We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B -Great Location”
Review of Lorne House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lorne House
Ranked #1 of 7 Box B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for visit to Bath and local area. Room was large with comfy king size bed and modern wet room Breakfast lovely with lots of choice. Jackie was very helpful with directing us to great local pub, The Northey for dinner, terrific food. Great location for visiting Bath,on site parking allowed us to leave the car and just half an hour to Bath city centre on local bus.

Room Tip: worth paying for a deluxe room, one double room (not the one I stayed in), which I assume is a stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 209 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed a night at Lorne House in May 2013. The house has been well restored and is in excellent order.

Our room was on the first floor and was very neat and clean. The bed was wonderful and comfy and we had a great night's sleep. The decor was lovely and the room was supplied with lots of teas, coffees, hot chocolates and biscuits. The wet room was of a good size with a great shower. Breakfast was nice with a range of options. The lady serving the breakfasts was particularly friendly and helpful and gave us some good sight-seeing tips for the area.

The house was the childhood home of Reverend Wilbert Awdry and its close proximity to the rail line was said to be his inspiration for writing the Thomas The Tank Engine books. A great find and I recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank runsammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

When I say pricey, it's in keeping with most of the accomodation round here - that said I can't really fault the house or the room, other than the room being a little on the smallish side. However, the adjoining wetroom is very chic, and the shower superb. Cant get used to sitting on a square toilet though - seems a bit, well square. I now understand why conventional toilets are shaped the way they are!! But 10/10 to the owners for flying in the face of traditionalism and trying something bold for this type of house.
Parking is limited in a smallish driveway at the side - there is another property just at the bottom of the driveway, and if the owners cars are there it's very very tight to turn around. That said there's a doctor's surgery next door and you'll be allowed to park on it outside the working hours of 9 - 5:30. So my advice would be to do this if you can. I was unaware of this until I'd parked in the driveway.
Breakfast is as high a quality as you'd expect for an establishment like this.
I'd be happy to stay here again - however being on a tight budget and having to pay my own expenses - it would have to be only occasionally. If you have your expenses paid though, Go for it - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teesee1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My friend and I enjoyed a lovely nights stay at Lorne House over the Easter weekend. as the cost was fairly reasonable we didn't have particularly high expectations but we were very pleasantly surprised to find picture perfect Lorne House in beautiful Box village excellently located for accessing Bath. The b&b has been very tastefully furnished throughout and our room was lovely - fantastic decor, a wonderful wet / bath room and the most comfortable bed. The owners were very friendly and helpful before and during our stay helping us choose restaurants, booking taxis and advising on bus schedules. We enjoyed a wonderful meal at The Northey just a short distance from the b&b and appreciated the 10% Lorne House guest discount. I left with two regrets - we should have driven straight to the b&b and taken a bus from there directly into Bath rather than navigating the crazy city centre traffic (never again!). And we should have stayed an extra night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgeorgiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This B+B impressed from the start, very friendly service from the hosts in a nicely decorated house.

We stayed in room 1 (double) which had a great decor, comfy double and an amazing wet room. (Marked in the photos as the Dickens Room). The breakfast was great, in a stylish breakfast room.

Would fully recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of days. The owners Fran & Mike are very friendly and helpful. The room was very good, clean, comfortable, superb wet room. The vast selection of tea, coffee and chocolate and biscuits in the room was also a nice touch. Ample opportunities to find good food within walking distance and very handy for Bath and other slightly further afield towns and sights such as Stonehenge.
Will definitely go back if I'm ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyEyedPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

As a 50th Birthday treat for my mother, I wanted to take her to the Thermae Spa in Bath, followed by Afternoon Tea.
After spending a good four hours looking for reasonably priced hotels in Bath, I was stumped. The lowest price I could find for one night (and for a decent looking place) was at least £200. Maybe because it was Mother's Day weekend, or maybe just because it's Bath.
So I broadened my horizons and looked at B&Bs as well. Then I came across this great little find - Lorne House in the nearby village of Box. After having a look on their website, I was quite happy to see such lovely looking rooms and such reasonable prices - between £65 and £180.
So I quickly decided to book up the twin room, costing just £95!
On arrival, we were greeted by the owner, who was very pleasant. First impressions were great - the house had obviously been refurbished to a very high standard, while the bedroom was so cosy!
The bedroom was absolutely immaculate, with good quality bedding. My only complaint would be that the pillow was a little too firm, but this is down to personal opinion, and we were also offered feather pillows.
The breakfast was also delicious - I had grapefruit and peach slices, followed by a poached egg on toast - not on the menu, but the chef seemed more than happy to cook it for us.
I have recommended this hotel to my friends and family - if you want luxurious hotel standards at a fraction of the price, then this is definitely the place to visit.

Room Tip: I didn't see any of the other rooms - we were in the basement twin room, and I couldn't faul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SayHelloToDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Box
2.9 mi away
Methuen Arms Hotel
Methuen Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Corsham
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Northey
The Northey
#2 of 7 in Box
278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barn House B&B
Barn House B&B
#4 of 7 in Box
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Show Prices

Been to Lorne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne House

Address: Lorne House London Road, Box, Corsham SN13 8NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Corsham > Box
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Box
Price Range: $136 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management since November 2016, Lorne House offers guests smart and sophisticated accommodation with ensuite modern wetrooms or bathrooms. Furnished to a very high standard, Lorne House is a stylish home from home offering our guests an elegant charm and very friendly welcome. Breakfasts are hearty and traditionally English. Close to Bath, Lacock, Castle Combe, Corsham, Bradford on Avon and Avebury Lorne House is perfectly situated for guests wishing to explore the beauty and history of this lovely corner of Wiltshire. Lorne House was the childhood home of the Rev. W J Awdry, author of Thomas the Tank Engine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Lorne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne House Hotel Box
Lorne House Box, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing