We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barnfields Cafe

Barnfields Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch
Description: Our opening hours are offered as a guide but please note we close for holidays, family events etc. We are very happy to take calls to confirm if we are open. Best wishes, Steve Barnfield.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended cafe delicious cream teas and cappuccinos. Cozy and clean. They also fo lunches and sandwiches and a small shop next door castle acre is a beautiful historic village very nice place to go and chill. Actually planning to go tomorrow there again

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank queeny1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    22
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely scone and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Friends staying with us from Sussex so we thought we would show off some of the lovely villages and attractions of Norfolk. Priority though is coffee! We found Barnfields cafe and they had a table free on the pavement outside, we ordered coffee and scones. Amazing scone and delicious coffee. Will definitely return with other house guests!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank birderwidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
164 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lashings and lashings of ginger beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This proved the perfect place for a light lunch as we drove from Cambridgeshire to the Norfolk coast on a sunny Sunday. We were attracted by the cheerful yellow umbrellas over the tables outside. These were all occupied so we took a window table inside. The interior is light and welcoming, service was friendly and efficient. Three ginger beers - lovely big glasses and plenty of ice - arrived within seconds of ordering. My feta cheese flan/tart was delicious, served with perfectly dressed salad leaves and coleslaw. The chaps chose sandwiches: salmon and cream cheese and tuna and cucumber which they wolfed down. Split between three, the bill came to £7.66 each. We certainly intend of stop by next time we're in the area. Oh, and if ginger beer isn't your tipple and you fancy something alcoholic, Barnfields does have a licence.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rest stop on a bike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Lovely cakes and scones and good coffee with a refill Did not have to wait long and staff very friendly

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have been a regular customer at Barnfields since Steve and Debs took over the business and breakfast there at least twice a week ( try the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with mushrooms mmmm ) as well as calling in for lunch or coffee and cake whenever I,m working in the area . The interior is light and cheery and they`re is aleways a lovely log fire roaring in the grate on cold days .
The staff like the owners are always cheery and helpful . They at one time used to open their small courtyard rear garden to the public which they no longer do , some scenes from Stephen Fry`s Kingdom series were filmed there as well as other locations in the village . you can still sit outside at the front if like me you have dogs . I noticed that one reviewer claims to have been charged for dog water but with the greatest of respect to this person I think you are almost certainly mistaken . Because the table area at the front is narrow Debs no longer leaves a dog bowl out as she used to when the back garden was in use because it always got kicked or tripped over so they fill it now on request and remove it when your dogs finished but never charge for it .

I,ll take a guess at whats happened here based on my own experience . If you ask for dog water when one of the girls takes your order she writes it down as a reminder because the order is then passed to the kitchen or sometimes another waitress . It then appears on your bill but not as an actual chargeable item . I suppose it could be confusing at first glance so to beaufina I`d say don`t beat yourself up over it or let it spoil your otherwise great review but I`m sure you,ve made a mistake , Barnfields never begrudge or charge a pooch for a bowl of water .

Anyway summers coming ( hopefully) and I intend to eat my own body weight in Debbies homemade scone cream teas . Can`t remember what its called but they sometimes have a gluten free cranberry and almond cake as well which is lovely . Try the place , believe me its worth a drive .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnfields Cafe also viewed

Castle Acre, King's Lynn
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 
King's Lynn, Norfolk
King's Lynn, Norfolk
 

Been to Barnfields Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing