We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another excellent time”
Review of Appleby Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appleby Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

What can l say my husband and l stay @ the Appleby Inn when we go to Donnington Park, always a friendly welcome, nothing is to much trouble even change the times of breakfast so that we don't miss any of the action at the track :-). We always eat on an evening in the pub food is freshly cooked hot and very good value for money. Room is always spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendybee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Having seen the user name for this review coupled with the content you have written it is clear to us who is speaking!
Thank you for such a sparkling review, it is very much appreciated.
It has been a pleasure to host you and your husband over many years here at the Appleby Inn Hotel, if you consider our welcome to be friendly, we consider your manner exactly the same during your many stays with us. It is pleasing to know we provide a high standard of service to two lovely people whom are very thankful and friendly every time you come visit us here for your Donnington trips!
We are more than happy to provide the early breakfast to fit in with your schedule, we have even taken to seeing your name in the book now and pre-arranging it for you!
We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are in the area and catching up with you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

It took a long time searching through the Trip Advisor reviews before finally settling for this hotel on the Leicestershire-Derbyshire border. I wanted a quiet and comfortable hotel away from a main town with a reliable restaurant. I was not disappointed by The Appleby Inn. It was great value for money. This has to be a real gem.

The twin-bedded room was spacious and clean. The bathroom and shower were excellent with extra towels. Everything worked and there was plenty of coffee and tea bags as well as free wi-fi and a TV offering Sky.

The restaurant has a varied menu which is similar to a Beefeater or Harvester - but better. I enjoyed a delicious steak pie with vegetables and my wife chose a jacket potato with prawns in mayonaise and a salad. It was served up quickly by friendly staff and we didn't have any space left for a dessert!

The breakfast was also substantial and the full English kept us going for the rest of the day. All in all this hotel had a lot of pluses and I can't think of anything which prevents this deserving an excellent rating. The total bill - dinner, bed and breakfast - for both of us totalled just over £70.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSandPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello and thank you for such a positive review of your time with us at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
The fact that you booked with us upon recommendation and feedback from travellers is pleasing for us. It shows that we are being reflected by social media and review pages in a positive manner and that we are successful in our aim to satisfy our customers whilst they are with us.
We are pleased you found your room comfortable and well appointed, little extras such as free Wi-Fi and unlimited tea and coffee in the room can make all the difference with guests we feel. As an independent privately owned and family run hotel we don't aim to hit our customers in the pocket hard with extras but provide a service that offers value for money paid to a high standard.
Our restaurant has a strong reputation for its fine fare at reasonable prices. With us being quite a large restaurant with a range of cliental we aim to offer a wide range of choice whilst not compromising on quality and the standard of our breakfast service goes with this.
Once again thank you for your custom and should you wish to return to the Appleby Inn Hotel it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Having been made very welcome and seated at a nice large table. My family enjoyed a very well cooked dinner and the menu had a great selection of different foods. I will re attend next time I'm in the area :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review.
Making guests feel welcome is our aim from greeting a customer from when they walk in through to bidding them farewell at the end of their stay, and every moment in-between.
We are pleased you enjoyed our restaurant, it has gained quite a reputation for its variety, value and most of all its quality over the years.
We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Regular base for this area. You know what to expect and it delivers. Bathrooms are small but adequate,but water pressure sometimes leaves a bit to be desired. Wifi is good, but does sometimes drop. Food is good and cheap. Staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Not tips - they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PM02-08-44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello and thank you for reviewing the Appleby Inn Hotel. Value for money is something we strive to provide at the Appleby Inn, throughout or business from the bar, restaurant to the hotel we aim to make sure you purchase a high quality product at a reasonable price and we are glad you expressed this was the case.
Our restaurant is of a very large nature, mainly to accommodate the custom we receive. As you have mentioned it is all orderly, well organised with a pleasant atmosphere. We would not extend ourselves to host such numbers if we felt it compromised the quality of food served.
With the winter that has just passed we feel a warm room to retire to is the least you can expect from us here. Our housekeepers ensure the rooms are spotlessly clean to welcome guests on arrival, they take great pride in the repeat comments on trip advisor and to reception regarding the cleanliness of the bedrooms and hotel in general.
If you have booked online we already have the required information from you, all we need to do is verify you as the lead booker, we feel there is little point in keeping you to fill in information that has been submitted by you once already!
You comments and praise given in regards our exceptional value for money are received with great pleasure.
The hotel is not under new management, the owners continue to be hands on in the running of the hotel although their role is mainly out of the public eye they are persistent in ensuring that the staff and management of the day to day running of the hotel meet the high standards they are adamant are not for changing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

A nice enough and very large hotel, serving food day and night at a good price. Beer is a bit pricey but they do have sky sports and a large tv in the bar. Downside Is the bar isn't that big and does get busy when there's a big match on. Rooms are very tidy and clean but the TVs could do with an upgrade. Ample parking is available and we had no problems parking two large vans here. Breakfast was average, I've had better but I've had worse. I think the quality of ingredients could have been better but overall we had a good stay and will use again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityhullfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Hello. Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Appleby Inn Hotel.
Sky Sports is a new addition to our hotel and is screened in the small bar set away from the main restaurant area, whilst we are keen to further our service we also do want to keep the sports screening away from dining customers who do not wish to be overpowered by the sport. It is only on the odd occasion where we have found the room to be full to the point that no-one can watch the game, if it becomes a recurring issue we will address it as such to make sure all guests are able to watch the sports shown.
In terms of our pricing we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant menu, our beer prices we feel are very competitive in relation to the area that we are situated, the only increase in beer prices in recent years have been that of duty increase and the occasional supplier increase that has been passed on, as a company we have not increased the beer pricing ourselves.
Our rooms are renowned for their impeccable cleanliness, something we feel is a must within a hotel. We have addressed your point on the TV's and although we have received no other comment have made sure the TV is the correct size in accordance to the room. Our car park has recently been re surfaced so along with space to park your vehicle it can now be done so on a better surface under the security of our CCTV.
With our breakfast we ensure we use only high quality products, we apologise that you did not feel that was the case. If you ever think anything is not to our usual high standard please inform the staff on duty and they will ensure the issue is dealt with as soon as it is raised.
We hope to see you again in the future and look forward to giving you a warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Did not expect the hotel to be at the high standard if was based on the price I paid.
Clean , warm and bright. Only one night stay but found to be large clean warm and bright. Staff on the ball with no waiting and very friendly . Location is just off the major routes so great for us passing by on route to or from Birmingjam. Food is enjoyable but standard with out trying not to put it down. Freeview tv only so no football which means I would bypass it on Mondsy evening .. Would I stay again "yes ""

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMorriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed over for a friend's leaving party, which was being held down the road. Have to say, the price was very reasonable, the pub / restaurant downstairs is much larger than we'd expected and packed (in what looked like a very orderly fashion - I don't mean that in a negative way!)

The room was very clean and warm (the weather was sub-zero, we were more than grateful). Booking in took about 30 seconds (that's not much of an exaggeration), and breakfast in the morning was EXACTLY what the doctor ordered.

I've stayed in far more expensive places that haven't touched this place for service or food. Well done and thanks to the Appleby - we'll definitely stay again if we've passing through. I believe the Appleby is recently under new management, and I think they're doing a great job - their staff certainly are.

Room Tip: We were at the back - didn't have a fabulous view, but there was no noise, despite a full pub on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_pixie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello and thank you for a wonderful review.
We are glad you found us good value for money during your stay, we aim to be reasonable for guests as well as providing a high level of service to make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible.
Our restaurant can get very busy during the weekends and we are glad you found it orderly and enjoyable! We do take bookings if residents wish to secure a table for a certain time during their stay.
When booking guests in we have usually obtained most of the information we require upon booking and a confirmation that you are the guests we are expecting is all we need to avoid another drawn out repetitive process of filling in more forms and paperwork and get you checked in!
A warm room during those harsh winter months is the least you should expect from a hotel, we are only too happy to provide such and a full range of breakfast options included in the room rate is something we have always provided and firmly believe adds a welcome service at no extra cost for guests. The quality of such is something we strive to keep of a high standard along with our all day and evening restaurant.
We warmly accept your thanks and thank you in response firstly for your custom and secondly for such glowing feedback.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Appleby Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Inn Hotel

Address: 11 Atherstone Road | Appleby Parva, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby Magna
Price Range: $82 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appleby Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Appleby Inn Hotel is a family owned and run Hotel, Bar & Restaurant located on the A444 half a mile from junction 11 of the M42 within close distance of both Birmingham and East Midland airports, and is also easily accessible to the M6 and M1 motorways. The Hotel is also ideally situated close to most local midland towns and cities, perfect for both commuters and tourists. Set within rural Derbyshire the Hotel borders on the four counties of Leicestershire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Derbyshire. The Hotel has a fine reputation for its welcoming, homely atmosphere, fine restaurant food and exceptional value for money.Nearby tourist attractions include Twycross Zoo, The Battle of Bosworth fields, Donnington Park, Drayton Manor Park and the Sir John Moore Foundation is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Appleby Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing