We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Northey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Northey
Ranked #1 of 7 Box B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sunday night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed for one night in this lovely pub. The bar area was very welcoming and I enjoyed relaxing with a glass of wine. The room was lovely. There was a nespresso machine which was nice. The bathroom was massive and very luxurious. A lovely walk in rain shower and and a free standing bath, with a good supply of shower gel etc. A little dressing table was also in the bathroom. We had a pleasant meal in the pub. Breakfast was ok too. Not a great choice, but I left feeling full! A very nice place to stay and I will be back, no doubt

Room Tip: A room at the back would be better as the main road is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    70
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
139
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived at The Northey in weather that was horrendous and the welcome we received from Michael was extremely warm. The room we had was Room 4 which was very stylish, the bathroom had a huge double ended bath and a huge walk in rainfall shower head. All the little extras that help make your stay better. White dressing gowns, slippers. A great coffee machine with nice little treats of shortbread and flapjack. Large flat screen colour tv. We booked a table for dinner which was very tasty. My husband likes his steak rare and it arrived exactly how he liked it only the 2nd time he has ever had a steak cooked exactly right. The service was friendly and warm. The breakfast was amazing too, everything you would want. We had a lovely relaxing time and we would recommend and definately will go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redkaz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay.

The bathroom was a real luxury, as were the room furnishing and linen. Coffee and tea facilities in room and large flat screen TV.

An excellent place for couples to unwind, away from the centre of the city but only a short drive into the centre of Bath.

The beautiful big bath was a real luxury.

Excellent service, full breakfast - very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eledash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Northey for 2 nights in November, a Thursday and Friday night,in room 2. The room was excellent and the bathroom was bigger than the bedroom with walk in shower as well as a large bath.The one downside was everytime a high speed train went past the bed vibrated ! The staff were very nice and helpful.
We ate in the restaurant both nights, the food was very nice and the breakfast was a bit limited as far as choice was concerned.I would stay here again when we return to Bath.
If i were to point a couple of things out it would be, why is a Friday night so much more expensive than a Thursday night ? I understand there is more demand at the weekend but at the end of the day the Northey is an inn not a hotel !! May i suggest when the bill is settled a 10% reduction on drinks and food be made for residents, only a suggestion !!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheshireharry25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stopped off at The Northey for one night in September and we were very impressed. Bath was a ten minute (£3.60 per person single) bus journey from the bus stop opposite. The staff were friendly and helpful, even bringing our tickets for the Thermae Spa into Bath for us. The room was fantastic, especially the huge bathroom. We found it very quiet and the bed made for a comfortable night's sleep after the relaxing spa visit! We did not eat in the restaurant, but the cooked breakfast the next morning was great. We'd definitely stay at The Northey again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug_Dales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed on business for one night.
Very accommodating, friendly host.
Comfy bed, and fancy bathroom.
left anti-socially early, so didn't sample the breakfast.
it was a bit chilly in the room, on a cool autumnal night - the radiators didn't heat up despite me turning them on, but I warmed up after a hot shower.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach8l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Northey for 1 night and used their dinner, bed and breakfast deal for 160.00. We arrived late, after 9pm and were prewarned that the kitchen closed at 9.30. We were given a warm welcome and told that the chef would be happy to wait while we got settled in. We assumed there would be conditions as to what we could have from the menu but there weren't any which made it excellent value. The wine was good too. We had room 2 and were very happy with it. Opening the small cupboard like doors onto the enormous en suite bathroom with a double ended bath was great, I had no idea we would have such luxury (the bathroom pictured)! The food, service and room were wonderful and we felt we had a fantastic deal for a 5 star stay. The location is within a short drive of the M4 so great for overnight stop off's to Wales or the West Country. I would defintely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 2, 5 star luxury without being too noisy despite being at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box
2.9 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.7 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
4.7 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northey

Property: The Northey
Address: Bath Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Box
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Northey 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Box Station Hotel owes its architecture to Brunel. Head Chef Chris Alderson has created a classic menu using seasonal produce. Fresh fish is delivered to from Cornwall, along with locally sourced beef. Those staying the night will be royally spoilt as slick bedrooms sport pieces of one-off furniture and sculpture - and beds super comfortable with dazzling white linen and thick mattresses. One room has a decked balcony, all have coffee-machines, and slate stone bathrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Northey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northey Box, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing