We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage!”
other travelers have booked this property
The detached Methodist Manse cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The detached Methodist Manse cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The detached Methodist Manse cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lianne H
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed July 2, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just stayed at this lovely cottage with our family including a small baby and a dog for a long weekend and we loved it. The cottage is lovely, well equipped and very comfortable. The beds are very comfy and we had great sleeps. Dent is very picturesque and we ate at a couple of the local pubs/cafes. Kirkby
Lonsdale is a very nice town within driving distance and worth a visit. We didn’t venture any further as we were lucky enough to have amazing weather too!
We were very impressed and would highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed June 5, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Methodist Manse is ideally placed in the North of England. The dales are literally right on the doorstep. The cottage is beautifully appointed and finished to a high standard. The beds were really comfy and the rooms can be set as doubles or twins which could be very convenient. The local village pubs are very friendly and both serve food. The Sun Inn had a pub quiz one evening which was very competitive but really friendly. Dent station is actually 4 miles from Dent and is on the Leeds/Settle to Carlisle line. We had a great week weather wise and was able to relax and enjoy the break. We will recommend this property to family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison J
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 8, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Stayed here with a group of friends for a walking week over Easter. Nicely situated but quite narrow roads to access the property, ideal location for a walking break, with many routes on your doorstep including the 3 Peaks. This cottage is very comfortable and well laid out, I had good night's sleep as quiet and beds very comfy. In all a relaxing break so highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisebrc...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage! Beautifully restored and really cosy yet spacious so perfect for a relaxing walking weekend away with friends. The cottage is right on the doorstep to some incredible walks and Dent is such a beautiful little village with some great local pubs (which are well needed after a long day’s walk!) We have visited twice and are already planning a trip for 2017!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liznuttal...
Dent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable Christmas at the Methodist Manse”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the Methodist Manse to accommodate part of our large family visiting Dent for Christmas. It was everything and more we could have wished for. The house was beautifully arranged with a Christmas Tree, chocolates on pillows, and even a large welcoming bottle of Prosecco. The 'wow' factor was immense and I was awarded top brownie points for choosing such a gorgeous place to share the holiday. The owners have thought of everything. There's plenty of parking and the back door entrance provides the place to kick of your boots and hang up your coats (it rained a lot this Christmas). Two of the bedrooms have bathrooms attached and there's a family bathroom with a large bath for a good soak as well as a shower and loo downstairs. Everyone loved the wonderfully comfy beds. The house is kept at a perfect temperature with the log burner in the living room adding extra cosiness. There is plenty of kitchen equipment and enough room to invite extras for dinner and drinks round the fire. We had a truly wonderful Christmas. The owners have created a truly welcoming and luxurious country retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chr5
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a family catch-up weekend in early December, six of us plus a small child. Extremely comfortable, clean and very well presented. Equipped to a high standard. A real treat. All the rooms are a good size with some lovely spaces to sit, chat, eat and watch the fells. Plenty of space all round, nice lighting, uncluttered, good wifi and great atmosphere - log burner also to enjoy. Very relaxing place to stay. The bedrooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean, really comfortable beds. It's on the edge of Dent village with a couple of good friendly pubs, cafe and a village shop within a few minutes easy walk. Good walking also from the house and plenty of parking space. We all enjoyed it and will certainly think about returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen P
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had a fabulous week at The Methodist Manse.
Two of our daughters now live in Yorkshire and so we regularly rent large houses for our get togethers all over the Dales. We know and love Dent Dale although this was our first time staying in the village. We will feel we are cottage holiday experts and think wholeheartedly, this is a gem!
Firstly it has been beautifully and imaginatively renovated, keeping the feel of the old with the comfort of the new. It says it sleeps eight adults and no tricks, no " adult " bunk beds but four beautiful double rooms. It does not have seven dining chairs and a stool or arm chairs for six and two large cushions for the floor, all eight adults can sit comfortably.It has comfortable garden chairs for all, which even in the first week in October we were lucky enough to use. You can see already that for a family reunion the arguments between siblings were obliterated at once!
But for us this house went the extra mile. Good bedside reading lights, excellent kitchen equipment, pots that fitted the oven, and plenty of crockery and glasses.
We were very grateful to have permission to take dogs but even the facilities for them were excellent making them easy to manage and I hope the cleaner will report their visit has resulted in no damage or extra work for them.
So all in all, just great. We plan to be back in the future and felt very sad leaving today.
Thank you, for your little northern powerhouse!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing