, once part of the historic Orient Express, and now the only Pullman car in Ireland. Our breakfast and dinners, thereafter, were in the hotel dining room and were first rate every time. The staff was simply perfect and we would recommend Glenlo Abbey to anyone!

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor. It was very large and looked out onto the grounds. At night we cou...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Jim C,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that had enjoyed your time with us. Given the historical nature Glenlo Abbey, those who visit are mindful of times past in the house making for quite a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

We hope to see you again soon Jim C!

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went to a wedding here. The staff are so friendly, the greeting was personal and the grounds and hotel are beautiful. We had amazing food. Go for a walk along down to the lake, Lough Corrib. Can't believe the train carriages are from the Orient Express, they have been transformed into a separate restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Alison D,

Thank you for your lovely review, it is much appreciated! Our Pullman Restaurant is a most unique dining setting been originally carraiges from The Orient Express and still maintains it's evocative ambience.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We arranged to meet old friends of ours from America who were on a tour of Irish castles. They were booked into Glenlo Abbey for two nights and we did likewise. The staff were very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Our room and bed were comfortable and the service quick, perhaps because the hotel was far from full. We ate in the dining room on the first evening and the consensus was that the meal was rather disappointing for a five star hotel. On the second evening we chose to eat in the downstairs bar where simple pub food was served. Unsurprisingly it was what you would expect in a reasonable pub and entirely edible, except one of our American friends told us the next day that he had been pretty poorly later that night and thought it was something he had eaten that evening. To summarise I thought it was a pleasant enough experience without being very memorable, the most notable feature was the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Duncan M,

Many thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. I am very happpy to read that you found our staff welcoming and helpful. It is disappointing to read that you were less than satisfied with your dining experience here. Should you wish to discuss this further please provide me with your contact details and an opportune free time for you and I would be very happy to speak with you about this further.

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the time we arrived until we left the staff was "a six star performance." As mentioned in other TripAdvisor reviews, some room maintenance details need attention. Our room had caulk sections missing around the base of the tub and there was water damage in some common areas. These details did not distract from wonderful breakfasts in the dining room and a memorable meal in the Orient Express car.

A real plus was in business center internet access. The fastest we had in Ireland, even faster than a 5 star in Dublin.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the pullman
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tarheel1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Tarheel1967,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We get so many lovely comments about our team here in Glenlo and appreciate your kind words too. The Pullman Restaurant is indeed such a memorable and unique dining experience with a very attractive menu.

We hope to see you back in Glenlo in the not too distant future!

Kind regards

Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager, Tifco Hotels Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,725 reviews
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,818 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range: $179 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming open log fires and a warm personal welcome await you at Glenlo Abbey Hotel. This luxury, five star hotel is nestled peacefully on a stunning 138 acre estate on the shores of Lough Corrib near Galway City, with a choice of elegant bedrooms and suites, individually designed and beautifully appointed, blending luxury and contemporary décor. A choice of unique dining options, including the award-winning Pullman Restaurant, set on two original Orient Express carriages, now a fine dining restaurant on the hotel grounds. Take time to relax in one of the many reception rooms, with Afternoon Tea by the fireside or the timeless elegance of the River Room Restaurant. Enjoy drink in the Oak Cellar Bar that exudes warmth and character. Activities on the 138 acre estate include golf on the 9 hole championship course, fishing on Lough Corrib, falconry and archery in the Walled Garden. Relax in the comfort of our in house cinema or enjoy some friendly competition in the Billiards Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing