We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Hollies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hollies Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This hotel are brilliant very friendly & room clean very spacious. The beds very comfortable indeed. We ended up here after booking problem through booking with travel republic & first hotel double booked. However this hotel took us in & even agreed the same rates as previous booking. It was great to see hotels working together when people had been messed around by booking agents. The food was amazing & fairly priced too. So thank you the hollies for a lovely nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saylott_green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    80
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
62
133
10
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night before a family wedding and were very pleased with the service we received. The room we stayed in had a large comfortable bed, big flat screen tv and tea/coffee facilities (and biscuits!). They even provided a tower fan (not that we required it in this washout of an August!), as well as haidryer, kettle etc.

The staff were very helpful and check in, and allowed us to hang onto the room a little longer after check out time which was very generous as we were busy with wedding admin!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank becky8985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed at the Hollies on Sat Aug 16th with my Step Mum as we going to Buckham Fair the next day. We had booked a twin room back in May, but was dismayed to find we had been put into a double room with a foldaway bed jammed between the desk and the patio doors as there had been a flurry of bookings! We also had to report that neither of the bedside lights were working,apparently a blown fuse that was repaired while we were having dinner. We checked in at
3pm, but no bar or restaurant service was available until 6 although there were tea and coffee etc in the room The tea tray was in the wardrobe on top of the mini bar,but no plug for the kettle so had to plug that in on the bedside table.The bathroom was nice although the shower pressure wasn't, great.As previously written, there are a lot of corridors to negotiate to get from our room-17back to reception or the restaurant,and on checking in had to by pass the cleaner who was hoovering and 3 cleaners trolleys.Dinner was fine, the lamb rump was especially tasty,but the Cornish crab cakes needed a bit more spice, quite dull.Breakfast was also ok, only one choice of juice though.We then went to check out at about 9.30,but no-one on reception.You have to lift the phone receiver to be told to come over the the bar to pay the bill,We were given a reduction of £25 off the room rate,but found the whole experience sadly lacking.We will not be returning

Room Tip: If you book a twin, make sure that is what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfgarnettsmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spent one night here recently and was very impressed. The staff were very friendly when we arrived and throughout our trip, the room was nice, clean, comfortable and quite large if maybe somewhat dated. The restaurant and bar part of the hotel is also great, I had the Fillet Steak and I think it was the best steak I have had outside a specialised steak house.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhallowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Have just returned to Arizona after yet another week in the UK. Originally opting to stay in Yeovil, I moved after the first night at a ghastly town center hotel as my usual haunt on the outskirts was fully booked. I was lucky enough to be recommended to this hotel by a colleague at Agusta Westland, and delighted with the hotel. Rooms large and very well appointed. 50" plasma TV, great for the sports channels. Gym was an added bonus at the end of a day sat in meetings, followed by great food, bar and staff. Please don't change anything, I will be returning on business, and have come to realize that a ten minute trip at the end of a day is worth every minute when you consider haw long you will be in an hotel, and I now have a new place to stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in a double room which was perfect. There are several grades above, maybe I will upgrade next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night in a standard double room which is superbly appointed with good quality
fixtures and fittings, 42" plasma tv, minibar and a top quality bathroom with bath and shower. The Hollies also has an excellent fitness suite with brand new modern Life Fitness cardio machines (eliptical cross trainer, exercise bike, 2x treadmill and a rowing machine) all with ipod connectivity and a plasma tv.

Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice from cooked, continental, fruit, juices, pastries etc. All staff are very professional and courteous. I travel to europe regularly with my job staying in four star hotels from the large hotel chains and the Hollies is a match for any of them. It is also very good value for money priced as a three star hotel, but in my opinion with four star service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We hired two lots of accommodation for the weekend, one being a junior Suite which was absolutely superb, and the other was a Full Apartment at The Hollies Hotel, for the wedding of our daughter was getting married nearby in Muchelney on the Saturday. The apartment was open plan and very spacious, large enough for the bride, two bridesmaids and the mother of the bride to get ready, along with a make up artist, a hairdresser, the photographer and eventually the father of the bride, nobody felt claustrophobic or tripped over each other. It was pristine and beautifully decorated throughout with everything you could want, there was a large flat screen TV in the lounge area with wonderfully soft leather sofas. There were two large double bedrooms both with their own en suites.
The staff were all very pleasant and extremely accommodating, the food divine, I asked for breakfast to be served in the room as we would be getting ready for the wedding from early in the morning. Nothing was too much trouble for them, breakfast was brought along the evening before and laid out beautifully.
I can recommend The Hollies Hotel very highly, we had several wedding guests staying there as well, and all were very impressed. We would definitely stay again, and definitely eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on line and you won't be disappointed. They are all very light and airy. It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
2.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
239 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
185 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies Hotel

Property: The Hollies Hotel
Address: Bower Hinton | Nr Yeovil, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hollies Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superfast WiFi Broadband now available free of charge. 75Meg Download / 20Meg Upload. 36 Exceptional Rooms & Suites Serviced Apartments & Cottages Contemporary Restaurant with Modern British Menu Trendy Bar Open Fires & Stylish Raised Wine Terrace Beautiful Medieval Village Location Garden Rooms With Access to Furnished Patios Complimentary Internet Throughout Hotel Brand New Hotel Gym Complimentary Sky Sports & BT Sports in all Rooms Free On Site Car Parking Room Service / Mini Bars Same Price as Main Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hollies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Hotel Yeovil
The Hollies Hotel Martock, Somerset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing