We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a vist”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George and Dragon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a vist”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed one night as part of walking the Dales Way. Dent is a lovely village and the Inn is very much at home. Excellent beer from Dent brewery and proper cider/ perry also. Landlord is a big cheese in local CAMRA. Room clean, good size, comfortable. Lamb Henry on black pudding mash just the thing after a 14 mile hike. Excellent freshly cooked full English breakfast served half hour early on request, friendly bar staff and got a lift to Sedburgh courtesy of landlord and wife to rest my knackered knee. What's not to like?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    91
    41
    15
    3
See reviews for
31
102
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Room nice, beer great, evening meal super, breakfast obviously not cooked by the same person as it was a huge disappointment. We also had to go to the kitchen to find someone to pay when we were leaving. We won't return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Bentham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We just spent a night here as we wanted a base to walk Whernside ! We were not disappointed the room was spotless and the breakfast was really nice! The food was good although we couldn't finish as portions were huge, not always a bad thing i know i do have a healthy appetite however on this occasion the gammon steak beat me!
The choice of real ales was good all in all we would return
Definitely would recommend as a base for walking dentdale the views are amazing !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booked through Laterooms at a very reasonable price for 2 nights. Easy to find and in a quaint village. Room was fine except, as it was in the middle of the heat wave, very hot-struggled to sleep at night. Can't fault the Hotel for this though. My only criticism of the room was that the bed was way too soft. The Bar was well stocked with Dent Ales, made by the local brewery who also owned the Hotel. Food Ok, not a great choice and rather expensive, we ate up the road the second night. Overall, would stay there again but not when the weather is very hot

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just spent a weekend in Dent and spent most of it being entertained by the staff in this pub.

Very friendly and accommodating.

good food, friendly locals and helpful staff

Thank you, we will be back again soon hopefully

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The words we have used will be understood by the people who shared the restaurant time with us.
Really enjoyed our stay but cannot understand how you cook Tuna to be tough.
Service excellent all the staff excellent but nobody seemed accountable for our disappointment at the food, girls just said you will have to talk to Gary, still waiting for him to appear, never the less had a good time overall.

Room Tip: Rooms are all ok and comfortable, £60 is about right but not right for the quality of the food as an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I've read one or two of the other poor reviews and had to put this up as I don't agree. Sure the landlord can take some getting used to but he's ok when you get used to him. The other staff were all friendly to a fault and very helpful. Food is very nice and well priced, fish and chip Friday shouldn't be missed at £7.50 as the fish is home cooked and battered, and the chips are proper hand cut not frozen bagged ones. All in all I was very happy with what I got for the money and would recommend it if your walking in the area. Lastly, the beer, a huge selection of real ales from their own brewery and a couple of guest. And on the friday night we had a cider tasting - very good!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank andywakeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dent
11.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
10.7 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Head at Middleton
The Head at Middleton
#1 of 1 in Middleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Dalesman Country Inn
The Dalesman Country Inn
#6 of 11 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon

Property: The George and Dragon
Address: Main Street, Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Dent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George and Dragon 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George and Dragon, Dent, is a rural pub, with 10 en-suite bedrooms. We offer a range of beers for our local Dent Brewery alongside nitro-keg and bottled lagers, ciders and bitters Situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and just within the border of Cumbria, we are a great base for walking. We offer food daily (noon-2pm and 6pm-8:30pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Dent
The George And Dragon Dent, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing