We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday Night Fish & Chips”
Review of Archie's

Archie's
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Minster
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Fish & Chips
Isle of Thanet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friday Night Fish & Chips”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Having a Northerner in the family - fish & chips has to have haddock without skin, unlike us Southerners who don't mind the skin, which gratefully Archie's has, and the fish was very good & we didn't have to wait, but the batter was greasy & not very crisp, chips were ok, although a few weren't cooked enough for my liking. Overall okay.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GroovyOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    13
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We used to come here regularly and it was always very nice but last time we were disappointed. The fish was really really greasy.. And the chips were dry and seemed like they'd been hanging around a while. We will come back in a few weeks maybe and give it one last chance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hidden little gem”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Margate on holiday but couldn't really find any sort down restaurants which did good old fashioned fish and chips, so had a look on trip advisor in local Ramsgate. This little placecame up highly rated and we can definitely see why.
The fish and chips here are amazing - nice, fresh, piping hot fish with great tasting chips, hearty portions and all for a great price. The staff were lovely and so helpful.This is a lovely little restaurant with a nice atmosphere - they were even nice enough to let us bring or own booze.
If youre in the area, you have to stop by - highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Thanet”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

There isn’t really a lot to say apart from that this chip shop is the best in Thanet. They do all of the normal things you would expect and the their portions are generous. We go every week and shall continue to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateinKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic value and friendly service”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked a table at Archie's for a birthday night out with the girls - it's BYO and no corkage, so of course nothing goes with a fish and chip supper better than a few bottles of champagne...
Can't recommend this place highly enough - great service, value and they were too polite to ask us to leave! Thanks lads, you made our night!
(I should add that we DID leave...)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archie's also viewed

 
Minster, Ramsgate
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Archie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing