We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money! Recommended!”
Review of Dog & Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dog & Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Dog & Bear in september.
Lenham is a very charming village and the Dog & Bear is everything we expect from a typical English Inn.

We had a great deal (booked by House of Britain) on the ferry crossing Dunkerque - Dover + 2 night's stay, and already recommended the Dog & Bear to several friends & family members. It's a great place to stay if on a short break in England.

The pub really added to the atmosphere. It is used by locals and we enjoyed having a drink at night, without having to drive. Room within walking distance. Nice. The food was good: classic English dishes like steak & ale pie. Always a great reason to visit the UK .

Breakfast was very good. Lot's of choice: Continental breakfast, English breakfast, waffles with maple syrup, bacon and an egg (stuff one would never eat in Belgium:)), ... + friendly staff.

Our room was good. We felt the bed was rather small (we have a bigger one at home) and since it is an older building there's not as much insulation as in newer ones. We didn't have noisy neighbours but if we had, the whole experience would have been less fun.

For the money we paid we really can't complain and we would definitely return.
If the owners would want to improve something: The bathroom could use some refurbishments.




.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 327 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This pub has undergone a recent refurbishment and it has been carried out in a sympathetic style to the age of the building. We stayed in a Four Poster room above the pub itself overlooking the square, The room is decorated in rich colours and very well appointed. Large TV on the wall to have a lazy Sunday cuppa in front of, lovely big bath which I enjoyed rather than the shower and a little sofa in the corner.

The pub is obviously used by locals and was busy early evening but was quiet enough for a pleasant evening drink. There isn't a great deal in Lenham, which was perfect as we only were visiting for a quiet relaxed evening.

The food was pub grub, but grub which was done very well. The bread was not just standard but flavoured with herbs, the chips were crispy and skin on, there was Haggis on the menu and some interesting specials. It is little touches like this which elevate the food above standard - generous portions too.

Breakfast was pretty good and I noticed other tables around me asking for various combinations from the menu - each request met with a "no problem".

The best feature of this hotel though is the staff. We had a lovely warm friendly greeting and this continued through the pub and the restaurant in every interaction we had. In a world customer service has gone down the tubes, The Dog and Bear have got it right.

Overall, the hotel is worth the reasonable cost and I am definatley going back. I've stayed at B&Bs and some of the worlds best hotels and this has been the most enjoyable stay my OH and I have had in a long while.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerCmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

One night only on way to a conference. Food ok, rooms clean everything you need. I feel the staff make this place very pleasant and attentive, dinner was not bad but the fish and chips looked the best. Breakfast looked good but i only had a small egg and bacon, i think everyone was enjoying the full english.I would stay again if i was on my way for euro tunnel.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank charlietraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

This traditionally fronted hotel has been extended in modern times to create a generic, above average, value for money hotel in what can be an expensive part of the UK.
Stripped of its original features it's pub in a box feel does it no favours, but actually all the ingredients for acomfortable stay are there including (at least on this shift) friendly, professional local staff.
The rooms are modern and well furnished, clean and relatively spacious.
There's no phone signal inside the building, so you might need to fork out for bt openzone to get out to the world.
Breakfast was up to scratch and I'd be happy to come back.
Good sized carpark.
Other eating options are available locally. Which is lucky.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickit7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We spent this weekend at the Dog and Bear have been before and returned because they have a excellent eye for detail, Being owners of a small dog who by the loves this hotel as well we were given a lovely room with its own little garden what a treat for the dog and for us as well. Food great great breakfast, only problem is the going home part..

Lenham is a great place friendly and full of lovely little shops check out the Butchers and tea shop all wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful. This is a great place to use as a base when visiting the Kent area. The food for breakfast and for dinner was tasy and a very reasonable price. We stayed and extra day and would lo
Have loved to stay longer if time permitted.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We found this an excellent hotel, the room was spacious for three adults, everything you could need was provided. We had a meal there in the evening which was excellent even with a trainee waiter. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
1.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
993 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Harrow Inn
The Harrow Inn
#3 of 3 in Lenham
112 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Thurnham
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.1 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 17 in Maidstone
1,677 reviews
9.5 mi away
Grange Moor Hotel
Grange Moor Hotel
#15 of 17 in Maidstone
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dog & Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dog & Bear Hotel

Address: The Square, Lenham, Maidstone ME17 2PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Maidstone > Lenham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range: $86 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dog & Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dog & Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dog And Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing