We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Northey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Northey
Ranked #1 of 6 Box B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed in Room 1 for 3 nights. We were visiting Bath and didn't want to use the car. This is a perfect location.. Bus Stop outside the Hotel made it easy to get to the Centre of Bath. The Room was spotless, well furnished and had a great balcony. The food was excellent and all the staff were so helpful and friendly. We would recommend it to anybody and will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: If you smoke - pick room 1 ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    68
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
26
137
5
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holt, Norfolk
Level Contributor
231 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

I recently stayed in room 5 for 3 nights. The room was great, if not a bit small, but all fixtures were top notch. The bathrooms are very good - showers that work! And its all exceptionately clean. You even get slippers, bathrobes and a turn down, for a reasonable nightly rate. The food is perfect gastro pub style and you can eat in the restaurant or bar area. The best thing though is the level of service from management and staff. Its staggeringly good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HughDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos on Sea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed here for a few days after our wedding in April while doing some sightseeing in Bath, it's just outside the city, about 5mins in the car depending on traffic.

The room we had was simply amazing and the bathroom was something out of this world! Fantastic value for money really.

Food was also excellent, from breakfast to evening meal. Every morning we had a table set up looking out over the surrounding grounds just for us.

Staff were also extremely helpful throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble for them.

We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room 2 has the long bathroom shown in the professional photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonbullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

From the friendly way that we were greeted to the time we left, there is almost nothing that my wife and I can think of that we would change. We had room 1 at the back of the hotel (away from the road), which has a very comfortable double bed, a large balcony overlooking the garden with chairs and table, and a walk in shower and separate bath.

Breakfast is very tasty and fills you up for the day and the dinners are superb. We had only intended to eat at the Northey on the first night but it was so good that we ate there the other night too... Don't miss the tiger prawn starter, and the shepard's pie was lovely. My wife and I are extremely annoyed that we were unable to try the deserts in the restaurant. This was due to the fact that the starter and main courses are so large and ludicrously tasty that we didn't have room for anything else. When we were asked if we would like to see the desert menu, we laughed and I think they probably get that reaction a lot.

We stayed on Tuesday and Wednesday nights and the restaurant was very busy all evening. Apparently, it is busier at the weekend, so it's probably best to book in advance.

If you want a really relaxing stay only a few miles from Bath but much cheaper than in Bath itself, stay here! We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1, and remember to bring some bubble-bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePugsCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

A great small cosy hotel with a contemporary twist. A great surprise stay, from the outside it looked like a average looking pub, however, as soon as you enter the building it has a great, welcoming & stylish feeling to it. The restaurant and bar looked great service really friendly. Food was served very fast and very good standard. The pub also has a beautiful garden at the rear of the building if you wish to sit out.

The hotel is situated in a very convenient location for Bath, approximately 15/20 minutes by car or bus.

I'd certainly recommend a stay at The Northey Arms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-r2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We booked this B&B for my birthday getaway for my partner & were not disappointed. Although not much of a show stopper from the outside we were genuinely surprised when greeted by the modern yet relaxing interior with comfy settees within the bar area & relaxing dining area.
Our room was well up to standard with a modern feel, good quality bedding & furnishings and balcony area was superb & had it not been a damp March day we would have enjoyed more! The bathroom was spacious with a deep double ended bath & walk in "wet-room" otherwise known as a large shower. The only couple of small niggles with the room were that the tea cups provided with the ultra modern tea machine were too small to hold the drink & required a trip to the sink to pour some away before adding milk & the toiletry dispenser above the bath did not contain bubble bath....other than that the other comments made about road noise & annoying timer lights were not an issue for us.
We enjoyed a delicious dinner with fresh mussels & steak followed by several cocktails relaxing in the bar.
We were lucky with our room allocation, room 1, as after chatting after dinner we discovered another couple also staying the night had a much smaller room, however their request for a room change was promptly dealt with by the management with a swift collection of luggage and upgrade.
Breakfast was a little bit of a let down after such a great evening. Being greeted by unsmiling uncommunicative staff, tea cups with handles too small to get your fingers in and a table set with already opened & half used "individual" jams & spreads was not what i was expecting.
But all in all a nice get away and yes we would certainly return.

Room Tip: Room one is away from the road noise & has a terrace with table & chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelDaisy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
217 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed at The Northley for one night whilst on business in the area ( Very close to Bath...4 miles ) Very high standard of rooms and the bed was really comfortable. I had to meet clients in Bath so I did not eat here but the food looked good and the menu was comprehensive. If the breakfast was the same standard as the restaurant food then I would say that you can rest assure that it is good.
All the breakfast fayre was piping hot, locally sourced and of a really good standard.

In summary ...would definately stay again. Great nights sleep. Free Wi Fi in your room. Nice bar downstairs and friendly approachable staff. The full house of what a traveller requires on a business stopover.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box
2.9 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
3.7 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Corsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.1 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 5 in Corsham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northey

Property: The Northey
Address: Bath Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Box
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Northey 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The former Box Station Hotel owes its architecture to Brunel. Head Chef Chris Alderson has created a classic menu using seasonal produce. Fresh fish is delivered to from Cornwall, along with locally sourced beef. Those staying the night will be royally spoilt as slick bedrooms sport pieces of one-off furniture and sculpture - and beds super comfortable with dazzling white linen and thick mattresses. One room has a decked balcony, all have coffee-machines, and slate stone bathrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Northey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Northey Box, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing