We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most memorable parts of our trip!”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable parts of our trip!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My 17 year old daughter and I stayed at the Glenlo Abbey last July for two nights. We had a wonderful experience. Of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip this one stood out as the most friendly. Maura was wonderful!!!!! She suggested a boat ride on Lough Corrib as a break from all the driving we had been doing. Best day ever and something I know that we would not have done without her suggestion. She looked at our map and gave us a scenic route and a shortcut (ride the car ferry-never would have known about it!!) when we left for our next destination. It saved us hours of driving. But the one thing my daughter and I always talk about is when Maura drove us into Galway on her way home. It was the start of the Galway Races and it would be crowded and difficult to find parking. We really enjoyed getting to know her better and I feel that she really wants guests to experience what the area around the Glenlo Abbey has to offer. Our room was dated and when we first walked in it I was a bit put off, but I think that lends to the charm of the hotel. It feels like an old family members home or a large bed and breakfast. We had breakfast included and it was very good. There is a buffet with yogurt, fruit, juices and you can also order off of the menu. We did not eat anywhere else on property. A great place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bleaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear "Nutile1011"
Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us. We were delighted to have been given the opportunity to host your group last year and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us at Glenlo Abbey. It was a fabulous evening and I'm grateful for you sharing your positive comments on the dinner.
kind regards
Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager - Tifco Hotel Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    748
    218
    97
    54
    29
See reviews for
203
625
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Our tour group had a fabulous dinner at the Abbey. The tour we were on was called the Best of Ireland and we spent 2 weeks seeing many of the non tourist areas of Ireland. We had many different speakers, but the young Professor who discussed W.B. Yeats and read some of his works was wonderful. He also discussed Lady Gregory and Irish Mythology. The history of their relationship and the wonderful food made it a memorable evening.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank nutile1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Glenlo Abbey for one night with 2 other couples and we had a wonderful time! We had dinner in the pub and there was great atmosphere and delicious food! All of our rooms were lovely and we enjoyed a bottle of wine in the library in front of the fire. Breakfast was amazing in the morning with lots of choices on the buffet and we could still order from the menu. We had a fantastic night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BethT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear 'BethT5'
Many thanks for sharing your experience on our Tripadvisor page. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Library in the hotel is one of my favourite rooms and I can just picture that bottle of wine by the fire.....
Hope to welcome you back to Galway again soon!
Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager - Tifco Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Myself & my partner stayed in Glenlo Abbey for two nights. Both nights B&B, and one dinner, was included in our package.
The staff in the hotel are exceptional, from the front desk, to the breakfast waiters, and the staff who served evening dinner. Extremely friendly and courteous, and every request was delivered with a smile.
The room is not modern - which is in keeping with the character and history of the hotel. It is however very well kept and extremely comfortable. Great water pressure in the shower too....
The breakfast buffet was excellent, as was the hot food serving each morning - we had delicious omlette and pancakes.
Our dinner was also excellent - fresh ingredients, well presented & extremely tasty....
The location is very good - outside the City, but just over a 5-minute taxi ride (€8). Beautiful views of the lake....
The staff we met make this hotel. I've stayed in numerous hotels around Ireland in the last few years, and most could take a lesson in customer service from the people at Glenlo Abbey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC74travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear 'DC74travel'
I was delighted to read your review following your stay with us in December last year. At Glenlo Abbey we pride ourselves on the highest levels of genuine hospitality and I am delighted to see that you experienced the best of this. Our team are out biggest asset and I will personally pass on your comments to them. Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager - Tifco Hotel Group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The grounds of the Glenlo Abbey are gorgeous. The train car restaurant, river view and golf course really set this place apart from the others. The inside of the hotel was gorgeous as well but the rooms were quite a disappointment from the rest of the hotel. The mattress was old and thin, the tv a relic and it needed a good painting and carpet replacement for sure. The wi-fi was also unavailable in the room you had to go down to the computer room which isn't a big deal but would be nice in a fine hotel. The downstairs bar had a friendly staff and the pints were reasonably priced. Breakfast was delicious as far as the buffet went, we did not order from the menu, however.

Room Tip: Get a river view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelseaSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisAustinDublin, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear 'ChelseaSM'
Thank you for sharing your Glenlo Abbey experience on our Tripadvisor page. I am pleased that you enjoyed the gardens and grounds at the hotel, Spring is well and truly here now and the gardens are looking spectacular. I am encouraged that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Chris Austin
Regional Operations Manager - Tifco Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had the pleasure of spending one night at Glenlo Abbey in November of 2012. Other than the rooms being perhaps slightly dated everything else was wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous (as we found of the staff at all of our stops in Ireland). Even though we only stayed one night it seems that the hotel would be an excellent place to base a trip to Galway and the Burren from. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear 007 trader,

Thank you for you lovely comments regarding your stay here with us in Glenlo. I am delighted you had a nice time here in Galway and the you found the hotels location so convenient for touring the west and the surrounding area.


Time and time again we find that our location is being hearlded as a major plus point, as our proximity to the city and our ease of acces to some of the best of the tiourist attractions is recognised.

Not sure if I met you during your stay but if not would hope to do so on your next visit.


Kind regards and thanks again !

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had the "luck of the Irish" to stay at the the Glenlo Abbey Hotel this past month . We were welcomed royally by the front desk and the general mgr. Michael Hanley. It was a very busy wkend for them; they were having a unveiling of the new 2013 Audis and things were buzzing.
We were shown to our room by one of the friendly staff members into a pleasant room. It had all the amenities one would need but it just looked a bit tired. After getting some wonderful directions and suggestions , we headed off to town. Upon returning, we decided to eat in their upscale dinning room , which were former Orient Express cars.
To make a very long story short, the experience had some bumps and we were not happy. Coming from the food industry myself, I felt that the management would want to know and chatted with the desk mgr. She was so upset that she got the general mgr., Michael Hanley. While the dining experience was not 5 star , it was not 3 star either . It just didn't have the elegance that I knew they would and should be going for. Mr. Hanley stated that was so unusual that he would investigate immediately. Indeed he did, and he made it up to us, as well.
His behavior shows his professionalism and management is very lucky to have him and his staff. We will highly recommend this hotel to anyone we know going to that part of Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for softer pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Redmill_12,

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor and more importantly during your stay which offered us the opportunity to put right the "bumps" you encountered with us on your first night.
As a property all of the team are empowered to go the extra mile to ensure that guest satisfaction is guaranteed and we hope we demonstrated this when we did not live up to expectations initially.
It was very nice to meet with you all and I hope that you will make us part of your next itinerary when visiting in the future.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,681 reviews
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 45 in Galway
3,049 reviews
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,746 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 45 in Galway
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Property: Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles/ 4 km from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib. The ideal location for exploring Connemara and the West of Ireland - with superb dining options. The Oak Cellar Bar, situated in the main hotel is ideal for casual dining and it has a varied menu, lively atmosphere and cosy surroundings. The River Room Restaurant boasts elegant surroundings and old world charm. Breakfast is served here daily with view overlooking Lough Corrib and the estate. Three opulent and elegant reception rooms, the Ffrench Room, the Kentfield and the Reading Room where guests can enjoy a relaxing drink, our Abbey Signature Afternoon Tea, or take time out to relax and read the newspapers. The award winning Pullman Restaurant aboard the Orient Express in the estate grounds at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel offers a unique dining experience. Converted into a restaurant car maintaining its original character, these historic Pullman train carriages offer two dining rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing