We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned again”
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Returned again”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Once more Gordon looked after us to the usual high standard and the staff could not be more helpful, the food is presented well and is just the right quantity for us to enjoy without feeling obliged to make us uncomfortably full, many thanks.
We have already booked another break in September.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wooddust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    56
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
127
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Attended a wedding reception last weekend and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The setting is also very pleasant. The meal had good and bad points. I was impressed that the meal was hot as there were over 50 diners and I know this can be an issue. The beef and chicken were moist and tasty. The chicken and leek tart starter also had no complaints. However, the yorkshire pudding were distinctly singed around the edges (and putting it on the plate upside down, to hide the fact, is not acceptable). The potatoes were tough to eat like they had been kept around waiting. The crumble dessert had barely any crumble!!!! And apple and blackberry is not exactly seasonal! The custard, for those that got any, was watery. I cannot comment on the rooms as we were not staying overnight.
It feels as if they are trying but missing the mark on several counts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Ash House on the nights of 28th and 29th March.

The best advice I can give anyone considering staying there and, for me, the most important thing you can find in a hotel and restaurant, is that the owners really care about what they do and about their guests.

Not only do they care, they also listen to the guests and look at how they can make things even better for them.

We will remember our stay at Ash House for a very long time and I would not hesitate to say to you that these genuine, hard working and thoughtful people deserve your custom and your consideration. They have sought to create something special with their hotel and restaurant.

It is so hard to please all your customers but if you care as much about them and about your standards as Ash House do, then you deserve recognition for it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharityExec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed for a two night break in a superior room and was delighted with the accommodation, service and food. Hotel room was clean, comfortable and in keeping with the hotel. Complimentary dressing gowns and slippers. The bar was warm and welcoming with it's open fire. The meals on both evenings were very nice but we felt would benefit from some more veg and or potatoes. Would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

On arrival we were taken into the bar, which was very nice, to look at the menu and choose our meal. unfortunately that is where the good points ended. We were very disappointed with our meal, the meat was under cooked, there was only one dish of vegetables (broccoli and carrots) between four of us. We would definitely not recommend Sunday lunch here and shall not be returning - very expensive meal which was not worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate and Del M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWD42, Owner at Ash House Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your lunch with us on Mothers Day. We always cook our beef medium rare as this is what the majority of people request and if a guest wishes it cooked medium or well done, we would be happy to do this. As it was Mothers Day, we serve a more relaxed menu from our normal menu as many of our guests prefer this style on a Sunday. Obviously, we were running on full capacity on this day and I am glad you liked the surroundings and the service. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here again last week and it was perfection as always - a warm welcome, courteous staff, fabulous cuisine and sumptuous beds in elegant rooms - tranquility personified. This hotel is all about relaxation and quality amongst people you would count as your friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shower only so specify if you want a bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Only 40 minutes from home, but it felt as though we had crossed a continent. From check in to departure we were superbly cared for. Room was very comfortable, but you had to clamber around the television. Dinner was a delight. Well worth a visit ot two!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suejames111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
5.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
351 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
365 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
235 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Property: Ash House Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing