We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Barh”
Review of The Northey Arms

The Northey Arms
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/14
8:00 PM
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Box
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This pub has recently undergone extensive renovation and redecoration, transforming it into one of Bath's most popular venues at which to eat, drink and stay. Having received AA recognition, quality and consistency is the focus in the kitchen, where every ingredient is sourced through exhaustive research of our local suppliers by Head chef Ryan Granaski. Our wine list is carefully chosen and we regularly feature guest ales and beers. We have recently expanded our accommodation facilities by adding five new beautiful rooms, including four new standard king size rooms and one superior family/twin room.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here instead of staying in the busy, overcrowded city of Bath and can thoroughly recommend it. The ambience is more of a hotel than a pub. However, the bedrooms were really nice, especially the bathrooms,and the bed was comfortable. My only grievance was, as a woman, the height of the mirrors in the bedroom was either too low if you stood up or too high if you sat on a chair. Very annoying. Couldn't fault the breakfast or the staff. Would I stay again? Yes.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank magiwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Northey P, Manager at The Northey Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi magiwyn.

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. following your feedback we have moved the mirror to an appropriate level for all guests.

Hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Jordan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Once again we purchased a Travelzoo voucher to dine here and this time it was a disappointment. I thought I would have the pigeon starter but it left a lot to be desired. Maybe my palate just did not like the tough meat. Never again. As a main we both chose the fish and chips. It was haddock, cooked well with a light batter and served with plenty of chips and crushed peas but nothing to write home about. I would rather have gone to a local 'chippy'. The staff were OK when waiting on the tables but behind the bar I felt they needed a bit more finesse. Would we return? Sadly no.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tufty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019

Visited here on a lovely sunny afternoon after finishing a long dog walk. We decided to stop in for the dogs to have some shade in their beautiful garden while we enjoyed a cold glass of wine! We ordered a pie of the day and the hake from the specials, both were fantastic. The service however was what made the experience for us. The young gentleman with the tartan trousers, who served us couldn't have made me, my partner and our dog feel more welcome. He came over with a bowl of water and gave our dog such attention, it was such a lovely touch! Being a dog owner isn't always easy, as not everywhere allows dogs and can be very funny! But not here at the Northey Arms! The young gentleman took the time to chat with us and made us feel very comfortable, feeling more like guests than paying customers! He even took a lovely photo of our dog for their instagram. We can not recommend this place highly enough to our family, friends and doggy pals! Thank you to the lovely young man for making this such a lovely afternoon.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joanna45623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2019

This place is very conveniently located on main road. Car parking. Large garden with outside tables and play area for children. The restaurant is large and casual. The team is very young but attentive. It is easiest to order individual drinks from the bar and wine through waiter. Service is a bit slow so not sure how they would cope with very busy service. As we walked in even before we were shown to table we were advised of specials . This should have been done at the table as forgotten detail of specials by time seated and got menus. The menu has some interesting food combinations. All our meals were well cooked and tasty. Decent size portions. Pudding menu was less appealing. Not a romantic destination but good for group meals and would be perfectly happy if staying in a room ( not seen) to have this restaurant attached. Only criticism - the tartan carpet needed a good vacuum. It did not create a good first impression.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank packyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

Popped in a few weeks ago for a last minute tea, and had burgers, which were grand, but as we had our daughter with us, we rushed, so decided to come back on our own of an evening. Came back on a Friday evening, initially really noisy and busy in the bar, but realised happy hr, so just headed outside for a bit. Came in for our meal, and got seated - seemed a little unorganised, not clear whether bar or restaurant staff, but taken to a table and given menus. Was asked whether we wanted more drinks, but undecided at that point. Our order was taken, and this is where the service started to become non-existent. The food was absolutely delicious, really can not fault it. Packed with flavour, and presented impeccably- really really enjoyed. Unfortunately once mains had been served, we were not offered menus for desserts, we had to ask. We had to repeatedly try and grab waiter/ tresses attention- which was really difficult- to get some more drinks, and later coffee. We were not the only table that struggled to get orders in. It’s such a shame. Just made evening a little less enjoyable, because trying to get attention, and staff didn’t seem overly upbeat or on the ball with whole room, and no obvious coordination of waiting staff. It wouldn’t take much to improve service, and bring it up to the standard of the food. We will try again, but I think if standard of service doesn’t improve we may unfortunately give it a miss. Would have been a higher value rating, if the service had also been better standard.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LovetoEat345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Northey Arms also viewed

 
Corsham, Wiltshire
Bradford-on-Avon, Wiltshire
 
Corsham, Wiltshire
Cheddar, Somerset
 

Been to The Northey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing