We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Appleby Inn Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$64
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$208
$172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Hotel(Ashby de la Zouch)(Great Value!)
$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Court(Ashby de la Zouch)
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Millers Hotel(Nuneaton)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa(Market Bosworth)
$108
$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Gungate(Tamworth)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Tamworth Central(Tamworth)(Great Value!)
$45
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
65
45
15
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
65
45
15
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspub foodwaitress servicemassive portionstwycross zoolonger journeytype foodlovely mealplenty of parkingnice sizeflat screen tvrooms are largethe wi ficheck in was quickexcellent value for moneyfull englishovernight stopgreat room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 135 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. They were very accommodating and allowed us into the room at 11.30 so we could change.
The room was of a decent size and spotless. It had everything we needed and was perfect for the night.
Staff friendly and breakfast quite acceptable.
All this for the princely sum of £50!
Highly recommended for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello and thank your for your kind feedback with your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us at the Appleby Inn Hotel. We accommodate a lot of guests for functions that are held either with ourselves at the Appleby Inn or in the surrounding area. When providing accommodation for such events, especially weddings, we understand that there is a time scale you have to adhere to, we are only to happy to arrange early check ins or additional services when possible. All of this helps and adds to somebody's special day. This attention to detail and flexibility is one of the things we feel helps us stand out as a hotel, little adjustments to suit guests can be of such convenience.
We are glad you found us good value for money again when attending weddings we do not feel you should have to pay over the odds for the event and aim to be as competitive as possible.
Thank you for your recommendation and your review once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Modernish motel with extensive eating facilities.

They looked after me well, room fine, meal fine, very helpful when it came to storing my bicycle, and would use again.

Seemed to be used by locals as well as travellers like me.

Breakfast good too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieranWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello and thank you for your kind feedback.
We aim to make every guest feel welcome and at ease when visiting us here at the Appleby Inn Hotel, whether it be one of our many repeat customers or people just passing through on a single visit.
We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast we offer all our guests the chance to start their day with a choice of waitress served breakfasts all included in the room cost. Our restaurant we believe is one of our strongest amenities, a good value delicious meal on the premises is of much convenience to our guests, we are glad you found this the case.
As for storing your bicycle we understand that it must give guests peace of mind to know that we will endeavour to help them with any requests, wants or needs they have. We will do all possible to help guests that require an extra service such as yourself with the storing of your bicycle.
Once again we thank you for your custom and your subsequent review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

What can l say my husband and l stay @ the Appleby Inn when we go to Donnington Park, always a friendly welcome, nothing is to much trouble even change the times of breakfast so that we don't miss any of the action at the track :-). We always eat on an evening in the pub food is freshly cooked hot and very good value for money. Room is always spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendybee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Having seen the user name for this review coupled with the content you have written it is clear to us who is speaking!
Thank you for such a sparkling review, it is very much appreciated.
It has been a pleasure to host you and your husband over many years here at the Appleby Inn Hotel, if you consider our welcome to be friendly, we consider your manner exactly the same during your many stays with us. It is pleasing to know we provide a high standard of service to two lovely people whom are very thankful and friendly every time you come visit us here for your Donnington trips!
We are more than happy to provide the early breakfast to fit in with your schedule, we have even taken to seeing your name in the book now and pre-arranging it for you!
We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in the area and catching up with you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

It took a long time searching through the Trip Advisor reviews before finally settling for this hotel on the Leicestershire-Derbyshire border. I wanted a quiet and comfortable hotel away from a main town with a reliable restaurant. I was not disappointed by The Appleby Inn. It was great value for money. This has to be a real gem.

The twin-bedded room was spacious and clean. The bathroom and shower were excellent with extra towels. Everything worked and there was plenty of coffee and tea bags as well as free wi-fi and a TV offering Sky.

The restaurant has a varied menu which is similar to a Beefeater or Harvester - but better. I enjoyed a delicious steak pie with vegetables and my wife chose a jacket potato with prawns in mayonaise and a salad. It was served up quickly by friendly staff and we didn't have any space left for a dessert!

The breakfast was also substantial and the full English kept us going for the rest of the day. All in all this hotel had a lot of pluses and I can't think of anything which prevents this deserving an excellent rating. The total bill - dinner, bed and breakfast - for both of us totalled just over £70.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello and thank you for such a positive review of your time with us at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
The fact that you booked with us upon recommendation and feedback from travellers is pleasing for us. It shows that we are being reflected by social media and review pages in a positive manner and that we are successful in our aim to satisfy our customers whilst they are with us.
We are pleased you found your room comfortable and well appointed, little extras such as free Wi-Fi and unlimited tea and coffee in the room can make all the difference with guests we feel. As an independent privately owned and family run hotel we don't aim to hit our customers in the pocket hard with extras but provide a service that offers value for money paid to a high standard.
Our restaurant has a strong reputation for its fine fare at reasonable prices. With us being quite a large restaurant with a range of cliental we aim to offer a wide range of choice whilst not compromising on quality and the standard of our breakfast service goes with this.
Once again thank you for your custom and should you wish to return to the Appleby Inn Hotel it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Having been made very welcome and seated at a nice large table. My family enjoyed a very well cooked dinner and the menu had a great selection of different foods. I will re attend next time I'm in the area :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review.
Making guests feel welcome is our aim from greeting a customer from when they walk in through to bidding them farewell at the end of their stay, and every moment in-between.
We are pleased you enjoyed our restaurant, it has gained quite a reputation for its variety, value and most of all its quality over the years.
We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews