We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in a Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First time in a Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed one night Friday 16 August 2013 to visit relatives in the area. Thought everything about the hotel was very pleasant. The inclusive 'continental breakfast' was brilliant. There was fruit, toast, lovely little danish pastries (and probably croissants - which I dislike), cereal, yogurts and scrambled egg, beans and sausages, as well as tea and coffee. We had two rooms which were close together and very quiet.

We normally stay at Premier Inns but will definitely consider Holiday Inn Express's in the future.

Room Tip: We were on the front near the road, but with the window shut and the air conditioning on, could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review
We will share this with all the team.
D Otteson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    211
    109
    30
    22
See reviews for
144
198
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is located near the aviation museum , near Manston airport and close to Ramgaste .The hotel is clean and I must highlight that the staff is very friendly. I would say it is ok for a night or two but it is a bit sad when you stay for a week as I did . An improved lobby deco would help . The breakfast is included in the price of the room but is not great at all , the quality of eggs and sausage can definately be improved .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rv0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back.
D Otteaon- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Ramsgate for the second time whilst visiting the Kent coast.

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and given our room card. The room was at the rear of the property as requested and clean and tidy. The bathroom was spotless and had everything we needed. The only small criticism is the shower curtain. A shower door would have been much nicer. The rooms are quite small and basic but this is reflected in the price.

We had dinner at the Table Table restaurant attached to the Premier Inn opposite. The food was typical pub grub.

Breakfast in the morning was of a good standard, and especially good value as it is included in the price. There was plenty of choice even though the restaurant was full. Everything was replenished as soon as needed.

We would certainly stay at the Holiday Inn Express Ramsgate again if in the area and just wanting somewhere to lay our heads for the night.

Room Tip: A room at the back is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your feed back.
D Otteaon- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We regularly stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels in the Canterbury area when taking our son back to University. We find the pricing of each one variable depending on demand, and we stayed here in June because it was the cheapest. It is a 20 minute drive into Canterbury down pleasant country lanes and back roads. The interior is much better aesthetically than the Canterbury and Channel Tunnel Express hotels which are nearby, but unfortunately the breakfast here was terrible compared to the others. Stay here when the other two hotels are overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raindrop_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back.
D Otteaon- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

OK we stayed at the Holiday Inn as we just needed a one night b&b and we know what to expect from Holiday Inn Express. However on turning up we found it to be very untidy outside. It is a shame as this has a lovely Art Deco aspect. I know it gets very breezy in this part of the world but it wouldn't hurt to run a broom around! The room itself was comfortable, clean and quiet, but that was because it was partially submerged behind a bunker, which is probably as well as it is situated next to a busy dual-carriageway. No view here! I think Holiday Inn have given up on trying to compete with the Premier Inn over the road where we enjoyed an evening meal. Breakfast was a sad affair. There was a limited choice of hot food - sausage, scrambled egg and baked beans. The dead flower on the table really says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your feed back.
D Otteaon- GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Working in the area for two weeks, this hotel is great, location wise. That is about all it has that is great. The room itself is bog standard, which is fine, I don't stay here for the luxury experience, I stay in Holiday Inns because they are generally clean, cheap (work pays and has a limit), good service, and decent food. Unfortunately I can't say those things about this hotel.

I'm writing this review prior to even staying the night yet. I'm writing from the reception area, which is the only area that has wifi. There is no service in any of the rooms. No phone, no laptop, nothing. Glad I chose this place for my work week away, seeing as I can't do any work other than in the reception area. It's may have been stated somewhere on the website, I certainly did not see it. What I did see, was the fact they serve dinner IN the hotel, which is a main reason I choose a place, so that after a long work day and an early wake up the following day, I like to eat in the hotel and not have to travel around. As I asked if I needed to book in for dinner, I was looked at like I had three heads, and was told they do not serve dinner anymore here. I mentioned the website said the hotel serves dinner, and was told very nonchalantly "well it shouldn't say that". Oh, ok...?

So, thinking I will go to my room and check the website to see, I soon realise there is no wifi and call reception to ask if there is a code. Again, I believe by the same person, was answered in a very blasé and blunt attitude that there is only wifi in the reception. Ok, fair enough, so I go up to reception and sit in the vast empty DINING ROOM that is the reception area I open the wifi and then the web page. Mind you, this is the web page that opens IMMEDIATELY after accepting the wifi, and on the DINING page, I see exactly what I saw when I booked "Linger over breakfast or an afternoon snack in the Art Deco Great Room, where the 270-degree windows show off the surrounding Kent countryside. During the week, enjoy a hearty 3-course dinner, choosing from our tasty menu of international favourites". That is COPIED AND PASTED directly from the website as I sit here on a Tuesday (which fits the "during the week" criteria) looking out the 270-degree views of the countryside, which is a view of the main road, no "countryside" in sight.

I then bring this to the attention of the manager, with my iPad in hand to show her the web page, and again I am met with a blank stare and a response of "oh, it shouldn't say that". And that's the end of the conversation on her end. I tell her I'm very unhappy with this and the wifi situation and the response is "sorry". And that's that.

If I wasn't exhausted I'd walk out and stay at the Premier Inn across the road which looks MILES nicer from the outside (this place looks like a dump from the outside) and again, NOTHING like the pictures in the website. But what I will be doing is spending my money there tonight for dinner and for the remainder of my work week this and next week I will be spending my money to stay and dine there as well.

This really is a shame because I do stay at Holiday Inns for work when traveling and for the majority of times I have a nice experience, I cannot say that for this place and will never stay here again and recommend that if you're reading this, you look elsewhere as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We have all read and discussed this. D Otteson Gen Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel is well located and value for money. The hotel is good for a one night stay and whilst busy was surprisingly quiet. We ate in the restaurant next door, the food was OK and reasonably priced. There is plenty of parking

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin0235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We all look forward to seeing you at the hotel in the future. D Otteson Gen Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
313 reviews
4.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
5.0 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
516 reviews
4.7 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Property: Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Address: Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate > Minster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Kent's Award winning Hotel. Serving Thanet with 105 contemporary en-suite bedrooms, 3 conference suites and Bar and Restaurant. Located on the site of the Prospect Inn featured in many WWII films. The Place to "Meet, Eat and Sleep" in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Hotel Ramsgate
Holiday Inn Ramsgate
Ramsgate Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing