We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent "motel style" Country Hotel”
Review of The Hollies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hollies Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Sittingbourne
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent "motel style" Country Hotel”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in November 2013. The rooms are very comfortable with large good quality beds and adequate seating as well. Big modern bathrooms with large bath and good quality shower. Most rooms on ground level with outside access to patio and are of executive quality. Plenty of car parking with close access to reception. All staff were very friendly and helpful food was excellent with large selection of wines and other beverages. Close access to the A303 with Yeovil being the nearest large town. Would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good quality accommodation in this area of Somerset.

Room Tip: All rooms are high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    80
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
62
133
10
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A great little Hotel. Stayed for two nights in March 2014. We were late arrivals at the Hotel but were greeted by friendly staff at check in. On heading to the bar for a quick drink after checking in the friendliness continued - the staff seemed genuinely interested in why we had visited. The room was lovely, spacious and spotless with thoughtful additions - trouser press, ironing board and irons in all rooms. There was also a mini-bar with reasonably priced drinks. Large flat screen TV. I was slightly concerned that there didn't appear to be a mirror but found a large vanity mirror which could be placed on the dressing table, if required - they seem to have thought of everything. Great thick pillows which had some substance rather than the usual flat offerings. The bathroom was spacious and very clean with a good shower and lots of hot water - which seems to be an issue in most hotels. The rooms have patio doors out onto a veranda which in view of the gorgeous weather was great. The food in the restaurant was varied and offered something for all tastes and well cooked. Would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend the Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just came back from a lovely weekend at The Hollies.
Really couldn't fault this place, staff incredibly friendly and helpful, food absolutely gorgeous, rooms lovely and spacious, in a very quiet and peacful area.
Wish we could have stayed longer!
Will definitely return to The Hollies!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigail s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed for one night would of liked it to be longer. Staff and owners are welcoming helpful and friendly. Rooms are very clean spacious and comfortable overlooking the garden quadrangle
accessed from patio doors in the bedroom. Shame we stayed in March so could not enjoy sitting out.
As we stayed on a Sunday evening there was only bar meals available {we were aware of this when we booked.} the steak meal we had was good quality ingredients and cooked as requested.
Plenty of choice at breakfast again good quality and nicely cooked and presented.

We would certainly stay at this peaceful welcoming hotel again.

Ample car parking

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpatterson355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was recommended to me by a colleague and i'm so glad I listened to him,the whole experience of this place is perfect from the friendly welcome the superb rooms with really comfy beds and through to the food.
Did i say food well if you like a good varied menu superbly cooked with goodly portion sizes and very friendly waiters and waitresses this is the place to go
Add in a nice location and easy access to the A303 and this is a must for anyone working or holidaying in the area

Room Tip: Lower numbers are nearer reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliffy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

have been twice now and both times have been fantastic, the rooms are great and spacious and better than you get in a lot bigger hotel chains, the bar and restaurant are great, the best steak I have ever had, stay here and you will not be disappointed,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reedmyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Can not fault this place. Staff very welcoming, friendly and attentive, couldn't possibly ask for more.
The bar is set away, which is lovely, especially when the fire is lit. Very warm and cosy.
Food is exceptional and the quality and presentation are completely amazing. Would happily visit time and time again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCrabb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
2.0 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
250 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
239 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
185 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies Hotel

Property: The Hollies Hotel
Address: Bower Hinton | Nr Yeovil, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hollies Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superfast WiFi Broadband now available free of charge. 75Meg Download / 20Meg Upload. 36 Exceptional Rooms & Suites Serviced Apartments & Cottages Contemporary Restaurant with Modern British Menu Trendy Bar Open Fires & Stylish Raised Wine Terrace Beautiful Medieval Village Location Garden Rooms With Access to Furnished Patios Complimentary Internet Throughout Hotel Brand New Hotel Gym Complimentary Sky Sports & BT Sports in all Rooms Free On Site Car Parking Room Service / Mini Bars Same Price as Main Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Hollies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Hotel Yeovil
The Hollies Hotel Martock, Somerset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing