We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location in a town where time stood still”
Review of Dog & Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dog & Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great location in a town where time stood still”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Charming,wonderful people in a little storybook town-everything you need in one little burg.
Would absolutely return-love the antiques,lingerie store and fish fry restaurant all steps away from eah other.
Paula@paulamarks.com

Room Tip: Rooms are small but well appointed with a lovely friendly staff and a nice charming restaurant with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAHKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    115
    54
    7
    2
See reviews for
56
135
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here as part of our walk through Kent for one night.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was ok but lacked finishing touches, not a full set of toiletries in the bathroom luckily we has bought all our own stuff or we would have had to ask at reception for shampoo etc and after a long day you really don't want to have to bother with that stuff.

Food was average. Both my husband and I had lamb from the main menu and specials board but it was a little tough and there were not any side dishes of vegetables served with the main courses.

Breakfast was better, well cooked and again helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Eat your heart out Basil Faulty..... this is the tops.
Overlooking the picturesque village square, The Dog and Bear Hotel in Lenham combines the friendly atmosphere of a local pub with all the comforts of a modern hotel and restaurant. Shepherd Neame have not stinted in the recent update. Top quality.
And while rooms and facilities have been recently refurbished to the highest standards, a sense of history pervades this place too.
Excellent facilities,The staff were, without exception, friendly, professional, efficient and more than willing to help or accommodate requests. Restaurant for about 30 people, various sized tables, excellent in ambiance, decor and menu. A thoroughly relaxing and reviving experience. Food was delicious, ample portions, menu varied over our group's 3 night stay. Conference room well supplied with tea, coffee and biscuits.
The food - breakfast ( where unusually these days hot food was cooked to order), lunch and dinner - was wonderful: head chef cooked recipes to perfection and fantastic desserts - a lovely touch. Service was prompt and efficient, all with sunny smiles. The bar and outdoor tables facilities are excellent. What more can anyone ask?
Well done. Will definitely go again - looking forward to it already. Thank you everyone, from all 22 of us.

Room Tip: The car parking was in hotel's own parking lot, to the rear. Ample slots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraverseLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlare, Belgium
Level Contributor
248 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

we had a very enjoyable stay at the dog and bear,staff very friendly and very helpfull.we was traveling from calais via euro tunnel but suffered very bad delays, didnt think we would make it.I phoned to let them know, and it was not a problem, our key would be left in an agreed place.The lady very kindly offered to leave sandwiches and some beers and soft drinks in our room.We arrived 6 hours late,just as the pub side was being locked up...We had a lovely room, sandwiches were very welcome,as was the beer....many thanks for such a wonderfull stay, will stay again when next time visiting UK

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mrbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were warmly welcomed by Brian and Anne on arrival and this set the tone for our weekend stay at the Dog and Bear. We stayed in the kingsize room which was spotless and had a very comfortable bed. We had lunch in the hotel bar, the fish and chips were delicious!! The portion was massive and even my husband could not eat his and finish off mine as he usually does!!! Breakfast was served in the main dining room with lovely service and a plentiful choice of hot and cold dishes. A thoroughly enjoyable stay, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawelsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a lovely place to stay. Everyone was so friendly it did not seem to matter that we arrived in a full on hail storm. We stayed in the four poster room which overlooked the traditionl village square - lovely. I was definately stay here again, although it was quite a lively atmosphere in the bar area the overal experience was one of calm and relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

My partner booked the four poster room for a birthday treat. Room was excellent, very nice bathroom. Comfortable bed. The food was delicious, we had a lovely evening meal and the breakfast choice was ample and filling. Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: Four poster bedroom although above the restaurant, is well worth a try. The hotel closes at 11 pm so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tricia801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
1.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrow Inn
The Harrow Inn
#3 of 3 in Lenham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog & Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog & Bear Hotel

Property: Dog & Bear Hotel
Address: The Square, Lenham ME17 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dog & Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dog & Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog And Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing