We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal service has been resumed!”
Review of Cafe Lowrey - CLOSED

Cafe Lowrey
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Normal service has been resumed!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

After our bad experience in August my wife and decided to see if it was just a momentary glitch.
I'm delighted to report that it must have been.
Our lunch there this month was a delightful experience. The quality of the food has never been in any doubt (still the best cheese soufflé on the planet according to my wife) and I'm pleased to say that the service was back to its usual high standard.
Keep up the good work.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scallopsforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Cafe Lowrey is one of my top restaurants of all time! The food is delicious, the staff are lovely and the atmosphere is calm, relaxed and friendly. It's a great place to go whether for a quite meal for one or for a bigger gathering. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorudal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great find- we loved it.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I went here on the advice of a friend and we were delighted with it. We had Sunday lunch an it was everything one could hope for and brilliant value. Every was cooked to perfection and tasted superb. It makes a great change to leave a restaurant not feeling ripped off. We really felt that we had had a lovely lunch and had also had great value for money.
Try this place, its great!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning local produce served with charm”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Sunday lunch at Café Lowrey with my mother Joyce was yet again superb. The rare roast beef was the best I have tasted in a restaurant for years. The vegetables were as per usual excellent - fresh full coloured and a great mixture cooked to perfection.
The Onion soup was superb as was the Prawn dish.
The Early bird and Sunday lunch menu is a tremendous bargain. Why anyone pays for pub food when one can eat cooking of this quality beats me.
The young girl who served us was charming and attentive. The owner was on hand to deal with my rather awkward mother - she regards the menu as the opening gambit, not something she will eat without her "improvements". Ian could not have been more charming to her as he changed dishes to accommodate her various dietary requirements.
This restaurant consistently offers great produce cooked with proficiency and imagination.
I strongly recommend it and look forward to my next visit eagerly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MitfordJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family birthday celebration”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have had several visits to cafe lowery and this was the latest in order to celebrate my birthday. Six of us enjoyed wonderful food, excellent house wine and the usual splendid service. Special thanks to owner, Ian for the special table decorations. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lowrey also viewed

Ponteland, Northumberland
 
Ponteland, Northumberland
Ponteland, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing