We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cycling holiday for 7” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Red Lion

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castle Acre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Red Lion
Ranked #4 of 5 Castle Acre B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cycling holiday for 7”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

7 of us spent 2 nights at the old red lion last week, and we could not have been better looked after. We stayed in the dormitory, the beds were comfortable, the water was hot and the vegetarian breakfast was enjoyable and plentiful. This really is a nice place to stay and is a credit to the efforts of this little dynamo "Allison" 80 and still giving yoga lessons !!

Room Tip: 2 rooms are available for couples/3 these are also to a really good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotel876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently spent a couple of nights at the Old Red Lion and was wonderfully well looked after. My room was warm and comfortable, immaculately clean, with good quality furniture and bed linen and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was fresh, varied and delicious. Alison is a very welcoming and delightful hostess. As well as everything else, it's also very good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

A cheap & cheerful B&B come hostel that met our basic needs, as advertised in their website (despite the above comment).

Room Tip: book / ask in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thee_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

The reality was far removed from the website expectations. The biggest issue being the total lack of hot water for showering or washing and no central heating. We believe that this happened well before we arrived, had we known we would have cancelled the booking. Overall, we were extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RegandAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Castle Acre hotels
0.0 mi away
Baileygate Bed & Breakfast
Baileygate Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Castle Acre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ostrich Inn
The Ostrich Inn
#3 of 5 in Castle Acre
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Manor House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Red Lion

Property: The Old Red Lion
Address: The Old Red Lion Bailey Street, Castle Acre, King's Lynn PE32 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > King's Lynn > Castle Acre
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Acre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Old Red Lion Castle Acre, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing