We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Damn good value, useful location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Nethen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Damn good value, useful location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I'm not one for staying in chains but I like this place. Not just value for money but very well run and organised. Staff have always been courteous and efficient. Free parking, 2 mile stroll to train station on the Canterbury-Ramsgate line. Breakfast usually good, sausages are excellent and locally sourced. Dog friendly too. I never knew the second floor had smoking rooms so if that bothers you, specify the ground floor, all good there.

Room Tip: Second floor apparently has some smoking rooms - sensitive noses beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NethenBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
This has been shared with all the team.
David Otteson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    203
    106
    28
    22
See reviews for
139
190
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Ocean
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights recently. The hotel doesn't look much from the outside but inside it is very welcoming. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Parking is secure and free. Our room was very clean and the beds super comfortable, we slept very well the whole week. A bonus for us was the free breakfast which was unexpected. Free wi-fi in the reception area was also very welcome for us.
Laura the receptionist also deserves a mention as we needed an extra night and she was able to arrange this for us. We will certainly try to use Holiday Inn Express again if possible as they knock the spots off Travelodge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feed back. I will share this with all the team.
David Otteson
Gen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights and of all the Holiday Inn (1) and Expresses (4) we stayed in on our holiday, this was the best one. We had a nice large quiet room, plenty of shelving and they had a really useful luggage trolley so we could bring in all our luggage at one go which was a really good start. The hotel must be complimented on their breakfast which we found out is sourced locally and with pride and care. Good chef as the cooked breakfast was excellent as was the toast and this definitely exceeded the others, or any other, we have stayed in, so well done. You can tell that the manager/duty manager runs a good team well...it shows. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Laura the receptionist.Also, on the day of the air show there, with all roads blocked for miles around she walked 8 miles from home to get to work....that's dedication!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Marpa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your feed back. I will share this with all the team.
David Otteson
Gen Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The holiday inn express is not a hotel but a first class motel which is ideal for an overnight stop. What more can you want? Secure parking, clean room, friendly and helpful staff, and all this for £40. Unexpectedly we had a very pleasant buffet breakfast with fresh produce included in the price. We will certainly use them again for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benpipick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back.
We look forward to seeing you again.
David Otteson
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

For £52 a night for a family room with breakfast, in a modern and very clean room! We have stayed here now about 6 times and all in all for the price we could not do better in this area!

The place inside is more appealing than the outside, but if they spent a bit of time and effort on external appearances it would be time well spent! Limited car parking to the front mainly due to the poor parking of other guests, who seem to want to take up two spaces; in addition there is plenty of blue badge parking which are widely used by guests with no blue badges! Larger car park to the rear which is in danger of being overrun by the bushes and trees.....bit of grounds maintenance needed please!

Breakfast was adequate as there was issues do the local water main breaking, resulting in the waterboard switching the supply off in the early morning, resulting in no water in the morning to wash etc.....not the end of the world, though annoying we asked directions to a local sports centre where we were able to shower etc. On return to the Hotel later, there were two particular very unhappy couples berating the reception staff over the lack of water and blaming them for all the ill's in the World! Though the lack of water was totally out of the control of the Hotel, these people would not leave it and why they think that they can talk to people like that is beyond me......it was embarrassing; I would have liked to have seen them react in a proper emergency!

Having stayed here a few times the rooms to the rear are quieter and avoid the rooms near the entrance. Other than that for the money you should have a good stay here!

Room Tip: Not near the main entrance way
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinone16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feed back. This has been shared with all the team who appreciate your comments.
D Otteson Gen Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night before we got our ferry the next day
Clean and tidy place ,room was clean and bed was comfy
Staff were very attentive and guided us to the town centre
Didn't stay for breakfast as we had to leave early so we went to McDonald's

Shopping centre not far away with a variety of shops to cater for all needs and restraunts and fast food eateries

Recomend the spitfire museum a short drive away

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ni55an23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give feed back. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again.
D Otteson Gen Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Busier than we expected on a Sunday night the room was standard "...Lodge" type layout with few bonuses save for the choice of firm or soft pillow, as there were two of us we had to decide who had which.
Bathroom clean and adequate with plenty of towels but only a shower (no tub). I like the clever door design which separates the WC from the rest of the bathroom.
Breakfast plentiful and fresh with good selection toast, pastries, cereals, fruit, jams, sausages and scrambled eggs, tea/coffee, juices etc all from machine but all perfectly as b/fast is described as 'complimentary' and certainly better than you get at other motel-type establishments of similar price.
Handy for Manston airport - you can see the planes land as you take breakfast - Canterbury, Sandwich and the Thanet seaside - overall very pleased at £49 for two!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMKIA, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
3.5 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Margate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster

Property: Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
Address: Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate > Minster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East Kent's Award winning Hotel. Serving Thanet with 105 contemporary en-suite bedrooms, 3 conference suites and Bar and Restaurant. Located on the site of the Prospect Inn featured in many WWII films. The Place to "Meet, Eat and Sleep" in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster Hotel Ramsgate
Holiday Inn Ramsgate
Ramsgate Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing