We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Minster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Rochester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Friendly staff nice pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

The staff were friendly and the Ploughman's lunch very nice. In the evening a nice place to sit and chat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomcathandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    27
    5
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly Village Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We do not eat out regularly, generally special occasions where there are 15+ and so tend to go to the "chain" restaurants such as The Hungry Horse, which I have to say we enjoy. On this occasion with only six of us we decided to look for a local restaurant that was not "pre prepared" food. We found The Bell Inn Minster through Trip advisor and thought we would give it a whirl. From the moment we walked into the bar the staff made us feel very welcome. We were able to open a tab at the bar and they did not rush us through to our table. We enjoyed a drink at the bar and then the waiter showed us to our table in the quaint and country design restaurant. The menu had something for all at very reasonable prices. Our waiter was very attentive without being overbearing, starters came out promptly and were delicious. With the exception of one we all ordered steaks all cooked differently with our choice of sauce, all came out as requested. I have avoided steak at many of the "chain" restaurants as they tend to be chewy and tough but this just melted in the mouth. The dessert menu gave you a choice of something traditional and something a little more upmarket, again something for everyone. We enjoyed the homely atmosphere and decor back in the bar after the meal too. A good selection of wine but I am biased there as they served my favourite. We will definitely eat there again. Thank you to all of the staff there for a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annette1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Plain, well cooked and inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

The Bell Inn serves food which is plain, well cooked and inexpensive. Service was prompt, friendly and very efficient. At one end of the pub is an area set aside for dining, with table cloths (unusual in a pub), and our order was taken at the table – although we could have ordered at the bar if we preferred. The menu had a reasonable choice and, although fairly basic, was superior to the usual chips and burgers that is the staple of many pubs. Our bill, for two mains, two desserts and drinks came to £26 which was very reasonable. There is a good atmosphere in the pub which, on a Tuesday evening, wasn’t crowded but there was a good sprinkling of locals. The Bell has it’s own car park so parking is easy.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flatters to deceive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The pub setting looked good, but the staff seemed very diffident about taking our order. The food was very ordinary and took a long time to arrive.There are better 'eateries' elsewhere, even in a small village like Minster. We left without feeling we wanted to go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and nice atmosphere x”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Both my husband and I could not fault the service or food. It was delicious! The atmosphere was friendly and we felt at home. Would definitely recommend !!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 
Minster, Ramsgate
Minster, Ramsgate
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing