We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK to sleep, but not eat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Art check in, girl on reception gave no welcome and was not at all friendly. Double room was OK for me, but for 2 would be far too small, and bed very soft.However, it was clean. Dinner was poor. The pate was thick and nasty with just 2 tiny slices of french bread and the dessert, a chocolate mousse, was terrible, with the crunch of sugar being heard with every mouthfull. The room for the price is very good value, but food is overpriced for the quality. I have stayed in many Best Westerns before, but this has been the worst by far.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applebypark, Front Office Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. The issues you have raised are definately not the standards we aspire to. I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 494 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had a "Premier" room on the east side of the hotel for one night. The room was comfortable and quiet with no traffic noise. Breakfast was served between 0730 and 0930. Arriving in the restaurant at 0905hrs there were 4 other customers present. The food had apparently been on the hot plate for a long time and was looking not too appetising . The coffee was barely warm and the fried eggs were like rubber. The staff should have been more attentive to the situation. Had we been there at 0730 I suppose things would have been different. However 0905 should have been ok. When booking, I had clicked "gluten free" on the form but no g/f bread was available.
Hope things are better if we call there again.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra, hopefully you will get a slightly larger room on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applebypark, Front Office Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay here at Appleby Park Hotel.

I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Breakfast is served between the hours of 7am and 9.30am and the items should be replenished on a regular basis and by your comments i understand this was not the case. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope to see you back soon so we are able to demonstrate the standards we aspire too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Eastgate Shopping Centre in Basildon recently organised a two night stay at Best Western, Appleby Magna for just under 50 Normandy Veterans, all in their late eighties or nineties, and their carers, a visit to the National Memorial Arboretum being the destination.
From the first time that I started dealing with the hotel, I received excellent customer service to make what could be a difficult job very easy. Upon arrival we were greeted with warmth and efficiency that enabled us to be checked into our rooms effortlessly. Our first night's hot buffet carvery was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed by the party, and the rooms gained similar top marks from the guests.
Following a more-than-adequate breakfast and the visit itself, we held a gala dinner in a room adjacent to the restaurant, the menu being a choice of three starters, main courses and desserts. Once again, top marks for the food ensued and excellent, informal but ecceptionally friendly service made this evening a truly memorable one for the party.
I would certainly recommend anyone wanting the type of stay that we did to look no further than this hotel. It is less than thirty minutes drive from the National Memorial Arboretum itself and, with the hundredth anniversary of 1914 together with the seventieth anniversary of numerous other occasions relating to World War 2 set for next year, it could be ideal for groups such as ours with something to commemorate.
But what really put the icing on the cake for me was the attention to detail and wonderful service of the staff who made life so easy for me as tour organiser. Moreover, they ensured that we were able to accomplish everything at top-value rates. I should in particular like to congratulate and thank Sarah Powers at the hotel for her help over several weeks. The round of applause from the guests at the end of our gala dinner for Sarah and the team was so richly deserved.

Room Tip: They all seemed perfect to this group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qualhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applebypark, Front Office Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Appleby Park Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure serving you and your guests throughout the duration of your stay.

I am delighted that all your guests enjoyed their stay and i will personally pass on your kind comments to all the team involved.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Polite efficient staff. Good clean comfortable bedroom and bathroom. Good food. Great location for touring, close to Warwick Coventry Leicester, lovely country villages. Good eating places very close by.

Room Tip: 105 was quiet and convenient on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraR389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applebypark, Front Office Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Appleby Park Hotel. We hope to welcome you back when you are visiting the area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A good location depending on where you want to be, good room and facilities.

Just what you need when you want resonable value facilities and the assurance of a comfortable night.

As with most hotels of this type I want non descript if it means no horrors or problems

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrussellgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Applebypark, Front Office Manager at Best Western Appleby Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your comments. It is through feedback such as yours that enables us to grow and improve both the quality and the service that we provide in the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This isn't a 5* hotel, but what it does, it does very well.
Comfortable, clean, spacious, quiet rooms. Lovely food. Ideal location for visiting Warwick and Twycross Zoo. No complaints at all!

My only criticism would be the fact that the front reception doors open directly into the restaurant. Can get a little chilly.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandelionMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just stayed for 1 night, ideal for what I needed, travelling on to Birmingham from Nottingham. The staff was helpful in all areas. The Wi-Fi was okay, the hotel gives you a password etc and it states on the paper that there is a charge, there is not. The Restaurant is open and lacks atmosphere but there are some large TV's in the same areas. The food in the evening was a bit bland, I had DB & B for £69 so overall the value was okay. Service was good. The night’s sleep was very good, my room was out the back, large and comfortable. Breakfast was in the same eating area as for dinner, self service which was okay, food okay, could not understand why no butter was being offered for toast etc.
I would stay here again for business but not somewhere for a holiday base.

Room Tip: The post code is not where the hotel is located, so bear this in mind. If not you will end up passin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appleby Magna
7.5 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,291 reviews
9.0 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,696 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tamworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coalville
121 reviews
6.6 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
444 reviews
14.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Appleby Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Appleby Park Hotel

Address: M42/Junction 11 - A444 Atherstone Road, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England (Formerly Aspect Hotel Tamworth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Appleby Magna
Price Range: $62 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Appleby Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel, just off Junction 11 of the M42 is perfectly located on the outskirts of Tamworth, midway between Birmingham and Nottingham, and 10 miles/14km from Drayton Manor. The NEC is just 14 miles away.Do business with a choice of 5 flexible meeting rooms with all the latest equipment and complimentary wireless internet access and free parking.The Appleby Park Hotel is located amongst some of the best fun filled attractions in the country including Drayton Manor Theme Park, Twycross Zoo and Conkers. Family and interconnecting rooms are available making us the ideal choice for your family break.Relaxed and informal, The Park Restaurant offers tempting dishes cooked to perfection with light meals and snacks served in the lounge bar throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Appleby Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Tamworth
Tamworth Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing