We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Quarrymans Arms

The Quarrymans Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Box
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We booked a Christmas meal for myself and seven work colleagues on the Friday before Christmas. It had been a while since my last visit but it was good to see that the pub still keeps it's old charm. The service was excellent, efficient without being intrusive and as always the food was lovely. Although we ate from a set Christmas menu there was a lot to choose from and we all enjoyed our selections. We will definitely be back in the summer to enjoy the beer garden and great food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    97
    25
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Visiting my son and his wife who live 2 hours travel away from us, we frequently go out for meals in and around this area .The Quarryman is probably not the plushiest of the pubs we visit ,but it is our favorite and most regular haunt its everything the term " a good traditional English pub" should encompass.The clientele is regular and friendly 18 to 80 you wouldn't feel out of place the staff are courteous, efficient ,friendly and knowledgeable of the menu's. Regardless of when we visit ,be it for breakfast after a muddy dog walk ,an evening meal or for one of their wonderful Sunday lunches (you need to book these ,they are always full) your always greeted warmly , the menu imaginative and the food delicious Why am I writing this review ? well we had an excellent lunch once again at the Quarryman, people are very quick to complain but don't always think to say thank you and well done when its deserved

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Melv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good village pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

a good village pub with amazing views across the vally into bath, good home cooked food and real ales, well worth a vist

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drbunsenhoneydew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunchtime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Six of us ate here on a Sunday, we were recommended to come here and glad we were (also glad we booked!!)
The food was HUGE and very tasty; service was great and the views amazing!!!
Will come back with our dogs after a walk in the stunning surroundings
Thank you Quarrymans

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Gorgeous location. Miserable landlandy. Two black and white smelly pub dogs who drool over you all the time

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Mandy L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John A, Owner at The Quarrymans Arms, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your trip to The Quarrymans and that my dogs offended you - although we are a 'dog friendly' Pub I go to great lengths to ensure that my dogs are not there during our main food service periods but at quieter times they are sometimes around and usually people love them - however if you had indicated to either myself or any of my staff that they were bothering you I would have removed them immediately.

I hope that helps The Landlady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quarrymans Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Quarrymans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing