We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class place to stay”
Review of The Old Craft Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Craft Barn
Ranked #1 of 3 Dent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First class place to stay”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for the weekend in January 2013, and found it to be an exceptional place to stay. We were welcomed with afternoon tea and scones, and from then on it was first class service all the way. Immaculate beautiful room, perfect hosts, and breakfasts that were as good as you could get anywhere. We would recommend without the slightest hesitation, and will happily return. A real gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stay here if you are looking for comfort, relaxation and a very warm welcome. This is British hospitality at its very best; every aspect reaches the highest standards and puts our hotel sector to shame.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just got back from an overnight stay and it was perfect in every way. Certainly deserves 5 stars. Wonderful accommodation with great attention to detail. Very friendly, amazing breakfasts. Highly recommended. Hope to return next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Carol bakes her own bread and scones and we sampled both during our short stay. They were excellent.

Joe and Carol were very hospitable and thoughtful, providing tea and scones when we first arrived. The twin en-suite room we had was very quiet and comfortable and the whole atmosphere very restful. They also gave relevant and practical advice for local facilities and were able to provide an early cooked breakfast for us the following morning which comprised real local produce including the best black pudding I have eaten.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Wonderful, relaxing and beautifully finished rooms with a magic view through the large barn window whilst having breakfast. The hosts Carol and Joe couldn't have given a better service they are so attentive and make you feel completely relaxed and at home. They gave us a lovely tour of their home when you can fully appreciate its beautiful location. The breakfast was so tasty with a great choice ...didn't want to leave this fab B&B...thanks for a lovely memory ,Karen&Mike x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wonderful, comfortable accommodation with attentive care and a great breakfast. Highly recommended.

We stayed for two nights in the Hay Loft. We were welcomed on arrival with tea and cake in the guest lounge. Excellent double room in newly-constructed purpose-built accommodation; spacious with en-suite bathroom & shower. Room has excellent facilities; quality toiletries, large-screen TV, good storage, tea/coffee facilities (with home-baked cookies).

We had our own key to come & go as well pleased. Excellent off-road parking. Footpaths into the fells start at the property so we took a great hike into nearby Dent. Excellent breakfast with quality local ingredients. Good buffet spread of cereals, fruit, juice and baked goods. Personally cooked food made to order. The owners were very welcoming, friendly and accommodating and we unreservedly recommend this destination.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I spent a night with daughter in law and granddaughter at this 'luxury' b and b and it's just that. A very friendly welcome from Carrol and Joe Stephenson including homemade scones and jam. The room was furnished with everything you could need and Carrol and Joe were completely relaxed about granddaughter playing with games in the sitting room and dropping food (by accident) from the high chair. The breakfast was perfectly presented with a very good range of cold and hot food cooked to order. The view across the dale is stunning even in the rain gloom of the day. If you need anyway to stay in this area try here first.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dent
12.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
2.4 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
33 reviews
12.9 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
255 reviews
2.7 mi away
Howgills Guest House & Apartments
2.7 mi away
The Dalesman Country Inn
The Dalesman Country Inn
#4 of 11 in Sedbergh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Craft Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Craft Barn

Property: The Old Craft Barn
Address: Helmside, Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Dent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dent
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Craft Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Craft Barn offers luxury bed and breakfast to the more discerning traveller. Charming accommodation in a beautiful location with the assurance of a warm welcome. An award winning breakfast sets you up for a day in the Dales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Craft Barn Dent, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing