We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had the pleasure of spending one night at Glenlo Abbey in November of 2012. Other than the rooms being perhaps slightly dated everything else was wonderful. The staff was extremely helpful and courteous (as we found of the staff at all of our stops in Ireland). Even though we only stayed one night it seems that the hotel would be an excellent place to base a trip to Galway and the Burren from. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear 007 trader,

Thank you for you lovely comments regarding your stay here with us in Glenlo. I am delighted you had a nice time here in Galway and the you found the hotels location so convenient for touring the west and the surrounding area.


Time and time again we find that our location is being hearlded as a major plus point, as our proximity to the city and our ease of acces to some of the best of the tiourist attractions is recognised.

Not sure if I met you during your stay but if not would hope to do so on your next visit.


Kind regards and thanks again !

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for Glenlo Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

883 - 889 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had the "luck of the Irish" to stay at the the Glenlo Abbey Hotel this past month . We were welcomed royally by the front desk and the general mgr. Michael Hanley. It was a very busy wkend for them; they were having a unveiling of the new 2013 Audis and things were buzzing.
We were shown to our room by one of the friendly staff members into a pleasant room. It had all the amenities one would need but it just looked a bit tired. After getting some wonderful directions and suggestions , we headed off to town. Upon returning, we decided to eat in their upscale dinning room , which were former Orient Express cars.
To make a very long story short, the experience had some bumps and we were not happy. Coming from the food industry myself, I felt that the management would want to know and chatted with the desk mgr. She was so upset that she got the general mgr., Michael Hanley. While the dining experience was not 5 star , it was not 3 star either . It just didn't have the elegance that I knew they would and should be going for. Mr. Hanley stated that was so unusual that he would investigate immediately. Indeed he did, and he made it up to us, as well.
His behavior shows his professionalism and management is very lucky to have him and his staff. We will highly recommend this hotel to anyone we know going to that part of Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for softer pillows
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redmill_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Redmill_12,

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor and more importantly during your stay which offered us the opportunity to put right the "bumps" you encountered with us on your first night.
As a property all of the team are empowered to go the extra mile to ensure that guest satisfaction is guaranteed and we hope we demonstrated this when we did not live up to expectations initially.
It was very nice to meet with you all and I hope that you will make us part of your next itinerary when visiting in the future.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed overnight in the Glenlo Abbey Hotel a few weeks ago and is was just superb.... Maura at the front Desk was both charming and a great pr for the Glenlo... She got me a wonderful room overlooking the corrib, and the pullman restaurant - idylic... I eat in the Pullman, its a very romantic and i got wonderful food.... the head waiter there is informative and full of character. !.
Breakfast in the restaurant was also beautiful with wonderful views of the countryside... all staff were very attentive, and the front line management had great customer interaction with the guests... Glenlo is a perfect place for one to chill out and have a bit of RR... Its very old, but there is so much character to this lovely hotel..... do try it ! .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Mindyireland,

Thank you so much for your review and your kind comments about us all here in glenlo.

As a team we endevour to make each guests stay as comfortable and unique as possible and all our team are empowered to go the extra mile to ensure this happens.

Again Thank you and we hope to be welcoming you back to glenlo in the not too distand future.

Kind Regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I can honestly say that we received the warmest and friendliest welcome in Glenlo Abbey that I have ever had in any hotel. The staff are simply wonderful. The rooms are nice, the food is good... The cellar bar is fantastic. But by far the greatest attribute to this beautiful hotel is its superb staff. Thank you for a super weekend, we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The view of the golf course is nice but the flood lights tend to impinge on the night time darkness.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Nigel,

Thank you for your comments and i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Not sure if i met you over your time with us but I look forward to meeting you on a return visit.


Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Glenlo Abbey in May past. It was just beautiful, the lovely girl in rservations upgraded us to a suite and sent a little plate of fruit once we arrived. The decor is slighly old fashioned but it is an abbey and this is to be expected. At dinner in the wonderful train .. the receptionist had kindly reserved one of the fabulous private carriges. That was one of the most uniqe meals we've had..and we eat out often .. it was just fabulous !!! they food was lovely and the staff wonderful. We will definately go back and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Eat in the train..and ask for a carrige if possible !!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Jessi30,

Thank you for you comments and particularly those in relation to our unique Pullman restaurant which is as you now know a treat not to be missed while visiting galway.

Again thank you.

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Glenlo Abbey Hotel and had a fantastic time.. the staff especially the bar staff Ivan and Noel just made the experience a "chill out one". The Guinness was as good as Dublin and the prices for a five star hotel didn't break the bank. The rooms were very spacious and the hotel in general extremely relaxing. My wife and I haven't been in Galway for some years now and definitely will be returning.
We would both recommend this hotel and only 10 mins out from the town enabled us to have the best of both worlds from the friendly hustle of the shoppers to the chill out on the orient express. This was a dinning experience not to be missed.......very romantic.
Liam and Gabrielle

Room Tip: No leisure complex but Golf and plenty of walking... didn't miss no pool
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our recent stay was wonderful. Beautiful and comfortable accommodations and a very friendly and helpful staff. They took time to tell us about memorable places that we should visit during the remainder of our vacation and even drew out maps for us. The grounds are beautiful and the adjoining golf course is a great plus. We would certainly recommend this hotel to everyone who are planning on visiting Galway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_Longtin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,725 reviews
3.0 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,818 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.2 mi away
Clybaun Hotel
Clybaun Hotel
#6 of 46 in Galway
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range: $179 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming open log fires and a warm personal welcome await you at Glenlo Abbey Hotel. This luxury, five star hotel is nestled peacefully on a stunning 138 acre estate on the shores of Lough Corrib near Galway City, with a choice of elegant bedrooms and suites, individually designed and beautifully appointed, blending luxury and contemporary décor. A choice of unique dining options, including the award-winning Pullman Restaurant, set on two original Orient Express carriages, now a fine dining restaurant on the hotel grounds. Take time to relax in one of the many reception rooms, with Afternoon Tea by the fireside or the timeless elegance of the River Room Restaurant. Enjoy drink in the Oak Cellar Bar that exudes warmth and character. Activities on the 138 acre estate include golf on the 9 hole championship course, fishing on Lough Corrib, falconry and archery in the Walled Garden. Relax in the comfort of our in house cinema or enjoy some friendly competition in the Billiards Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing