We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kelling Heath”
Review of Kelling Heath

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weybourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kelling Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Best Camping experience you could ever wish for. Friendly Staff, Great scenery, the poppy line is on site and is worth a trip on the steam train, the wildlife is awesome.Dog friendly too.
Food is Very good. Indoor pool is very nice on a quiet day. Plenty for kids to do and you can walk for miles

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cshaw190736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 461 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

I visited in October and i must say i was very happy with everything. The reception staff were fantastic throughout, always helpful and friendly. I have been to many holiday parks and the shop at Kelling Heath is one of the best facilities of its type i have seen. As well as all the essentials you need there is also a very good range of locally sourced products from bird boxes to chocolates, and there is a map telling you where all of the products come from. A really good touch and other similar stores could take a leaf out of Kellings book on this!
We had some meals in the Terrace Bar, which is well staffed, clean and tidy. The steak sandwich was awesome! We bought some passes for the Leisure centre and found the facilities first class.
The park itself is a delight with some lovely trails and the woodland is noticably well looked after. We even saw a few deer up close! Wow!
All in all a great place to spend a few days to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finchy1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed this October half term and couldn't have come away any happier or more relaxed. From the moment you turn in it is a beautiful paradise that awaits - somewhere extremely special unlike anywhere we have been before. We were checked in by the most welcoming reception team who directed us to our pitch which was ample in size and in a great location. The only down side was it was a little muddy but this is nobodies fault. We paid for some leisure passes which you can have as either a 1 / 3 or 7 day pass and although quite expensive is very nice. Would say that the leisure centre is becoming a little dated in comparison to the rest of the park but was very clean throughout. The shop had not only your daily essentials but also a local area with some fantastic local produce, there is even a quirky little map to show how local everything actually is. We ate in the on site restaurant only once but found the staff to be extremely attentive and the food very nice. The menu itself was not huge but there was a very nice offering of specials to compliment this. There was so much to do and so much that we simply didn't have time to, that will ensure we definitely return. This is a must place for all the family.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ba5af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was my first stay at Kelling Heath and I loved every minute on it.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome, we were given an events list containing all the information for the week ahead, resulting in a very excited 3 year old. There was loads to do including lantern making, fancy dress, pumpkin carving and a Halloween party.
The pumpkin carving was great fun, we dressed up for Halloween (which both adults and children enjoyed!) we spent the evening in the terrace, where they had kids entertainment early on for the little ones and a disco later on, the entertainer was excellent and he had everybody laughing. Dining in the Terrace was also an enjoyable experience- the staff were all dressed up and the restaurant looked amazing decked out with a spooky theme, with colouring sheets and a spooky kids menu to match, for adults the specials all sounded great we had sticky ribs and mussels, the portion sizes were generous, great value for money and to top it off it tasted amazing . You could see that all the staff had made an effort to ensure we all had a great time! The chocolate apple making the next day just topped off a fantastic week, a little messy but just added to the fun! Would definitely recommend to friends and family and will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolL1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Visited last week for the first time and found ourselves in the most beautiful location. We stayed in one of their heron holiday homes which was clean and just perfect for us. Throughout the week there was a wide selection of fantastic acorn events. We attended the chocolate apple dipping session in brackens and the children had an amazing time. Sarah the events co-ordinator was a credit to the park and couldn't do enough to ensure we had a great time. The highlight of our time was the Halloween party where the terrace bar was decorated beautifully - my children loved it. We ate in there that evening and found an appetising menu complimented with a fresh selection of specials. We had the pan fried plaice and mussels,whilst the kids had mummified fish (named especially for the evening). All food was to die for and the service was fantastic from staff all dressed up. All in all a visit to remember and the kids are already asking when we can return :)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sniper_1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Been coming to Kelling for nearly 40 years, with a break of 20 years - came as a child in the 70's to late 80's with my mum and dad and now been bringing my children for the last 3 years. The place has changed over the years, as you would expect and this year we decided to try a Heron static caravan instead of pulling our tourer up. The Heron was ok, but a little tired and in need of a revamp or renewal. That said, it was comfortable and warm and had the basics you could need. The overall setting never fails to disappoint and the landscape has not changed in all those years, some old haunts I knew as a kid, still remain today. The biggest disappointment is the appalling food served in the Forge & Terrace. At best it is edible, but only just. It claims to be freshly prepared and whilst I can not dispute that with facts, it is the worst freshly prepared food I have eaten, the chef should be retrained. I had sausages and mash with gravy (allegedly), but unfortunately the sausages had the toughest skins and were anaemic and the gravy had set semi solid.
If you do visit, you will have a lovely stay, I am sure, but avoid the Forge & Terrace at all costs. The shop is well stocked and the pizzas were good. Always visit the NNR Poppy Line, as that will never disappoint, especially if you have steam train mad kids like us. We will of course return, it's a family tradition, but will not dine on site except the pizzas. Bring back a fish n chip takeaway like the good old days.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Yes_Chef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have been coming to Kellingheath for 10 years now and are still happy with the place in general however we were very disappointed when we returned last week with the disgusting prices in The Forge. To cut a long story short what was supposed to be a large glass of Savignon Blanc (although called a "medium" by bar staff as "that is the largest we do" was £5.95 !!!! The Prawn cocktail starter was a load of tiny prawns, some lettuce and a 10p size (no I am not kidding) of sauce on the plate was distinctly average. The service was not good either. We had to ask the girl cleaning a nearby table to take our order. If it was busy I could understand it but there was only us and 1 other table occupied. The waitress then disappeared after taking our orders and we never saw her again. When I queried this with the Supervisor (who was also the bar man !) he said the "waitress" was washing up !!!! Unbelieveable.

Needless to say we won't be going to The Forge again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaz123422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weybourne
1.1 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
687 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
799 reviews
1 mi away
Maltings Hotel
Maltings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weybourne
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelling Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelling Heath

Address: Sandy Hill Lane, Weybourne NR25 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Weybourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Weybourne
Hotel Class:5 star — Kelling Heath 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelling Heath Holiday Park is set amongst 270 acres of woodland and rare open heathland; in in an area of outstanding natural beauty close to Weybourne which is situated on the North Norfolk coast. A wonderful environment in which you can relax and enjoy a wide range of activities with your family and friends. Hire Woodland Lodges, luxury caravan holiday homes or bring your own touring caravan or tent. A range of facilities and environmental activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kelling Heath Hotel Weybourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing