We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Dog & Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dog & Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The pub stop over is ideal for anyone walking the north downs way just 1/2 mile off route . The only down side for us was the heating as this did not work and as this was one of the coldest days so far this winter we really needed some heat they did bring us a fan heater but not really what we wanted and as they also had a wedding party of 25 staying we had no hot water for some time, We only needed it to get our heads down so that w could carry on walking the next day < it served its purpose for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieliddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 329 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling to Belgium. The welcome was friendly and the rooms in the annex were ok though bathrooms could have been a bit more sparkling, stains around taps and dubious looking bathmat. We ate in the restaurant and the food was tasty and gave good value for money although the waitress was unfriendly and miserable, I think she is in the wrong job! When delivering the food she just stood behind us until we noticed her and then put down the meal without comment or a smile. The rest of the staff were all friendly but she did spoil it for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed for two nights while walking in the area. Good first impressions and room in the extension was comfortable and very quiet so a relaxing stay. Ate both nights in the restaurant and food is very impressive - well priced, well cooked and presented and very decent portion sizes. They passed the vegetarian breakfast test by having and offering veggie sausages! Unlike many brewery owned B&Bs, you get no impression that things are done to a price. Service throughout was truly excellent - well trained attentive staff who were pleasant without being servile. Food service was prompt too
My only two small niggles was perhaps that they could enhance the limited range (two) of Shepherd Neame real ales on offer with some guest beers, and ensure that the loo roll holders and soap dishes are fixed firmly to the wall - wobbly ones don't enhance the image much! But overall, very impressive and enjoyable, and somewhere we'd be happy to come back to

Room Tip: Rooms in the extension are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here christmas day after having lunch in the restaurant. A lovely dinner followed by a relaxing evening upstairs. The room was clean, modern, warm and cosy. The bar and restaurant closed at 5pm so the chef made us a cold buffet and delivered it to the room. Breakfast was very good. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

lovely hotel, nice clean room, large bar area, staurday evening full of locals all watching football, felt un welcome so went out, found a lovely little pub few doors up stayed for evening meal was fantastic. the bar areain the dog & bear spoilt our trip and would not return only for that reason, Breakfast was wonderful

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tAgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

On arrival it was not clear where to park, (for security I prefer not to park on the street or in public car parks.) the hotel has its own parking but it's not signed. As you would expect in an old building the floors and walls are uneven, I can't comment on the newer parts as I did not go there. Food is good and reasonably priced as well as a good selection. Staff helpful and friendly.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Having the courage of my convictions, in my last review of this hotel, I said I'd definately come back. So I did.
Great room (10). Providing squeaky floorboards don't drive you crazy. Good value. Paid £50 b&b via hoteldotcom.
Breakfast - waffle & bacon very nice. Server looked tired, didn't say thank you or smile. Fix that and you've cracked it!
Safe choice, definately recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickit7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
6.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
591 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
997 reviews
6 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Harrow Inn
The Harrow Inn
#3 of 3 in Lenham
113 reviews
7.5 mi away
Detling Coachhouse
Detling Coachhouse
#10 of 17 in Maidstone
230 reviews
10.8 mi away
Village Hotel Maidstone
Village Hotel Maidstone
#5 of 17 in Maidstone
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog & Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog & Bear Hotel

Address: The Square, Lenham, Maidstone ME17 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Lenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range: $94 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dog & Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dog & Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog And Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing