We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilll place to take children of any age”

Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Ponteland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a great day out for all the family at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens with over three hundred species of animals including emus, wallabies, marmosets, pygmy goats, donkeys, meerkats, lemurs and many more.Visitors can meet the keepers and learn about the animals and their habitats. With a rolling programme of kids' activities and play areas, forest trails, garden walks, picnic areas and a brand new tea room and gift shop, there really is something for all of the family.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is a lovely place to visit and it is fairly reasonable to get in for the whole day.
I took my 18 month old and he loved it, the staff were so friendly and fantastic with the children. They let the children put the Guinea Pigs on their knees and stroke them. The place is lovely and clean and there are activities going on if you want to join in but nobody forces you to do them if you don't want to. In the places where all the animals were are all labelled with lots of information about each animal. There was also staff about to ask information if you wanted any questions answered. You are also allowed to take your own picnic and they do have a tea room across the car park if you want to eat from there. There is plenty of parking near the entrance and once you have your ticket you could come in and out to the car if you needed to. A map was given to us with our ticket when we paid to guide us around the site. This is a lovely spacious and well looked after place, I was very impressed and we will be returning!

1  Thank traceyrobson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkleyHallZoo, Manager at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely 5* review, we are delighted you had such an enjoyable visit to Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens. The children sounds like they had a brilliat time in the petting barn and hopefully a very educational visit!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Jenny Cairns
Operations & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"zip wire"
in 46 reviews
"play area"
in 37 reviews
"climbing wall"
in 22 reviews
"animal encounters"
in 11 reviews
"zoological gardens"
in 28 reviews
"rabbits and guinea pigs"
in 11 reviews
"interesting animals"
in 6 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 10 reviews
"family ticket"
in 13 reviews
"visited today"
in 10 reviews
"walled garden"
in 22 reviews
"tea room"
in 18 reviews
"little boy"
in 8 reviews
"few hours"
in 16 reviews
"woodland walk"
in 10 reviews
"year olds"
in 7 reviews
"family visit"
in 6 reviews
Filter

342 - 346 of 423 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Superb animals, my daughter loved it and took ages to get her round everything she had to keep going back to the marmosets and snakes ! Nice woodland trail and overall well worth the money as it was cheap to get in

Thank newcastletibetan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkleyHallZoo, Manager at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your fabulous 5* review, we are delighted that you felt the day was good value for money. We are big fans of the marmosets too so we understand why your daughter kept wanting to pop back!
Hope you come back and see our ever expanding collection of animals very soon!
Kind regards
Jenny Cairns
Operations & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

All five us in for £16 was great value and we ended up staying nearly five hours by the time we had attended the interesting animal encounters, visited the petting barn and wandered along the lovely river walk and through the gardens where we were rewarded with some extra animals the terrapins and birds and a small play area. we gather this is soon to have some swings and slides added which will improve it, however my son loved playing on the climbing forest which is nearer the main animal area. we had a lovely lunch in the tea room which is a nice place to sit and the cake was really nice. There were loads of interesting animals, well kept and all looking healthy with lots of space as well as lots of interesting information about them. we loved seeing the lemur babies, tamarins and a porcupine up close which was a first for us. great value and will be back.

Thank NewcastleCueto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkleyHallZoo, Manager at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your brilliant 5* review we are delighted that you had such a fun filled day and that you managed to experience everything we have to offer here at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens.
We are continuously expanding our visitor attraction and we hope you will pop back and see us again soon!
Kind regards
Jenny Cairns
Operations & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We took our 5 and 1 year old for the day. £16 for us to get into the zoological gardens. There wasn't that much to see for he money. Best point was the children getting to stroke the rabbits.
We were only in there about 45 minutes.
We decided to go to the tea rooms which was £22 pound for 2 x kids meals two paninis and 2 coffees.
We walked to the kids play area which was a good 15 minute walk and we had to cut through a college !
The play area was very disappointing !
No slides or swings and it was indoor.

Thank Wat002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkleyHallZoo, Manager at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear that you do not feel our visitor attraction is value for money, as you were only here for 2 hours I am concerned that you have missed out on a lot of the activities we have on offer.

We have the following animal encounters throughout the day
10:00am – Animal handling with rabbits and guinea pigs
11:00am – Reptile talk and handling
11:45am – Hands on with our donkeys, Shetland ponies or goats
12:30pm – Coati training
1:00pm – Meerkat feeding with their keeper
1:30pm – Lemur feeding with their keeper
2:00pm – Reptile talk and handling
2:40pm – Hands on with our donkeys, Shetland ponies or goats

We also have our river and forest trail which takes around 1 hour and takes you all around the Kirkley Hall site allowing you to see some beautiful woodlands.
With regards to the tea room we try and keep the costs as low as possible and base them on similar style cafes in the local area. Our children’s box retail for £4 which include a sandwich, drink, piece of fruit, crisps and a chocolate bar and prove incredibly popular.
We agree that the play area needs some improvements; you may have noticed that up by the indoor play area we have laid some bark chippings as we are currently developing an outdoor play area which should be in place towards the end of the year.
We take all feedback seriously and we use it to continue to improve our visitor attraction, we hope you will come and visit us again soon to enjoy the different areas that you missed on your first visit.

Kind regards
Jenny Cairns
Operations & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I am always looking for places to take two lively grandchildren to when they visit me in the North East and I was thrilled to come across this zoo. We arrived just in time for the start of Captain Raggy Beard's adventure. He had all of the children (and the adults) enthralled as he led them around the zoo looking for pixie dust and finally treasure.
The zoo itself although not big, is ideal for the children with plenty of animals to see. There is a lovely picnic area within the zoo so no need to spend extra money in the cafe. However we did eat in the cafe and found the food and service to be very good at a reasonable price.
The grounds at Kirkley Hall are worth a visit in their own right as they are beautifuland one could easily spend a pleasant hour or so just wandering in the gardens.
The only thing I was disappointed with was that there was no outdoor play area for children between the ages of about 3-6 years. There is an outdoor area for older children and the under threes have an indoor play area which has the potential for improvement.

2  Thank Fredafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirkleyHallZoo, Manager at Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, you sound like you had a fabulous time with Captain Raggy Beard, he is always a big hit!
The zoo is by no means huge however, we pride ourselves in having a fascinating collection of animals that live in a very high standard of enclosure and we are delighted that you appreciated this.
We fully agree that we are missing an outdoor play area and this is something we are currently looking into so fingers crossed we will have one next time you pop back and visit us! We love you hear that people have also enjoyed the gardens at Kirkley Hall as they are a day out in themselves and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Jenny Cairns
Operations & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Kirkley Hall Zoological Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing