We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected a little more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George and Dragon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expected a little more”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was the most expensive place I stayed at during my Dales Way walk at £90 per night. The bedroom was pretty tired and old fashioned. The service was OK, but not particularly welcoming and the service at dinner was rather abrupt. There doesn't appear to many options for accomodation in Dent, so the G&D are hardly pushed for competition. The beer was very good, but the food only average. I stayed for one night and it was fine, but wouldn't have wanted to stay longer. Pretty average and over-priced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dunkers_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    91
    43
    15
    4
See reviews for
32
103
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel was fine, clean and basic, but with a price-tag that would usually get much more modern and high quality facilities. The rooms are a bit tired, and we had to search out staff to get any service at breakfast. That said, if you have reason to stay in Dent, it does the job.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate_and_John_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Without doubt the best pub in the village. The Hotel is well run by Gary and supported by friendly helpfull staff that provide excellent accommodation and the food is fantastic. I stayed for a week and decided to smash the menu and both myself and my partner could not decide a favourite. All food sourced locally and can honestly say I have never seen such generous portions like it before. Price wise I found them average compared to most hotels, but then most dont offer locally produced real Ale (Dent). The Ale is well kept and very reasonable prices. I have already arranged another visit. The location is ideal for coast to coast and central for the lakes and Howgills and good walking

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We only had drinks here but a lovely pub. Menu seemed good, if a bit expensive.
the toilets very clean, with baby changing. There is also a pool table.
The TV was on most of the time, this may put people off.
Good choice of beers - 3-4 on at any one time.
Well worth a visit - we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just returned from a long, relatively rain-free, weekend at the G & D in Dent. We 4 couples (and dogs) have a long weekend walking in the Dales every year. This was our first time in Dentdale which is simply beautiful. The G & D is far superior both in terms of beer, food and accommodation to the only other pub in the village, the Sun. We received a friendly welcome and service in the bar and restaurant was very good. Room was clean and comfortable but the walls are very thin and you can hear every flush of the toilet next door! Food was plentiful if a little uninspired and good value for money. Good walks from the door of the pub - we'd recommend up Flinter Gyll and round the Occupation Road to Deepdale then back along the river.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorksgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were warmly welcomed at the ' George and Dragon' - I recognised the landlord from when he had previously been at a public house in Ravenstonedale - I had also stayed at that establishment as well. The room we had for three people was a family room - a double bed and a bunkbed. I had eaten earlier in the day at a pub further up the valley but joined one of my friends who was having a meal at the 'George and Dragon' for an evening feed. My friend had the triple Cumberland Sausage and mash that looked very good - I had a bowl of Leek and Potato soup which was served with a lovely mini 'Hovis' type loaf! The soup and bread were first class. Breakfast in the morning was of a high quality - just what was need for the hard slog of the day over to Bramaskew.

Room Tip: We had a family room which would indeed be better suited to a man, wife and children not three male...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimp466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Having read the reviews where the landlord's demeanour seemed to feature highly but the rest of the comments were positive, we decided to try this pub b&b for a weekend. The landlord didn't fail to live up to expectations and unwittingly provided us with never ending entertainment! He welcomed us with "This place is full of bloody campers. They are all hiding from the rain." He excelled himself when with apparent relish, he announced to the whole breakfast room that the village was cut-off after a lorry managed to wedge itself stuck in the narrow main street. I think that the fact that the lorry had crashed into the other pub in the village made his day. That aside, he was one of the first people trying to sort the problem out. A closet happy I think. It would be remiss of me not to mention that the beer is excellent with a full selection from the brewery in the village. If you like beer, this is a MUST VISIT pub. Try golden fleece and aviator beers. Nectar! Full english breakfast was great. The perfect start to a day exploring the dale.
The rooms were of the quality that one finds in most pubs. Decor was a bit 1990s but everything was clean. The pub had live music where local musicians turned up for a session. Don't know if this is a regular event. The sound didn't reach our room on top floor. Only downside was the price. I expected something a little more plush for £80 a night. The village is very pretty and if I went back to Dent, would definitely drink there and almost certainly stay there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Zureal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dent
18.9 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
11.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
397 reviews
4.0 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
11.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
525 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Dalesman Country Inn
The Dalesman Country Inn
#4 of 11 in Sedbergh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon

Property: The George and Dragon
Address: Main Street, Dent, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Dent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George and Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George and Dragon, Dent, is a rural pub, with 10 en-suite bedrooms. We offer a range of beers for our local Dent Brewery alongside nitro-keg and bottled lagers, ciders and bitters Situated in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and just within the border of Cumbria, we are a great base for walking. We offer food daily (noon-2pm and 6pm-8:30pm) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Dent
The George And Dragon Dent, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing