We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a difference!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George and Dragon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We booked 2 nights at the George & Dragon as a consolation for th e Horrific stay at the Bull in sedbergh two weeks before this trip (See review for The Bull Hotel Sedbergh)

What a difference--Clean Rooms, Good Food, Excellent Staff, The Beer--Perfect.

What more can I say? We will go again--and again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for The George and Dragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 234 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2009

Wonderful, picturesque town, atmosphere, fantastic landlady. Stayed on the night of a Celtic Band playing in the pub below. Very fun atmosphere and when I went to bed, couldn't hear anything from downstairs. Clean and comfortable, great price. Inn is several 100s years old...beautiful.

Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
1  Thank StephanieP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

This was just a one night stay en route from the Lake District to the North East. Dent is a lovely little village and we had a very comfortable night at the G & D. Excellent room, nicely furnished, good bed and a sparkling clean bathroom. Would definitely recommend the hotel and my husband would also recommend the local Aviator beer!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Dent - Just felt like things hadn't changed here, could just imagine how people used to live in early 1900's. Stayed at the George and Dragon rooms comfortable and clean and enjoyed a good breakfast, lovely scenery nearby, but watch out for the roads, only room for one car in places. A visit to the Heritage Centre took us back to our childhood, well worth it. Overall a good weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marlobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We had a lovely first trip to Dent and on the whole enjoyed the George and Dragon. The bar staff were friendly and the room was fine with lovely views and comfy bed. Bathroom was roomy with plenty of hot water. However we were disappointed with the restaurant . We booked in at 7.30 and as the only waitress was busy taking a large order for party of and standing waiting to be seated for few minutes we just sat at an empty table. Not sure if the waitress took exception to this but she virtually ignored us for the rest of the evening even though I explained why we had sat ourselves down.She started clearing tables even though restaurant was not even half full and after waiting about 10 minutes had to ask her for a menu. After that we had to constantly ask for things that she was bringing to other guests without them asking ie cutlery, condiments, desert menu etc. We didn`t even bother asking for drinks we got our own from the bar. Not sure what her problem was but the waitress at breakfast was fine- she may have been having an off night but it spoiled it for us a bit. Also the starter at over £4 for a small piece of rarebit was a bit steep. However food was very tasty.
All in all a nice stay but it`s a shame the attitude of the waitress marred things a bit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We joined some friends who were walking the "Dalesway" and stayed one night with them at The George and Dragon. We paid £75 B&B (2 people) in room 15. This room is directly over the pool room and the "boom boom" from the jukebox was terrible. Fortunately this ceased at 11.00pm. We found the general decor of our room very poor, particularly the bathroom. Seven of us ate in the restaurant and the food was very variable. Two of the group had duck as a starter which was inedible. To be fair they were not charged. The best meal by far was the lamb.
We felt £75 was very expensive for this quality of accommodation. We have not stayed in this area before and have been told this is the norm.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fulstoneflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

great hotel with good staff and service excellent food and drinks in bar .
dent has many local walks so you can leave the car and just go out and enjoy local country side

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanleyPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dent
8.6 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
292 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Head at Middleton
The Head at Middleton
#1 of 1 in Middleton
98 reviews
11.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
549 reviews
20.3 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,318 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 12 in Sedbergh
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon

Address: Main Street, Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Dent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Price Range: $127 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George and Dragon, Dent, is a rural pub, with 10 en-suite bedrooms. We offer a range of beers for our local Dent Brewery alongside nitro-keg and bottled lagers, ciders and bitters Situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and just within the border of Cumbria, we are a great base for walking. We offer food daily (noon-2pm and 6pm-8:30pm) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Dent
The George And Dragon Dent, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing