We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of best places I've been”
Review of The Hollies Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hollies Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

i spent ten days at this hotel on a business trip. as i had taken my daughter along as a birthday present, the manager upgraded us to a two bedroom cottage at no extra charge. this cottage had a small kitchenette, living and dining rooms, two bedrooms with bathroom and a lovely garden, home away from home. the table at the hotel is very high quality, both for breakfast and dining.the staff are friendly and helpful. i highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: cottages are great if you are travelling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 383 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

On Sat. 12th October we celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with a 3 course meal at the Hollies for a party of sixteen family and friends. The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food was superb and the service and attention to detail excellent. The evening was a huge success.
Some of our guests stayed overnight in very comfortable and spacious rooms and the whole event was first class.
Highly recommended; compliments and thanks to the management and staff.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A hastily arranged business trip gave me the chance to stay at the Hollies. On arriving I was immediately taken by the spacious layout of the whole place, ample parking, large comfortable rooms and en-suites.........there was nothing I could fault. The receptionist advised that I had been upgraded to a Junior Suite which was most welcome. The bar has a massive roaring log fire and the bar lady was most polite and helpful. Good selection of beers and wine to choose from. The restaurant is a beautiful stone walled room, again with a log fire as a focal point. Service was faultless and my starter (potted smoke haddock) was just amazing. Main course was also very nice. Back in my room I enjoyed a most comfortable and quiet nights sleep. All in all a superb stay- thank you! ( Mr D Croft)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ardent184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed two nights whilst visiting relatives in a nearby village.
Had a meal on both nights and the food was excellent. In fact everything was excellent, the staff, the location, the accommodation, even the weather considering it was October.
The hotel also caters for conferences and weddings and I would recommend it to anyone looking for this type of venue in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_thorley53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for just one night (a Saturday) to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
Picked The Hollies mostly because of the good reviews here. We weren't disappointed.
Check in was quick with a pleasant welcome. Room very large, and the patio area an added bonus. Staff friendly and food (both breakfast and evening meal) were good.
This is marked as a 3 start hotel. I would put it at the very high end of that; we have stayed in some real dives that mark themselves up as 3 stars - this is not one of them!

The only reason I didn't give it a 5 on the review was because of a couple of small niggles :
The free high speed internet, mentioned on the website and at check-in did not really materialise. I had a very weak signal in the room, hubby had nothing. In the bar, he had a strong signal, but next door in the restaurant, again nothing. If reception is a bit 'patchy', then best not to push it so much!
The hotel site refers to itself as a 'Michelin Recommended Hotel'. Not too sure what that means exactly? I wood say our evening meal was good, but not outstanding. (And note that the menu shown on the website at the moment is not the same as what is offered.)
Shame you only get an option for standard coffee in the mornings with breakfast. Would be a nice touch to offer cappuccino or expresso.
The sound proofing between rooms seems pretty minimal, especially in the bathroom. (Not just hearing the your next door neighbours toilet flush in the night, if you know what I mean....!)

But having said all that, there was nothing major of concern, and it was certainly a nice enough place to stay if you are heading down to Somerset.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidays06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We got married on the 27th July 2013 at the Hollies Hotel. The day could not have gone smoother thanks to the help from all the attentive staff. After the ceremony We had Pimms on the terrace which made a perfect setting for photographs. For the wedding breakfast we had a fork buffet which was presented beautifully and tasted divine. Most of our guests of all ages stayed at the hotel and later commented on how wonderful there stay was. They couldn't get over how spacious the rooms were which all backed onto a patio area. The day was completely faultless.

Room Tip: All rooms are decorated to a high standard and are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived late from ferry and as promised we had a note left us and easily made it to our room and straight to bed. This smoothness makes a great difference when u have been travelling for hours and arrive late. Breakfast just right, not too much, good quality and excellent service. Would definitely return here if we came again. Rooms beautiful and lovely amenities. Great to support a local business rather than a multinational-only recommendation is buy a nespresso machine for bar-always nice to have and expresso at the end of meal. Well done to all the staff for making us feel so welcome. Food also good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulietta34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martock
4.7 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
371 reviews
5.2 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
2 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
580 reviews
5 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
240 reviews
5.1 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies Hotel

Address: Bower Hinton | Nr Yeovil, Martock, Yeovil TA12 6LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Martock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martock
Price Range: $136 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hollies Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superfast WiFi Broadband now available free of charge. 75Meg Download / 20Meg Upload. 36 Exceptional Rooms & Suites Serviced Apartments & Cottages Contemporary Restaurant with Modern British Menu Trendy Bar Open Fires & Stylish Raised Wine Terrace Beautiful Medieval Village Location Garden Rooms With Access to Furnished Patios Complimentary Internet Throughout Hotel Brand New Hotel Gym Complimentary Sky Sports & BT Sports in all Rooms Free On Site Car Parking Room Service / Mini Bars Same Price as Main Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Hollies Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hollies Hotel Yeovil
The Hollies Hotel Martock, Somerset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing