We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brief family stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ash House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ash House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A brief family stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the Ash House hotel on our way down to Devon for half term. The hotel has a lovely friendly atmosphere. At the time of booking they were very flexible, adding an extra bed so as a family we could share a room. Dinner in the restaurant was of a high standard and our two young boys loved the breakfast. An ideal hotel if you want something thats more than the bog standard experience. We will return (if they'll have us!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjohn5964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    55
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
125
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have visited Ash Hotel twice this year whilst visiting friends in nearby Coat . In February we stayed in the Alderman room which is beautifully furnished, spacious, clean with comfy beds and lovely bed linen. During our visit this month (June) all superior rooms were fully booked so we stayed in a double room. This was adequate but a little small for us and our large retriever dog. Luckily the Ambrosia room became available and Gorden kindly transferred us, this room is of the same standard as the Alderman Room.
Gordon and his staff were very helpful, friendly and accommodating and very dog friendly.
Food was very good, excellent breakfast to start the day and relaxing evening meal.
Lot of attention to detail in all respects. Would recommend to anyone, but leave a room for us as we will certainly be returning. A big thank you to Gordon and his team.
.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Ash Hotel has become a home away from home as we make regular visits to the area to visit our daughter at a nearby boarding school. The Alderman and Ambroisia rooms are extremely comfortable, fairly priced and spacious enough. Indeed they are a perfect combination for a traveling family of 4. Food is always nice, but our favorite meal is the breakfast, itself a simple but tasty affair. Staff are always helpful and friendly, whilst the gardens offer a pleasant place for a drink or even a meal, if the sun is shinning. Overall, a perfect stop for those finishing a multi hour drive!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

we stayed for two nights at the ash house hotel, in the ambrosia room which was very nice indeed, with comfy bed and quality linen & furnishings.
the owner Gordon is friendly, charming and has a high attention to detail in all aspects and nothing is too much trouble.
the food was excellent having sampled both breakfast and evening meal, very well cooked & presented on all occasions.
perfect location for the many attractions in the area.
overall what a little gem of a find - thank you Gordon & the team we 'll see you again i 'm sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgandkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Menu and quality of cooking was A*.
Gordon and his staff were very attentive but they seemed a little uncomfortable in their own skins. Perhaps a little too over eager. Friendly though.
Breakfast again excellently executed with quality ingredients.
Overall a great find and well worth a stay.

Good job old boy!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TelTibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheam, Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Very friendly welcome, room comfortable and evening meal superb - breakfast good as well!
Will stay again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheamtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for just one night whilst visiting friends nearby. I can't comment on the food - although breakfast did smell fantastic! Our room (Bramble, £75 for 1 night, room only) was very good - the bed was comfortable with excellent quality linen, the view over the garden was great and the fresh milk on the tea tray was a nice (and much appreciated) touch. The ensuite was small with just a shower (no bath) but water pressure was good and the bath towels were huge, fluffy and sparkling white. It was also nice to be presented with good quality toiletries (Neutrogena shower gel and shampoo) which are often poor quality, generic offerings in smaller hotels.
Our welcome on arrival was friendly and check in and check out fast and efficient.
I will stay here again when visiting this part of the world and would recommend the hotel very highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quin-i-bog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
5.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash House Hotel

Property: Ash House Hotel
Address: 41 Main Street | Ash, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ash House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash House hotel is a stunning 300 year old manor house set in 1.5 acres of mature gardens. Conveniently situated under a mile off of the A303 at Yeovil, Ash House Hotel is the ideal stop over if traveling through the area or a base to explore from. All of our bedrooms have fine Italian cotton sheets, large fluffy towels and power showers, most rooms have baths also. Relax by the fire in the snug bar or enjoy our excellent locally sourced menu in the Orangery overlooking the flood lit garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ash House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Hotel Country
Ash House Hotel Martock, Somerset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing