We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week”
Review of Kelling Heath

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weybourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kelling Heath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a great week here at the end of August camping in our tent. There is lots to do along the Norfolk coast and further inland for all the family. There is also plenty to do onsite with cycling, table tennis, childrens play ground, boules, swimming pool, fishing lake etc. Camping facilities were modern and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCIain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 461 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a 5 day break with a 9 week old baby and our 2 year old toddler. We only live 1 hour away and wanted somewhere close for a mini break. We stayed in a lodge, which was clean, modern and comfortable however I think it would be rather cramped if staying with 6 people. Good restaurant on site but guessing it would be packed during school hols. Lovely leisure facilities although slightly annoying children can only use the pool between 10-6 an early swim would have been useful with children. Fantastic if you have a train enthusiast son, easy walk (with pram and toddler) to station on site.
very helpful staff although depended on who served you in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We enjoyed a Nighjar style of van for the weekend which had an excellent specification, set in and amongst the trees. By the looks of this place, it has everything for any age. Plenty of space and peace and quiet if you want it. Its great at night too when the heavens come alive with stars, all because outside lighting in minimal. There is entertainment if you want it and an excellent steam railway a short walk away.

Room Tip: Given the vans are under trees there is very little value or warmth gained from sunlight so some hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just returned from another excellent holiday at Kelling Heath. We stayed in a Heron caravan nestled amongst the trees. The word caravan doesn't do the accommodation justice as these are luxury mobile homes.
The caravan was spotlessly clean on arrival with a very welcome welcome pack on the kitchen worktop. The caravan was also well equipped with all of your essential items.
My other half has a special dietary requirement and the on-site pub (The Forge) were very obliging and all staff were very helpful and didn't make my other half feel uncomfortable or a nuisance when he asked for something other than what was on the menu. The staff were also very helpful when it came to our 16 month little girl - they heated up her food, made a fuss of her etc!
We did several of the walks and again these were excellent although some more signposts could be useful.
Overall we cannot rate this holiday park high enough and will definitely being going back next year :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our 1st time doing a full weeks camping and after reading many reviews we decided to stay at Kelling Heath, it took us 5 and a half ours to get there as we are from Wigan, but it was well worth the trek.
We had already chosen our pitch before arrival using the download map and a little advice from the booking team , the site was very busy as expected due to being last week of kids summer holidays and gorgeous weather ,but the pitch was that large it didn't feel overcrowded, we stayed on the Blue area as our youngest child doesn't like dogs , the facilities were clean regularly and shut around 10.30am for at least an hour whilst they were thoroughly cleaned.
Our children 9 and 5 have never had so much fun being free to play , we were a minute away from the play area and a 5 minute walk to the centre, which was lovely to relax in on a night with a beverage soaking up the lovely atmosphere, they loved the ping pong table and the bowling area.
We ate in the restaurant which is advisable to book as got busy,the food was good pub food. We also had pizza in the centre whilst watching the entertainment, also this was lovely.
As you can see by my long review I could rave all day about this site , I was utterly impressed and will be returning, the train trip is great fun a round rover get you a full day out, bike hire was great,visiting the seals from Moreston a must, as well as eating loads of sea food, we went to some lovely beaches, my only downside was the cost of the indoor pool you would be a fool to pay it, and I feel the high cost were to keep campers out as it was free to rented caravans and lodges , the outdoor pool was fine but we did have fantastic weather that week. I would highly recommend this site and would be surprised if we ever bettered it, high standards have now been set.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A lovely place to stay with young children, lots to do and see, an ideal spot!
The camping spots were really good and clean, nice people about as well.
We hired bikes for the week that were good, the pool is quite expensive though I thought.
They could have a bit more entertainment for the children when we stayed, although there was so much to do around the site and the local areas that to be honest this isn't necessary.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camperbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just returned from a four day break at Kelling Heath, having stayed in a 3 bed lodge.

The lodge was clean, well equiped and spacious and nicely located in the forest and not too close to other lodges. The facilities are excellent and i highly recommend the leisure centre and particuarly the indoor pool. Kelling Heath is nicely located to see Norfolk and has a stop on the the North Norfolk steam train line. If you love cycling then hire a bike from Huff & Puff cyles at the park and try one of the many cycle routes through the forest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weybourne
7.4 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
788 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
672 reviews
1 mi away
Maltings Hotel
Maltings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Weybourne
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelling Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelling Heath

Address: Sandy Hill Lane, Weybourne NR25 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Weybourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Weybourne
Hotel Class:5 star — Kelling Heath 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelling Heath Holiday Park is set amongst 270 acres of woodland and rare open heathland; in in an area of outstanding natural beauty close to Weybourne which is situated on the North Norfolk coast. A wonderful environment in which you can relax and enjoy a wide range of activities with your family and friends. Hire Woodland Lodges, luxury caravan holiday homes or bring your own touring caravan or tent. A range of facilities and environmental activities available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kelling Heath Hotel Weybourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing