We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing bed, briliant shower and good breakfast. Need I say more!”
Review of Lorne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lorne House
Ranked #1 of 7 Box B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2011

We were allowed to leave the car at the B&B in the morning so we could go into bath which was helpful. We arrived back later and our room was ready. The B&B is very nicely decorated and feels very warm and homely. The room is a good size with a king-sized bed, en-suite bathroom and all the usual faculties such as kettle, complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits and books. Room was very modern and well decorated. The level of cleanliness was impeccable throughout. The en-suite had a toilet, bath, wash-basin and shower area. The room was always warm and cosy and we had an amazing night’s sleep in the huge bed and high quality linen and duvet. The shower was brilliant as it was one where the water came from directly above with good pressure and always hot. Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, cakes, fruit, juice and cooked breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location to get to bath either by driving or bus services which takes about 10 minutes. Only let down was the weather but no one can help that!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 206 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed here for one night over the new year period while visiting family near by. It was a fantastic room with everything we needed. The decor was lovely and the bathroom was fantastic, we have even taken away a few ideas for our house.

Breakfast was lovely as well.

Overall a wonderful stay and would return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twizbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We have just stayed at Lorne House for the Bath Christmas market. The house was so comfortable with lots of thoughtful little touches. Exceptionally clean, and welcoming. Only 20 minute drive to Bath but the bus stop (just outside the house) was so much easier - and much cheaper than the car parks. Would definately stay at Lorne House again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

This b & b was absolutely beautiful. no expense spared. Luxury at its best. Excellent full english breakfast.In walking distance of a very friednly pub selling good food.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bimbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

If you want comfort, great space with the perpect shower and a delicious breakfast; this is it! The perfect location to stay near Bath.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This is a lovely B&B, very tastefully decorated, with great service. I've stayed there twice now, and will return on my upcoming busines trips to the area. Even though I stayed in their lowest price room, it is lovely, with a rain shower in the wet room and a TV with DVD player in the bedroom. They have a selection of DVD's in the main hall area (free), as well as a large selection of books in the room. The beds are comfortable with the most amazyingly soft linen - I did not want to get out of bed!
The breakfasts are lovely, full english or cereals etc, with lovely homemade jams.
Overall great service and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplecat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We had a great stay at Lorne House. Situated in the lovely village of Box, it proved a good base for exploring Bath as well as other sites in the area including the mideival village of Lacock. Fran and MIke are excellent hosts, providing lots of good info on things to do, places to eat, etc. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, the bathrooms elegant, and the breakfast was notch notch.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box
2.3 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
612 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,047 reviews
2.9 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
684 reviews
5.1 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne House

Address: Lorne House London Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Box
Price Range: $135 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since November 2016, Lorne House offers guests smart and sophisticated accommodation with ensuite modern wetrooms or bathrooms. Furnished to a very high standard, Lorne House is a stylish home from home offering our guests an elegant charm and very friendly welcome. Breakfasts are hearty and traditionally English. Close to Bath, Lacock, Castle Combe, Corsham, Bradford on Avon and Avebury Lorne House is perfectly situated for guests wishing to explore the beauty and history of this lovely corner of Wiltshire. Lorne House was the childhood home of the Rev. W J Awdry, author of Thomas the Tank Engine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lorne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne House Hotel Box
Lorne House Box, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing