We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and Fantastic Food”

The Northey Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Box
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This pub has recently undergone extensive renovation and redecoration, transforming it into one of Bath's most popular venues at which to eat, drink and stay. Having received Michelin and AA recognition, quality and consistency is the focus in the kitchen, where every ingredient is sourced through exhaustive research of our local suppliers by executive chef Chris Alderson. Our wine list is carefully chosen and we regularly feature guest ales and beers. We have recently expanded our accommodation facilities by adding five new beautiful rooms, including four new standard king size rooms and one superior family/twin room.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Classy and Fantastic Food”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

WOW! What a surprise. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was really classy. We got exceptional customer service too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Global T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    124
    44
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Upscale pub”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Bit above the average for pub food. Kids LOVED the hamburgers! Convenient. Excellent service. Sit outside if weather permits and you can get a seat. May need a reservation for busy times.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food , Service and Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were recommended The northey Arms by the owners of the B&B we were staying in up the road from there. We popped in for a drink at lunch time to see the menu and have a look around and loved the freshness of the interior and the friendliness of the staff. We booked a table for the evening and when we returned the manager remembered us and even remembered our drinks !! .... The waitresses were lovely and seemed to appear when needed but were not intrusive. The food was of a very good quality and we both enjoyed the meal immensely. We then retired to the settees to finish off our wine while soaking up the atmosphere of this lovely pub / restaurant. I wish we had stayed here!! ... highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very impressive.. great food, great staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've been to the Northey a few times recently, and in all truth it just seems to get better and better.

I went for a meal with my girlfriend and her family there, and we all had a very enjoyable meal, the service is attentive and friendly without being intrusive, the decor is light and stylish, and the ambiance relaxed..

It looks just like a normal pub from the outside, but delivers so much more inside.. the food is great, not a huge selection, but what they do offer, they have clearly mastered.

Will definitely return here soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamin110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Northey Arms is a nice country pub/restaurant, which serves fantastic food and has a lovely atmosphere. The manager himself also takes care of guests and is happy to talk to you for a while, which only added to the positive experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IvanOravec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Northey Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Northey Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing