We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dog & Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dog & Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed two nights in room 14, which is a bit small and cramped and walls are thin. Plus point: room has blinds as well as curtains, which improves sleep quality on summer mornings.

Area for improvement:
Toilet seat totally unacceptable (too small and lid and seat won't stay up).
Would be great if directions for car-park are made clear when booking.
I would have shared this with staff if there would have been somebody available at check-out.

Breakfast was okay although our friends were told they were too late when they ordered cooked breakfast at 9.30 sharp.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne_trvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    112
    52
    7
    2
See reviews for
53
134
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our stay in Dog & Bear hotel was as expected , nice friendly staff and helpfull .
English breakfast , ok.
Clean rooms , bar with locals amusing and friendly , restaurant was a little poor .
The country side as we wished !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Interesting village - pretty yet unspoilt. Lovely hotel with very efficient young woman who booked us in and seemed to be everywhere all at once, ensuring our stay was a success. Waiting staff were pleasant. Comfortable room with lots of old world charm. Good food. Highly recommended. Excellent stopping off point on way to or from Eurotunnel.

Room Tip: Ask to go into the main part of the hotel if you like old world charm rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galloceltique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stay here quite often sometimes alone and sometimes with my wife. For a pub this is a great place to stay, the rooms are variable but usually very good and the staff great. The place has had a bit of a face lift lately and is much better for it. Ideal for a romantic break

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The staff were attentive and could not do enough for you. Even though the kitchen had stopped serving food, they managed to knock up a scampi and chips for me.
The room was spacious, clean and well stocked with toiletries. They offered papers delivered to the door (not usual for a pub) and the breakfast was good and offered free wifi.
The downsides were that the bathrooms were a little tired and I had a wobbly toilet seat and the pub itself was really a locals' pub and not very friendly to outsiders. However all in all, I would not hesitate to return. Give it a go!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The pub stop over is ideal for anyone walking the north downs way just 1/2 mile off route . The only down side for us was the heating as this did not work and as this was one of the coldest days so far this winter we really needed some heat they did bring us a fan heater but not really what we wanted and as they also had a wedding party of 25 staying we had no hot water for some time, We only needed it to get our heads down so that w could carry on walking the next day < it served its purpose for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieliddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling to Belgium. The welcome was friendly and the rooms in the annex were ok though bathrooms could have been a bit more sparkling, stains around taps and dubious looking bathmat. We ate in the restaurant and the food was tasty and gave good value for money although the waitress was unfriendly and miserable, I think she is in the wrong job! When delivering the food she just stood behind us until we noticed her and then put down the meal without comment or a smile. The rest of the staff were all friendly but she did spoil it for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerpotManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
1.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
6.0 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Harrow Inn
The Harrow Inn
#3 of 3 in Lenham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
4.9 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog & Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog & Bear Hotel

Property: Dog & Bear Hotel
Address: The Square, Lenham ME17 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dog & Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dog & Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog And Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing