We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the Premier Inn's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best of the Premier Inn's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed here with fam, wife & 2 kids. Chose it over Margate because has Air con which we need in summer.
Was clean, easy auto check-in, good carpark facility, provided cot, really good value for money.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aharonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    169
    46
    11
    6
See reviews for
237
220
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Booked into this premier inn as a base for a stay in kent to see canterbury and local area. Clearly a brand new inn, as ever cleanliness and room quality were exemplary, however i think teathing problems are the best way to sum up our stay. There never seemed to be anyone on the reception desk. when we arived and an assistant did finally come over they were quite insistant that we used the "self check in" something i am not a fan of they are impersonal and remove the human element. Plus if youve waited for an assistant you clearly want to check in at the desk.

The air con in one of the rooms of our party was extremley noisey and kept them awake. granted this was rectified by moving rooms and refunded the cost but was not as smooth as any problems are usually delt with.

A little more staff training is in order and maybe little more willingness to actually man the desk. Two other small niggleing points are There are no shaver points in the bathroom and toilet roll has been replaced with a despencer not very welcomeing.

the sevice at the onsite restaurant a table table (smugglers retreat) was excellent and staff where helpful and polite. The downside here was the food, as other reviews have stated. Waiting times were excessive, food quality was poor, ordered a spring veg risotto with a chicken brest. The risotto looked like a packet savory rice and was hardly delicious, the chicken brest was practically cremated and had the texture of leather. I dont expect world class cheifs but if you cant cook chicken they really dont get a job in a kitchen!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rafarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

A brand new Premier Inn situated 5-6 miles outside Ramsgate on an isolated site next to a garage / Co-op store and adjacent to Manston Airport. (No noise problems as all rooms are fully sealed with triple glazing and equipped wth excellent aircon (no fresh air though).

The hotel is ideally positioned for visiting (by car) the Kent coast towns of Whitstable, Broadstairs, Margate, Ramsgate, Sandwich, Deal etc. The hotel is connected to the fancifully named 'Smugglers Rest' Table Table restaurant which offers a good range of food / drinks but see comments below!. Everything is brand new including the staff which is where the problem lies!

We stayed for 3 nights.
Upon arrival three cleaners were berating their manager(?) in a public place about not knowing their shift end time. Not for our ears I'm sure.

Day 1. Towels only left for one person but the bath towel of the previous occupant was still hanging on the back of the bathroom door! Headboard lights not working. Reported to reception at 9.00 am. Lots of apologies etc. Upon return at 6 o'clock no change despite the room having been serviced!! Back to reception who blamed Housekeeping & the Electrician. Lots more apologies and shortly another set of towels arrived.

Breakfasts. No brown bread. Juices low. No fruit salad., No side plates. Had to ask for coffee machine to emptied of grounds so that it would function. Porridge was ordered on one occasion but it didi not arrive. When questioning the waiter as to its whereabouts he merely said that he had passed the order to the kitchen & it was my responsibilty to keep reminding him that I was still waiting!!! I think not.

Dinners - Side order of salad ordered at dinner did not arrive. Compensated by waitress. On a separate occcasion we waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken, a further 30 minutes for the starter to arrive and another 25 mins for the main course. When we complained the waiter said 'we are busy'. That much we had established in our very long wait. Fortunately Howard the restaurant manager (one of few bright stars at this location) came to the rescue when it came to settling the bill. Well done Howard.

Rooms numbers 140+ are situated above the kitchens and are best avoided due to disturbance from slamming doors in the kitchen during service times, and sometimes overnight.

In summary this will be great venue if & when the staff training issues are resolved. There is a distinct 'silo' mentality developing where it is believed that if another section is blamed (Housekeeping, Kitchen, Restaurant etc) that makes it OK for the customer. It needs checking before it spreads any further. Oh and two of the three bitters ran out at the bar - could it get any worse!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms numbered 140 and above due to noise from the kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CandidReviewer444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

The best Premier Inn I have stayed in! It was very clean, modern and well kept.
One of it's best points was the do-it-yourself check in, we simply had to enter the card we had paid with and we were given a key for each person and a receipt, much quicker than traditional check-in! The room was very clean, quiet and the beds were very comfy. Breakfast also did not disappoint, all you can eat cooked breakfast, fruit, cereal, drinks and more for £7.99 and free for children under 16.
I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Audreyhepburn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Having stayed at the Hastings Premier inn recently, we were expecting a similar experience. The staff generally seemed friendly and wanting to please but the overall impression was that they didn't have a clue. This may not be suprising considering that the place has only been open for a couple of weeks but I'd have expected staff to have been trained and supported by experienced staff.

The hotel itself is new and therefore generally in topnotch condition (albeit a generic place with a lack of character). I'd booked a family room for us (2 adults, 1 3 year old) and was therefore suprised when we walked into the smallest room on the floor, with the 3rd bed squeezed between the window and the main bed. We also had trouble with the toilet leaking and not draining (i.e. filling to the top with water before slowly draining away) which the staff didn't seem able to deal with.

But the big issue for us was the restaurant. It was chaos! Obviously the opening of a new place to eat had attracted the locals and the staff simply couldn't cope, particularly at the bar. Wed and Thur night there we were repeatedly told they were having problems as there was only one person behind the bar. We got some of our orders twice, others not at all and everything was generally late.

I suspect that in a few weeks/months, everything will sort itself out but I'd avoid the place in the meantime. Once the staff get some experience it could be a good place - its position makes it ideal for visiting Ramsgate/Margate/ Broadstairs/Sandwich

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scotty_n_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minster
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
4.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pegwell Bay Hotel
Pegwell Bay Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
4.7 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
4.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel
Address: Tothill Street, Minster, Ramsgate CT12 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Ramsgate > Minster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the popular seaside towns of Ramsgate and Margate, just a hop from the city of Canterbury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Ramsgate (Manston Airport) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ramsgate Hotel Minster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing