We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved my stay. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chilston Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved my stay. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Safari room last weekend for a wedding. The whole stay was totally outstanding. The staff were amazing and clearly work very hard. The wine manger was there until 11pm and then there again 9.00 in the morning. The staff were so kind to us and nothing was a problem. The room was beautiful only thing was I wasn't sure if the bathroom was cleaned was toothpaste marks and shower gel left in the shower. Thank you so much. Will be coming back soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Clarrie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. It is always pleasing to read that we have met our guests expectations and they have enjoyed staying with us. I trust that the wedding celebrations were enjoyable for all who attended. I will of course mention the presentation of the bathroom that you mentioned to my Head Housekeeper to ensure that the sparkle that we aim to achieve is more evident. Apologies of this tainted your enjoyment in anyway.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    228
    102
    52
    19
See reviews for
170
495
7
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlton in Lindrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We made a late booking at this hotel for the final night of our holiday and got a good deal through their website offers.

On arrival at the impressive building and gardens, the reception staff were beyond reproach. They were friendly and engaged with us to chat about our recent holiday in Provence. It felt as if they wanted to spend time with us and were genuinely interested in our recent travels.

We were shown to our beautiful spacious room which had an art-deco theme. The bed was one of the largest I've ever seen and also the one of the most comfortable. The en-suite was large and well-equipped with premium products.

We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. The food was superb and the waiting staff were, once more, absolutely marvellous. I can't commend them enough.

As we were leaving, one of the hotel gardeners came over to chat about the ducks that live on the property.

This is how a hotel should be managed. We certainly intend to return. The hotel is fantastic but the staff shine brighter.

Room Tip: We had a look at a few rooms. They have different themes and all look spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ece69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for this wonderful review, it is clear that the team really made this stay that little bit extra special and this is the simply the best feedback we can receive. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel should have had top marks - if we had reviewed it yesterday after dinner and before going to bed I would have been raving.
As a birthday treat my husband took me to the Hawking Centre at Doddington place and wanted to find a really nice hotel for dinner and overnight to round off our outing.
As we drove up to the Chilston Park Hotel we could not fail but be impressed. A beautiful old country house in superb surroundings. Entering the building it got better and better. The staff are outstandingly friendly and professional and the décor really made you feel like a special guest at Downton Abbey (if you watch television).
We were told we had been upgraded to a themed suite and were thrilled to be let up a superb oak staircase past statues and paintings to be shown the Regency Suite. What can I say. A large corner room with four poster bed, fireplace, antique furniture - including sofas and dining table with spectacular views on two sides onto manicured lawns. The room was further enhanced by a wonderful bathroom - also with paintings, statues and trinkets to make you feel as if you really were in someone's home.
We were so excited we ordered two double gin and tonics room service (£24 for the two but what the heck - we were in paradise) and booked a table in the beautiful old restaurant for that evening.
At dinner we had the Table d'Hote menu which was also well worth the money. £37 for three courses including amuse-bouches. The food was well cooked, beautifully presented and with the help of a really friendly waitress we felt there was nowhere else in England we could possibly be better pampered. In fact the only hotel in the world we felt came near was the Hilton in Kuching, Sarawak, Borneo - which is some praise!
I would love to end this story on this upbeat note and say that of all the places we have ever been and all the meals we have ever eaten - Chilston Park was the winner.
However we had forgotten that this hotel caters for weddings and receptions. It is an old house. One bar and seating area is located at the bottom of the oak staircase below our bedroom. Outside our bedroom window was located one of the reception rooms in which wedding receptions are held - and there was another behind us.
The noise of a singer rose through the floorboards until possibly midnight. This was overtaken by loud laughter and cackling from the bar areas, the receptions, even outside on the drive. Lots of people having lots of fun. Loudly. Until 3 in the morning when we decided to put the light on - give up on sleep and just wait out the night.
We are not killjoys but if you are not involved in the parties and do want to sleep you have to accept that is not going to happen.
Sadly our breakfast in the morning was as spectacular as our dinner the night before. Good service, marvellous choice - amazing.
As we checked out I said to the receptionist we were sad to say we had not managed to sleep because of the noise - we would love to come back but needed to know if we were just unlucky in the choice of our bedroom.
She said it was an old house, all the bedrooms were located within earshot of the reception rooms and bars and so all were the same. She said that when we booked through HandPicked hotels we should have been warned that this was a busy hotel and we may experience noise until the early hours.
My husband cannot remember being told when he booked not to expect to actually sleep!
So sadly - although I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to hold a reception or wedding - you could not pick better - if you are a couple looking for a nice relaxing weekend take earplugs.
We would dearly love to go back but think it would have to be midweek having checked with the hotel itself what was going on first!

Room Tip: If you want to quiet night's sleep you must find out what else is going on at the hotel when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDuchesne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest
It is delighting to read that the vast majority of your stay was an excellent one with many high points. However It is equally disappointing to read that after delivering such a high level of guest care throughout the hotel your stay was so heavily impacted by noise from events taking place at the hotel. Please accept my most sincere apologies for this disappointing aspect of your stay. I will certainly take this feedback on board and ensure that our room allocation procedures are being followed at all times.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Fantastic hotel, and staff, nothing to much trouble, everything was clean, I lay on Queen size bed in the evening and did not want to shut the blinds, as the view was so good, we will be going back as soon as possible with friends to show them all and this time walk around the estate abit more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your wonderful review I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This is quite a difficult hotel to review as in many ways they have it right. The staff are generally warm and friendly and the public areas are pretty spectacular. The hotel is like many country house hotels in that they have rooms in the main house as well as in converted coach houses adjoining. We had a room in the coach house which was a very short step from the reception. First impressions were good, friendly check in although it was slowed down by the receptionist also taking two phone calls while dealing with us. We were offered help with our bags but as there were no stairs, we were happy to carry our own.

Our room, Hawksmoor, had its own front door and faced onto the conference/events building. The room was small but nicely decorated. However it was VERY stuffy. We couldn't open the one opening casement and we discovered that the heated towel rail in the bathroom was switched on with no way to turn it off. We asked reception to get maintenance to deal with the window and in the meantime wedged the front door open to ventilate the room.

We found the standard of maintenance in the bathroom very disappointing. There was a pressed steel bath (how old fashioned) which had big chips out of the enamel, the mixer tap on the basin was free floating, which meant that the pop up waste wouldn't work, and the carpet on the two steps up to the bathroom was loose, constituting a trip hazard.

We were booked in for afternoon tea as soon as we arrived so we headed for the lounge and waited around for 10 minutes until we were spotted and seated. The quality was mixed. The sandwiches were fresh and tasty but the scones seemed quite stale.

Back in our room, the window problem hadn't been fixed so we headed to Lenham for a drink. The room was untouched when we returned later in the evening, so we dug out our trusty desk fan to try to cool the room down. This did have the benefit of masking the noise from the room upstairs, which was considerable, and also from the conference room opposite. I have to say that I think we got off quite lightly on the noise front reading other reviews.

We left a list of issues with reception the following morning and were offered a change of room if they couldn't fix the problems. It was a shame this wasn't offered when we complained the previous day. Breakfast was ok but very slow considering only two tables were occupied.

When we arrived back at the hotel later in the afternoon the heating and ventilation problems and the tap had been fixed so we stayed with the room. We had the table d'hôte menu in the hotel restaurant which we enjoyed - however it was nothing exceptional.

Unfortunately breakfast the next day was quite poor. The service was slow, the black pudding tasted as though it had been deep fried in rancid oil, the bacon was fatty and had white salty residue over the meat and the scrambled eggs were tough. Finally to add insult to injury, the toast was distinctly overdone.

The setting of the hotel is what you would expect with extensive grounds but the noise from the nearby motorway is not conducive to a peaceful and relaxing stroll in the gardens.

We kept comparing our experience to another 4 star country house stay in Suffolk (see my recent reviews) and I'm afraid Chilston Park suffers badly in comparison. We would not return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry that on this occasion your expectations were not met, please accept my apologies. The nature of your review is certainly different to the many positive ones that we regularly receive and naturally I will place a great level of importance upon your feedback with the team. I am aware that the maintenance issues you have mentioned were all addressed prior to your departure from the hotel, though I accept that these should have been picked up prior to the room being let. This is something that will be addressed with my Head Housekeeper directly.
Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Searching for a relaxed but classy venue for our wedding, we visited Chilston Park and were immediately impressed by the beautiful surroundings. We opted for the informal, outdoor courtyard setting with a barbecue and staff could not have done more to create a perfect day, they were amazing, we didn't have to worry about a thing. Our guests loved the food, the ambience and their rooms and a great time was had by all. If you're having a larger more traditional wedding the hotel itself is really beautiful. We can't recommend Chilston Park highly enough, thank you Peter, Kerryn, Andy and Co.!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your special day and that several of our team members played such positive parts in delivering a memorable day to you and your guests.

I very much hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had booked a two night break but on arrival were told that there had been a problem and they did not have a room for us on the second night,the had however booked us in to their sister hotel which was at Brands Hatch.
We thought this can only get better and it certainly did.We were upgraded to The Cromwell Suite which is the largest hotel suite I have seen in the UK.After settling in to the room we went to the lounge for our prebooked afternoon tea.This This was exceptional,served with a glass of champagne.A walk round the beautiful grounds was the ideal thing afterwards.
Breakfast was very leisurely and extremely well cooked my wife had smoked haddock with poached eggs I had eggs benedict .
Great House with wonderful paintings and beautiful rooms.Great staff will return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jwm1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCPH, General Manager at Chilston Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would choose to return to the hotel again in the future.
Best wishes
Gareth Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lenham
7.8 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
8.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#3 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
16.0 mi away
Port Lympne Hotel
Port Lympne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lympne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilston Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilston Park Hotel

Property: Chilston Park Hotel
Address: Boughton Road | Sandway, Lenham ME17 2BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Lenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chilston Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grade 1 listed Chilston Park offers one of the most exclusive hotels in Kent. Set back from tree-lined lanes, the manor house at Chilston Park Hotel in Kent is set in 22 acres of parkland and features a two AA rosette restaurant. One of the most best loved hotels in Kent, over the years Chilston Park has been a home to eminent politicians, writers, Lords and Viscounts. Today it is a classic British country house hotel with plenty of style and charm and one of the most perfect wedding or leisure destinations in Kent. But perhaps the most remarkable aspect of this 4 AA red star hotels in Kent are the antiques and history that surround it. The hotel has many interesting artefacts that date as far back as the 17th century manor house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chilston Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chilston Park Maidstone
Hotel Chilston Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing