We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small things could make such a difference”
Review of Dog & Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dog & Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

On the plus side the room we had was clean and spacious but very dark - even on sunny days.
The central lighting was inadequate and it would be very difficult to see on a dark winter's day.
The shower was misnamed - it dripped Luke warm water rather than showered but we think this was because we had a room at the end of a run and perhaps other rooms would have had better pressure and supply.

Breakfasts are excellent but smiley, cheerful staff are very thin on the ground and it's a shame because that would make a real difference.dinner was acceptable but again spoiled by sullen service.

In conclusion, it's a functional well situated spot for some sight seeing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortsmouthLegaleagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 334 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and myself stayed here for a big family wedding.

The room was big, bathroom was nice, modern and cosy and nice and clean.
Breakfast was lovely and fresh.

The only minor complaint I would have was the room was very very warm, and apparently no one mans reception after 11pm.

It was a very cute homely hotel, would defo recommened.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveaholibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed overnight, after my wifes' school reunion - The evening meal was very good and full English breakfast, first class. Very comfortable in a nicely appointed room. Staff very friendly and helpful, and beer excellent (Shepherd & Neame). The village itself is superb, really 'picture postcard' - especially the fine Church.
One very small fault - the Bathroom/Toilet door catch needs attention as it will not stay closed !
(Room 18)

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the rear car park, as early departures tend to disturb !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peternorton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a friends wedding. It was an excellent location. The room was huge, there were four of us staying in it and there was a big double bed plus four single beds and still plenty of room for all of us to move around. The shower was good, warm and powerful enough. The floors of the room were uneven but thats what you'd expect from an old building and it didn't cause any problems. The breakfast was at a good time, there was a lot of choice and it was all very nice. You could hear the noice from the pub in our room but as we were staying out late it did not matter. Overall i would say this is an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night, friendly welcome, lovely clean spacious cosy room. Ate in the restaurant good pub meal. Breakfast was excellent. Only comment would be the waitress needs show a she can smile and interact with the customers a bit more ..So easy to reciify ... Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cath1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's not clear on arrival that the car park and reception are at the rear, so I marched into the pub case in hand, only to be redirected. I think this should be highlighted when the booking is made.
We had a superior room which had a very comfy super super kingsize bed which could have slept three ( but unfortunately just the two of us). The room also had 2 other beds in it so guess it was actually the family room. The bathroom was dark and windowless and the shower over the bath would be great for a child or midget, but I had to crouch under it to get my hair wet. Didn't try the restaurant but Breakfast good. Service from staff was very good in all departments.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WFCHornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 14, which is a bit small and cramped and walls are thin. Plus point: room has blinds as well as curtains, which improves sleep quality on summer mornings.

Area for improvement:
Toilet seat totally unacceptable (too small and lid and seat won't stay up).
Would be great if directions for car-park are made clear when booking.
I would have shared this with staff if there would have been somebody available at check-out.

Breakfast was okay although our friends were told they were too late when they ordered cooked breakfast at 9.30 sharp.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne_trvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
1.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
599 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
10.8 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,993 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Harrow Inn
The Harrow Inn
#3 of 3 in Lenham
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog & Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog & Bear Hotel

Address: The Square, Lenham, Maidstone ME17 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Lenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range: $94 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dog & Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dog & Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog And Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing