We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right choice...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Wanted somewhere to stay overnight whilst visiting friends it was either this one or Travelodge on junction 10, so glad we picked this one. Paid £47.50 bed & breakfast bargain. Check-in was quick and efficient, ate in the restaurant immediately as they were stop serving, whilst waiting for food to arrive took cases to room but of a walk to say the least room of a good standard clean, tidy and good amenities bathroom consisted of wash basin toilet and shower, tea/coffee facilities available, flat screen tv and free WiFi the only thing that let this hotel down was the bed and pillows it was more comfortable sleeping with feet towards headboard. Anyway back to the restaurant ordered starter (sharing platter), I had the pork, blacklisting with mash potatoes with peppercorn sauce (quite hot), wife had beef in red wine it came like two pieces of steak and they exchanged the mash for chips food dwell presented fresh looking and tasted superb and really good value all this food and two drinks for less than £40 unbelievable. Breakfast up to the standard of the previous evenings meal choice of juices, cereals, toast and cooked breakfast. Staff friendly, polite all areas of hotel spotless and clean, will definitely stay in this hotel again when in the area, you would have got 5* apart from the bed. Excellent location right on junction 11 of M42.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebboboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 506 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Booked through Expedia for a reasonable rate. No way of requesting an accessible room and emailed hotel twice to request one but got no reply so rang up in the end. Well appointed room with good facilities and walk in shower. Had a meal in reception area cum restaurant,reasonable meal with staff coping well with the drunk at the bar. Quiet night's sleep considering it is close to the main road. Breakfast was ok. Quite a good choice but asked for fresh eggs as those on the hot plate were a bit tired. No problem. Mandarin oranges and prunes as fruit choices were a bit odd. Choice of 6 pre packed cereals .....good times....... 4 of the 6 choices out of date on the packs ......bad times. Anyway apart from that it was good value and would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulJ010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Reminiscent of BW's in the States..being just a few yards from the M42...thus easy to find.
Approach was through pretty grounds . very nice and spacious reception area with welcoming staff.
Our room was clean and light..so far so good

however then a coach party arrived (Convenient location but!) and we were subject to a couple of hours of unacceptable noise.....would have complained at that stage but reception was busy

when we returned late evening all was quiet and we enjoyed a peaceful nights rest....breakfast was fine...

so overall a mixed experience.......which would have been improved if the hotel had had the foresight to put us in a room away from the 2 coach parties

Room Tip: see my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry187047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. We are a 95 bed roomed hotel and some weekends we do also have coaches stay with us. They do usually have a private dining area but we also had a private function that evening in our large conference room so both coaches had to dine within our main restaurant. We always allocate the coaches an early dining time so the individual guests are able to enjoy their dining experience. I am sorry that you felt that the restaurant was noisy for a period of time but when the hotel is full this sometimes happens due to the open plan areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is in the process of having some rooms refurbished but overall it's a bit of a cross between a Premier Inn and Holiday In Express in style and room size. As others have said the staff were very friendly and helpful and the evening food in the restaurant was home cooked and good value for money.

Far better than you get in the chain pubs attached to Premier Inns however breakfast, whilst hot and fresh the morning we stayed wasn't 'buffet style' due to the numbers so came out of the kitchen poorly presented. The plate was too small for the amount of food 'piled' on but the quality was fine.

The single electric heater in the room was barely adequate though as it was very cold outside

Room Tip: Book an Executive Room for more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C6Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted the team delivered good customer service and were friendly. I am sorry that your breakfast was poorly presented and was not served on an adequate sized plate. The next time you visit you will see this issue has been rectified. Due to our green footprint and not to waste energy, our room heaters and electrics operate with a key card. Once this has been removed from the internal slot the heating and lights switch off automatically. We would advise our guests to get an additional key card cut so when they leave the room the heating stays on during the colder months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located, clean and welcoming. The food was ok for the price. The room I was allocated had either just been painted or varnished or something had been dropped on the floor. The smell was overpowering and there were no suitable alternativ rooms they could offer as they were fully booked.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applebypark, General Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

I am really sorry that you experienced a smell in your room and we were not able to move you to another room due to the hotel being busy. I have been informed it was silicon by our maintenance team. I hope that this incident does not stop you from paying us a visit when you are next in the area. Thank you for your kind comments about our friendly team and the cleanliness of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby Magna
7.5 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,354 reviews
9.0 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,719 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
6.6 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
451 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Coalville
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Appleby Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Appleby Park Hotel

Address: M42/Junction 11 - A444 Atherstone Road, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England (Formerly Aspect Hotel Tamworth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Price Range: $63 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Appleby Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, just off Junction 11 of the M42 is perfectly located on the outskirts of Tamworth, midway between Birmingham and Nottingham, and 10 miles/14km from Drayton Manor. The NEC is just 14 miles away.Do business with a choice of 5 flexible meeting rooms with all the latest equipment and complimentary wireless internet access and free parking.The Appleby Park Hotel is located amongst some of the best fun filled attractions in the country including Drayton Manor Theme Park, Twycross Zoo and Conkers. Family and interconnecting rooms are available making us the ideal choice for your family break.Relaxed and informal, The Park Restaurant offers tempting dishes cooked to perfection with light meals and snacks served in the lounge bar throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Appleby Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tamworth
Tamworth Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing