We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for an overnight stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for an overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Clean, modern room,friendly staff, bar open until very late!
All you need for a short stay, close to mansion airport and not far from Dover port
Free breakfast an added bonus also free car parking.
Book in advance for a bargain

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costahotshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for leaving this kind review. I will share it with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    203
    106
    28
    22
See reviews for
139
190
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We decided to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Ramsgate so we could get an early start to Dover ferry on the Monday morning. When we arrived we were met by two members of staff at the check in desk who were polite and very helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and a good nights sleep was had by all. We asked what time breakfast started and were told it was about 6.30am, unfortunately we had to be away for 6am, we felt this was reasonable but were told that the croissants may be out at this time and just to grab what we wanted. There is a very nice pub across the road where we got a very nice meal. We had carvery and we were told to get as much as we wanted. It was lovely!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for leaving this kind review. I will share it with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed one night,booked on net,only paid£54 .very clean friendly staff,only a buffet breakfast but good enough for price,wouldn't want to pay full price.good location for travelling round Kent coastal areas

Room Tip: Sorry ,no pool or fitness centre,couldn't cancel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwarneresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back.
I will share this with the team
D Otteson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel which is very typical of the Holiday Inn Express brand, very clean and comfortable rooms and very helpful staff.
I guess my real complaint about Holiday Inn Express' is why the Housekeeping staff don't check that everything is in working order after each guest checks out - the manager had to try and get the air conditioning working by using a swipe card as the switch was broken (I used a pair of scissors) and even then it wasn't that satisfactory and the hair dryer didn't work either although we were able to borrow one from Reception.
The breakfast bar was well supplied during our stay but who decided that sausages were a better option than bacon?
The real plus point is that there is now a restaurant over the road and the 'Golden Arches' too!

Room Tip: If you want a room for 3 people always telephone direct to ICH Group as often they have rooms not ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sysolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back. I'm sorry we do not serve bacon.
I will share this with the team
D Otteson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here on 31st August as a place to sleep after a friend's birthday party, so it really was just a place to rest my head. That said, I did spend a few hours in the room before the party.

Apart from a rather stained carpet, the room seemed clean and I was pleasantly surprised at its size. The bed was comfy and the labelled 'soft' and 'hard' pillows was a nice touch. The staff I spoke to were helpful.

A few minor details let things down, though, and prevented me from awarding 4 stars. Even if the breakfast is 'free' (included, surely?), the omission of bacon in a cooked breakfast is unforgiveable! While the scrambled eggs, sausages and beans were nice enough, the lack of bacon meant that the cooked breakfast I had been looking forward to was a disappointment.

To me, the other unforgiveable omission was the lack of Radio 4 among the Radio channels! Radio 1-3 were all there, so why not 4?

It may seem picky, but attenion to details like that makes all he difference!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareOz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back.
I will share this with the team
D Otteson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.O.Sea
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn May 2013 on our way to Italy,ideal for a nights stopover as we were catching the ferry at Dover the next morning to Calais which was about 20 minutes drive away.The hotel room was very clean which was on the ground floor,there is a road near the hotel but could not hear it.The evening meal was good,breakfast was o`k plentiful,did lack bacon but the bangers were o`k good variety cereals toast jams.Overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 429eugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for leaving this kind review. I will share it with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Asked for a non-smoking room. As soon as I left the lift was hit by a strong unpleasant smell of stale cigarette smoke, which only intensified on entering the corridor to my room, hence the smoke had penetrated the room when the door opened and closed. A non smoking room policy is impossible to maintain with this regime.

Breakfast - Cutlery found to be dirty at breakfast – I also observed the tables being cleared and ‘cleaned’ by using a used serviette left by a vacating guest. There were no pleasantries exchanged by the waiting on staff. There was obviously an issue with replenishing the bread, egg etc. containers. People were left standing whilst it took unacceptable lengths of time to replenish them.

Bedroom very noisy - Constant loud revving noise day and night from unknown source – mentioned this at Reception and was told it could be an air conditioning unit from an adjacent room – no effort put into actually finding out what caused the noise – didn’t care at all attitude. I could not open the window during the night due to the high volume of noise from the heavy constant traffic.

Would never stay here again. There is a lovely Premier Inn over the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. we are currently phasing out all smoking rooms in the hotel.
David Otteson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
3.5 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Property: Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Address: Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate > Minster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Kent's Award winning Hotel. Serving Thanet with 105 contemporary en-suite bedrooms, 3 conference suites and Bar and Restaurant. Located on the site of the Prospect Inn featured in many WWII films. The Place to "Meet, Eat and Sleep" in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Hotel Ramsgate
Holiday Inn Ramsgate
Ramsgate Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing