We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!”
Review of Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Me and my family had a wonderful stay at this hotel, they made us feel special. Their services were superb from the bell boy to the reception desk to the restaurant. Rooms are clean and spacious, and you can call room service anytime for anything and they will do their best to accommodate. Tea time can be anytime, all you have to do is call the front desk. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, some of them have a bigger window overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennyRam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

998 - 1,004 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

hi brenda and friends stayed in this hotel this weekend,we had a lovely time,the bedrooms were quite large,and well fitted out,there was no tea making facilities,but the staff informed us that we could ring reception at any time and and tea and coffee would be delivered to our room free of charge which was great.we had dinner in the bar which was very tasty,the grounds to this hotel are very large and there is a golf course there,the breakfast the next morning was fitting of a five star hotel,i had salmon and kippers followed by full irish breakfast,the best breakfast we ever had,the staff were very friendly and helpful,they are a credit to this hotel,we had vouchers and we will definately return later in the year

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandAfric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chara, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Hi IrelandAfric,

Thank you too for your very nice comments. The Breakie really is good here! When I'm at home and getting up in the morning to see the sight of mere toast and coffee compared to what I see an hour later when I get into work; well lets just say there is a difference. Miro our Breakfast Chef does an amazing job as do our waiting staff led by Alex and her Team. Thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back someday. Kind regards, Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

this is the place for you! A delightful step back in time. Our room was fairly large, with a river view. Unfortunately, it also faces the parking lot so that took away from the rest of the view. The hotel's on a golf course so the grounds are beautiful, as was the lovely dining room where a delicious breakfast buffet was served each morning. I felt the common areas were nicer than our room - but it was still OK - just not luxurious. We had a unique dining experience in "The Pullman" - two train cars from the actual Orient Express that are parked outside on the hotel grounds. Our meal was lovely and a different feel from the pub experience. Maura and Anna, the front desk staff, couldn't have been more helpful about what to see and do - and offering directions on how to get there. All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank houstontravelingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chara, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear houston,

Thank you for your review on Glenlo Abbey Hotel and particular thanks for mentioning the great staff at Glenlo by name. Anna and Maura at Front House and Reception are true professionals and everyone likes to be recognised, so thank you sincerely. All I can say is tell your fellow Texans....we have a lot from the Lone Star State visiting this year again. Thanks and best wishes.....Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

On a recent trip from Dublin to Cliffs of Moher, we stopped half way and stayed in Glenlo Abbey Hotel for a night. It was indeed a pleasant surprise to find such quality hotel in a very beautiful surrounding (historical building with abbey, beautiful golf course, and an authentic orient express train converted into restaurant). The rooms were spacious in european standard, not luxury but decorated in lovely and simple setting, very clean and well maintained. We had dinner at a basement restaurant/bar called Coak Cellar, and both the service and food were excellent. We retired to our rooms after dinner as there weren't any other activities in the hotel or surrounding area. The next morning, we had breakfast in a beautiful dining room, with fine/luxurious dining setting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Glenlo Abbey Hotel, a unique and quality hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MacLik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chara, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear MacLik,

Thank you for your recent review about our property, Glenlo Abbey Hotel. After a wind swept day on the Cliffs (presumably), I'm personally delighted you happened upon us and glad you enjoyed your stay. All I can say is please tell your friends and family in the UK!! Hope you had a great Jubilee weekend; the concert was great....and....Sir Cliff Richard is still doing the business. Please revisit. Kind regards, Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Rooms and especially bathroom needs updating, loud noises made ever time you flush. Staff was very friendly and extremely providing for every detail. Breakfast was very good.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Tim-Purdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chara, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Tim-Purdy,

Greetings to you and the Lone-Star State....Thank you for your review and its unfortunate that you were not entirely satisfied with your room and I'm unsure as to whether you spoke to a member of the Team here or not? I'm sure we could have either rectified your issue.

But nevertheless, thank you for your comments as it helps us fix issues when they crop up. I hope you had a lovely trip to the Emerald Isle and please do spread the word to your fellow Texans.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed at Glenlo last weekend and have mostly good memories of our stay. The hotel building and grounds were very pleasant although the grounds could have been better maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean, the bathroom was in need of an update and had serious plumbing issues. We ate in the Pullman restaurant and had a very good meal. The breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere. The main downsides to the hotel were, no tea and coffee facilities in the room, although tea and coffee were complimentary you had to ring for them. We also thought that the hotel was lacking in a proper bar, not one that also doubles as a restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thelma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chara, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Thelma L,

Thank you for your review of Glenlo Abbey and I take note of your comments and appreciate your information. I am happy to see that the majority of your stay with us was a happy one however we will look into your grievance on the plumbing. Please note that extensive work is currently being done on the gardens and golf course at the moment so you may not have witnessed this work that is progressing nicely. With that, please do return and do let us know if there is anything that we can make your visit to Glenlo extra special. I did meet one couple last week from Belfast and brought them to their room so I'm not sure if that was you or not but nevertheless, thank you for your comments and keep reviewing!

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

From the start, this was an excellent few nights away in Galway. Glenlo is a beautiful setting with lovely spacious rooms. The staff are among the best and friendliest I have ever met.

The renovated abbey adds hugely to the character of the place. The downstairs bar is lovely and homely and a place you could easily enjoy a few pints. The food in the bar was lovely and also surprisingly for a 5 star hotel not expensive at all.

Breakfast was really good and in a fine dining room.

There were a lot of lovely spacious rooms; drawing rooms, library and the orient express type restaurant even though I dont think it was open the nights we stayed.

All in all, an excellent stay. Definitely 5 stars.

P.S. Dont worry when you cant find the kettle. There is complementary tea/ coffee from reception.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glasson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A_Chara, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Glasson1,

Firstly, thank you so much for your kind review. Secondly, we took the decision back a few years ago to not do kettles and you're absolutely right, we will bring you up your tea/coffee and you can be sure that it will be brewed and made to perfection. I dont know how many times I've been in hotels all around the world and found 90% of the kettles in the rooms to be as my four year old would say, "minging"!!

Thank you for bringing it up as its important for us as a small hotel in the West of Ireland to stand out from the rest and it can be simply done.

Thank you Glasson1.

Kind regards,

Brian Bourke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bushypark
2.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,896 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,776 reviews
3 mi away
the g Hotel & Spa Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,366 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,099 reviews
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bushypark
Price Range: $166 - $1,072 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming open log fires and a warm personal welcome await you at Glenlo Abbey Hotel. This luxury, five star hotel is nestled peacefully on a stunning 138 acre estate on the shores of Lough Corrib near Galway City, with a choice of elegant bedrooms and suites, individually designed and beautifully appointed, blending luxury and contemporary décor. A choice of unique dining options, including the award-winning Pullman Restaurant, set on two original Orient Express carriages, now a fine dining restaurant on the hotel grounds. Take time to relax in one of the many reception rooms, with Afternoon Tea by the fireside or the timeless elegance of the River Room Restaurant. Enjoy drink in the Oak Cellar Bar that exudes warmth and character. Activities on the 138 acre estate include golf on the 9 hole championship course, fishing on Lough Corrib, falconry and archery in the Walled Garden. Relax in the comfort of our in house cinema or enjoy some friendly competition in the Billiards Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing