We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Westwood House Hotel(Dangan)(Great Value!)
$144
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menlo Park Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$109
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ardilaun Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$106
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
$106
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nox Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$127
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Anno Santo(Galway)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skeffington Arms Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveler rating
885
236
108
61
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
885
236
108
61
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspullman restaurantcellar barlough corribhole golf courseroom restaurantbeautiful dining roomfive star hotelbeautiful hoteleggs benedictgalway cityfrom start to finishreception arearoom was largesconesspent nightscooked breakfasttop class
Filter
Updating list...
1,086 - 1,091 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay four nights at this hotel. I can't say enough about the service we experienced every day - way beyond excellent. The breakfasts, pub and restaurant food were outstanding too. I'd definitely go back to this hotel and have already recommended to friends in U.S.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear Barbara A,

Thank you for your kind words....I see your in Raleigh NC....make sure to call into the Hibernian Pub which is my buddys place.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We unexpectedly stayed there for 4 nights. Would love to return for the hospitality, the friendliness, cosiness, spaciousness, the view and cooking. I plan to return for a longer period. Nothing too much trouble, cannot fault the place. We were there for the international quilt show and it was a pleasure to return there every day.The taxi drive is only 10 minutes to galway, we managed to walk but it took us one and half hours slow walking on a really lovely, warm day.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the Corrib
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bess_thurgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

The Inaugral Quilting Festival....what an event it was and we are lucky to be close to the action.

Thank you for your kind comments.

Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Glenlo Abbey as part of our Sceptre Tours package. Getting there was a challenge! We felt very prepared, having our trusty Magellan GPS, which we purchased the European update before we left home. American travel tip for Ireland - carefully research directions to your hotels BEFORE you leave home!! There are no street addresses in Ireland. The address provided by our tour company said Bushypark. We inputted the address into our GPS and were taken to a rural road with no hotels! Bushypark isn't the street -- it's the area! (N59 to Clifden would have been REALLY helpful!) No problem....we would just call the hotel on the prepaid phone we bought in Dublin, right?! Wrong - American travel tip for Ireland #2 - when you buy the prepaid phone, ask for what numbers to call for the area that you're in! (The number provided for the hotel wouldn't work because we were given the number to call when we were in the states -- certain numbers are different within the country!) Very helpful people tried to give us directions - and clarified which number to call for the hotel! We called Glenlo and talked to Sandra (3 times) and finally found at the hotel!! Sandra warmly greeted us and immediately put us at ease! Beautiful property and rooms- very classy. Loved Sandra and the staff - made us feel that Glenlo was our home for 2 days! Definitely take a cab or drive to Galway for the great music in the pubs at night - very entertaining. Sandra suggested we take the road to Clifden, with lunch at Mitchell's, and then back through Cong -- and we were so glad we did! Great day and Cong is beautiful!!

If you want a beautiful place to relax - highly recommend the Glenlo Abbey!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0vesBlueWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Hi L0vesBlueWeather....you do know that we've had GPS in Ireland since the motorcar arrived 100 or so years ago....just role down the window and ask a local!!

Glad you made it to us eventually and I do recall your arrival which was kinda funny!

Thank you for your humourous account of getting here...

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We loved our 2 night stay at Glenlo! The staff was so friendly and helpful. The facility is breathtaking, rich with history and an overall very unique stay. If u are planning a trip to Galloway, Glenlo would be a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachJG03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Hi RachJG03,

Thank you for your comments which are very much appreciated....come back and see us!!

Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Sometime ago I purchased 2 Vouchers with Groupon for an overnight stay at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel near Galway. This was our second visit and I can recall that when we were leaving the last time we hoped to be back again soon and so our visit last Saturday came to pass, and once again we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived to our departure the attention given to us by all of the Staff was 1st Class.
The weather last Saturday was very wet but it was most enjoyable to sit in our Room, read a Book and look out over Lough Corrib. We were with another Couple who were equally impressed.
We had Dinner in the River Room and it was very well presented and good value @ €35 per person. Because there was the remnants of a Christening in the Bar and it was very busy we decided to go to the Residents Lounge where we found Scrabble and proceeded to have a very good game.
Sunday Morning Breakfast was of a very high standard with plenty of choice. again we were able to relax in the Residents Lounge and read the Sunday Newspapers.

The Rain finally stopped as we were leaving but we all agreed that we would be back again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the River have the best views
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Dear DaleLimerick,

Great to have you back with us and thank you for your kind words. We'll have to entice you back up again soon....Limerick to Galway....a mere one hour!!

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews