We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed here again on our way through to Devon, but will be returning shortly for longer. House and grounds are very special and everything about this hotel is just wonderful, from the friendly greeting (usually by the owner) to the lovely calming rooms and the oh so comfy beds. The food must be tasted to be believed, fresh (much straight from the garden) cooked to perfection and beautifully presented by truly friendly staff who seem genuinely to want to make your stay as pleasant as possible. A big thank you to them for, once again, making our trip so memorable. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    57
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
42
129
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just returned from weekend break. Very relaxing, rooms lovely and food excellent. Gardens a delight to sit in. We had to take our dog with us - no problem very welcome to stay. Staff very helpful and friendly. If you are looking for a relaxing break just book you will have a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaynorheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Excellent stays in the Ambrosia Superior room and Crispin Room. It was really lovely being able to have a drink in the bar in a relaxed atmosphere too. Being Brits but currently living in the USA we truly appreciated the British feel of the place, polite, calm and efficient. Breakfast on the Sunday morning was lovely in the conservatory too. Thank you - will definitely consider staying when in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritHammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

my partner booked this as a birthday treat for me , i was very pleased ,what a wonderfull building full of charm ,the owner and his staff are second to none so friendly and attentive, the room was lovely with views of the garden ,but was extra special due to the luxury bed linen and the super fluffy towels, we booked dinner bed and breakfast ,the food in the resturant was very very good, and the breakfast was wonderfull with the hot menu cooked to order. we loved the snug bar area ,all in all this hotel is well worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lianneb572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston u Thames
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This old house and it's grounds has been carefully and beautifully restored by Gordon - who also makes a superb 'Mine Host'. Excellent food and well chosen wines to go with it. A lovely quiet location ideally placed for touring the local area. No need to say more about the food and rooms - it's all been said but do try and get someone to take you down to collect your own eggs for breakfast from the amazing chickens at the bottom of the garden!

Room Tip: 4 of us had 3 different rooms between us and they were all excellent -
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Driftboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Lovely hotel with great staff who have a genuine interest in making sure your stay is a good one. The building and grounds are gorgeous. Breakfast in the conservatory is a great start to the day. Rooms are large and comfortable, and the hotel bar is snug. We would certainly return to stay here.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simba750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the Ash House hotel on our way down to Devon for half term. The hotel has a lovely friendly atmosphere. At the time of booking they were very flexible, adding an extra bed so as a family we could share a room. Dinner in the restaurant was of a high standard and our two young boys loved the breakfast. An ideal hotel if you want something thats more than the bog standard experience. We will return (if they'll have us!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjohn5964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
5.1 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
367 reviews
3.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
559 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Property: Ash House Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing