We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak”
Review of Sixtysix Steakhouse - CLOSED

Sixtysix Steakhouse
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Folkestone
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went for a meal this Saturday night, it was our first time and we really enjoyed it everything was very well cooked and full of flavor. The service was good as well and I certainly would return

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dannyboy1477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    2
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Heard varied reports about 66 steak house, but had been told the roast was worth trying and I'm glad I did good quality roast dinner nice staff. Will go back and try a steak sometime

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Solly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We came for dinner on Sunday for the first time and we didn't even make it as far as the menu... The service was very very slow. We were sat in the basement that had a funny smell and very loud music. Was very cramped down there and when we asked to move upstairs, we were told we couldn't, despite a number of tables free. As for the service, we ordered a couple of cokes and they came out pretty sharp but sadly were flat. We waited for approx 20 minutes for the MENU to come out and there was no sign. It wasn't that busy- there were 3 members of staff just stood around the bar! so we decided to leave as the service was so poor. We settled up for the 2 cokes before we left and nobody even acknowledged us during the transaction. I can't judge the food as obviously we didn't get that far, but it did look and smell very pleasant. Not sure if I want to even try again though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing dining experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

went to this restaurant for Sunday roast, best I've tasted. The owner was singing, he should be on the x factor. A very talented man. All the staff were Friendly and helpful. Good value for money, great wine, served at the right temperature, I had rose and my husband had red. Food served on lovely plates. Will be going again for sure next Sunday

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saraeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“sunday lunch at sixtysix ?”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

l booked a table for 13.30 got there 5minutes early was shown to our table asked about drinks which we ordered got them after 15minutes 40 minutes later we got our main dish. l am a veggie l was shocked as what they served up was sliced peppers with onions plus the normal roast carrots rock hard parsnips the worst l have ever tasted yorkshire pud not cooked in the middle l had booked this 4 -5 days earlier so they had plenty of time to do someting veggie the young lad who bought the food to the table l asked for some gravey he said we have only one with meat in? l should have gone after that but we ordered home made icecream got that just after 30 minutes.paid bill and left never to return worse meal l have ever had

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo m, Owner at Sixtysix Steakhouse, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I am sorry that you have chosen to select a message about my restaurant that is so unusual in its' negativity. The two bones of contention are that a) that you, the diner was unhappy with the gravy served up - I only ever offer veggie gravy for vegetarians and it is a stock item and b) the length of time it took to get service once you had ordered the meal, a point noted but it is very unusual for any delays in serving meals. That you paid the asking price suggests that, after all, you were basically happy but I am more than willing to entertain you to a meal 'on the house' so that you can see my true colours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sixtysix Steakhouse also viewed

Sandgate, Folkestone
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing