We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly staff”
Review of Appleby Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appleby Inn Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights when attending a christmas function in nearby appleby. We realised when we saw how full the restaurant was on our arrival that this was obviously a popular place to eat. This was bourne out an hour later when my partner and I sat down in the resaurant to enjoy an excellent meal. We had huge portions of steak with all the trimmings, ordered from a menu with a wide variety of dishes, not forgetting several specials which were posted on the wall. Our was a little dated in its decor but roomy and very clean with what was obviously a recently re fitted bathroom. The only downside was that we discovered when we woke up in the middle of the night extreemly hot and uncomfortable was that the bed was fitted with a plastic underblanket. This was removed the following morning and we had a great nights sleep the second night. Our breakfast the following morning was just as good and plentyful as the food we'd had the night before.

All told we would highly recommend a stay at the appleby inn for great food and friendly welcoming staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank petebannerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for your review in regards to your stay with us. We have a vast amount of guests that stay with us whilst attending nearby functions and visiting local attractions, we aim to work closely with local organisations to provide them with suitable means of accommodation for their guests.
Our restaurant is an amenity we are fiercely proud of as a hotel, we feel it offers a lot in terms of guests experience in stopping with us. A quality meal at an affordable price can be a necessity for some guests and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your dining with us.
At the time of review our bedrooms are continually undergoing improvements, as you stated with the re-fitted bathroom, we do this as a gradual process as not to disturb guests during their stay with constant renovation work. The undersheets have now been replaced following your comment with a similar sheet that provides the same protection to furnishings but is more discreet and of higher quality to the one you asked to be removed, we thank you for your feedback on this matter to help us improve our service.
As with our restaurant we again feel the breakfast we provide all serves to a pleasant stay, we offer a waitressed served breakfast to your table with various options from cereals to fresh fruit with my personal favourite being the full English breakfast to start the day!
Our staff appreciate the comment regarding their welcoming nature, our aim as ever is to make you feel as homely as possible here at the Appleby Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 130 of 130 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank Petr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForzaDucati77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Appleby Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Appleby Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appleby Inn Hotel

Address: 11 Atherstone Road | Appleby Parva, Appleby Magna DE12 7AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Appleby Magna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Appleby Magna
Price Range: $82 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Appleby Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Appleby Inn Hotel is a family owned and run Hotel, Bar & Restaurant located on the A444 half a mile from junction 11 of the M42 within close distance of both Birmingham and East Midland airports, and is also easily accessible to the M6 and M1 motorways. The Hotel is also ideally situated close to most local midland towns and cities, perfect for both commuters and tourists. Set within rural Derbyshire the Hotel borders on the four counties of Leicestershire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Derbyshire. The Hotel has a fine reputation for its welcoming, homely atmosphere, fine restaurant food and exceptional value for money.Nearby tourist attractions include Twycross Zoo, The Battle of Bosworth fields, Donnington Park, Drayton Manor Park and the Sir John Moore Foundation is only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Appleby Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing